We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time”
Review of Arnott's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arnott's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at Arnott's for a week in mid-May. We had one of the "deluxe" rooms, which meant that we had a private bath and shared a kitchen and sitting area with several other units in the same building. As advertised, it was not posh, but everything was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the shower worked well, with ample hot water. We had a small refrigerator and a coffee maker in the room, and the Kona coffee provided was excellent. The room had both an air conditioner and a fan, but we seldom used either, preferring open windows. It rained every night, and the sound of the raindrops and the coqui frogs provided us with a melodious lullaby each night. Our room had jalousie windows, so no rain came in.

We found the staff to very nice and helpful, answering our many questions patiently and graciously and taking care of our needs quickly. The kitchen had only a two burner stove, which didn't work well at first, but we mentioned that fact at the desk, and it was better the next day. Also in the kitchen were a microwave, a blender, and an electric pot for heating water for tea, etc., along with dishes, pots, and utensils. We both have digestive problems, so we were glad to be able to cook some of our own meals and to have a place to prepare our lunches for the day's outing. The sitting room has comfortable couches and shelves full of books and magazines. The wifi works perfectly as well.

Arnott's is about three miles outside of Hilo, but there are a nice 24-hour restaurant and several other restaurants less than two miles away, a fine-dining seafood restaurant less than a mile away, and a convenience store quite close. Next to the convenience store is a sandwich/salad place (delicious) that also serves scrumptious homemade ice cream.

We had hoped to use the county bus service but found the routes and schedule inconvenient, so we ended up renting a car. Thus we did not take any of the tours Arnott's offered. That meant we missed the nighttime visit to the observatories, as rental cars cannot go there. Maybe on another trip.

There are numerous lovely beaches within walking distance of Arnott's. Richardson Ocean Park, where the snorkeling is great, is about two miles, but others are very close.
I am Catholic and enjoyed two wonderful liturgies at Malia Puka O Kalani Catholic Church, which is less than four blocks away. The congregation and choir sang in Hawaiian and played Hawaiian instruments, and everyone was very welcoming.

To sum up this very long report: Arnott's is for people who do not demand fancy. We are accustomed to camping in a pop-up tent camper or a regular tent, so Arnott's was a step up for us. The lower price left us funds to really enjoy the island, and we met so many nice people from many different countries--Australia, France, Italy, Denmark--as well as other parts of the US. It is also a place for people who are able to and like to walk. It is a great base for seeing the whole island, but there is so much to do right in Keaukaha that one could spend a whole visit there.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or pool. This is not a problem. I didn't mean to rate those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gfgranola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Aloha to our guests from California! Mahalo for your great review! We always appreciate feedback :), and of course we love to see positive things. We are very proud of our friendly and knowledgeable staff, and are glad to see they performed well for you. Our lodge offers many types of accommodations; from the deluxe rooms you chose, to semi-private rooms with a shared bathroom/kitchen, to very budget-friendly dormitory-style rooms and tenting! Everyone who stays with us has access to clean bathrooms with plenty of hot water, well-stocked kitchens, free wi-fi, and free cable television in our TV room. We also can boast of our great location: not only are we surrounded by lush, beautiful flora, but we are within easy walking distance of several great beaches, as well as a short 10-minute drive to the Airport or to downtown Hilo.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you get a chance to stay with us again! Maybe you can even enjoy a couple of our spectacular tours if you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    182
    45
    15
    34
See reviews for
90
188
121
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

If you want a resort - stay in a resort. If you need a place to crash for a few nights - clean, quiet, with a beach within walking distance and staff that is friendly and helpful ( really - not fake Disney friendly ) - this is the place for you. About an hour north of the Volcano National Park, 10 minutes from the airport - easy to find even if you don't have a GPS. Reminded my of an adult version of a hostel - but much nicer. Had a 2 bedroom suite - comfortable with a small kitchen and bathroom. Kitchen was basic - not much for supplies - but you could borrow from the office. Stopped in the Hilo market ( Wednesdays ) and got a bunch of fresh fruit. That was the extent of in-room dining :)

Room Tip: One room had AC - you have to pay something like $5/day extra to use it. Other rooms had fans. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Aloha to our friends from Massachusetts! Mahalo for taking the time to give us a review! We’re very glad that you appreciated our accommodations. We definitely agree that our lodge is a traveler’s lodge-a budget-friendly, clean, hospitable place for a traveler to rest their head at night. We don’t claim to be a resort, but we do provide a good place to sleep while on your way to another great adventure! Our lodge is in an excellent location, being within easy walking distance of the beach, and quite close to Hilo town and airport as well. If you need any tips for things to do nearby, just ask our friendly staff or check out our printed in-room guides.

We hope you get a chance to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
394 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Arnott's Lodge in Hilo was well noted in TripAdvisor yet we were not impressed.
We booked a "Deluxe Suite with Queen Size Bed" for 3 nights. The room was midsize with a kitchen corner. There was a lavabo corner also. A small en-suite room included toilet and shower.
The room separation with the neighbor is very thin, meaning the privacy is existent when the next room is occupied.
We had asked for a baby-cot for our 2y old girl, but there was none. Instead they counted the baby as a 3d guest and charged us accordingly (17 US$/day). After insisting, they gave us a futon with some bedding intended for the baby.
The Lodge is well located in Hilo, close to the airport and some beautiful beach-parks. There is a big shopping mall nearby (Wallmart).
There is no way to get a breakfast at the Lodge.
We were disappointed that the Deluxe suite had no room servicing, cleaning and tidying at all during our 3 days stay, which is unfair, given the 110 US$ remains the same for the next days. So it is better to book the room for a single day only.
Attention: the check-out time is 10 am, and any extension will be charged 10 US$/hour.
We couldn't help feel some greediness in this Lodge and this is unpleasant.

Room Tip: no room service here, so don't stay formore than a day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Aloha to our guests from Belgium. Thanks for your honest feedback. We are aware that the walls are thin and sometimes guests are able to hear the room next to them. We are working on installing insulation between the Deluxe Suite that you occupied and the Deluxe unit. We usually charge an extra person rate if we are providing a folding mattress and linens.

We do not provide daily housekeeping service as it notes on our website. We are a "no frills" lodge. We empty your trash daily and check to see if you have toilet paper. There are other hotels in Hilo that provide daily housekeeping service. The unit that you stayed in is our higher priced room at Arnott's Lodge of $99 a night. This unit was just renovated to provide the privacy of your own kitchenette.

We just moved our check out time to 11am as it notes on our guest registration sheet. You could've stayed longer till 12pm for a charge of $10 or till 3pm with a charge of $20.

We raised our room prices slightly this year and room prices remain consistent through out the year with the exception of Merrie Monarch festival. You wouldn't see our prices fluctuate like some of the major hotels on the Big Island. We still have the cheapest accommodation in Hilo from $28-$99 a night for a single occupancy. Had you shopped other hotels in Hilo you would've found that the room that you had was the best quality for price available anywhere in Hilo, a comparable room would've cost at least $150 a night. Mahalo for your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Arnott's has accommodations for campers, backpackers, adventure seekers and folks who want a full apartment and a friendly community of world travelers. The accommodations are clean, well equipped for all your needs & in a perfect setting & location. There's community cooking for men & women separated by their dorms, a beautiful outdoor eating area and a cozy TV room. Our apt had a private balcony and afforded us the opportunity to eat outside everyday viewing exotic wild birds enjoying the neighboring pond. Additionally, we took advantage of their fantastic tours (Mauna Kea & Waterfalls) & they were outrageously wonderful. Tour guides are well trained professionals, safety oriented and excellent teachers. Thanks to all the staff who helped in so many ways! And we will miss our international friends who wanted a down-to-earth real people travel experience like us. Mahalo.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Aloha to our friends from Colorado!! Mahalo for the great review. I love that you said we were in the perfect setting and location! We are located in a unique place with your typical Hawaiian flora and fauna and walking distance to the ocean. The unit that you stayed in has amazing views out on the balcony that makes you want to sit and relax, read a book, have your meals or just simply watch the birds and appreciate nature.

It's nice to hear that you made some international friends at Arnott's Lodge. This is what we are all about!! We enjoy seeing people connect when they're at the guest patio area. We have people all over the world that talk about their travels, adventures and favorite hot spots.

We are glad to hear that you took advantage of our Mauna Kea and Valleys and Waterfalls tour. Where can you go on the Big Island with discounted tour rates?? We have great tour guides and they enjoy sharing the island with you. Mahalo for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you soon. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Needed an affordable place for one night after staying at Waipio Valley for a wk. It feels like being at home with a kitchen and a lounging area you can share. Stayed in a deluxe room & very cozy place. Staff is friendly & helpful. Not recommended for people who are used to four star Hilton but great for people who just need the basic necessities.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiricahua1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Aloha!! Mahalo for your positive comments. We are happy to hear that staying with us felt like home. We offer the conveniences of a home setting and a place that is comfortable. We just upgraded our deluxe living room with new furniture and continue to make upgrades throughout the lodge. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Great accommodations and value. The staff was excellent and always helpful. This is not resort style accommodations. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the one bedroom suite; the kitchen was roomy and we enjoyed eating breakfast on the small deck off the kitchen. We would definitely stay here again. The surrounding area is very nice and a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite was very roomy for 3 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowlupine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Aloha to our friends from Redding, CA. Mahalo for your wonderful review. I must say we do have an awesome staff that work hard and does their best to meet our guests needs. We are happy to hear that you felt comfortable in your unit. Our 1BR suites are popular due to the exclusive use of a kitchenette. The Hawaiian tropical view from your balcony is relaxing and forces you to slow down and appreciate the beauty of a pond with wildlife, coconut trees, banana trees and papaya trees!! You chose the right place to lodge in Hilo especially if you want to be close to the beach. We hope to see you soon! Thanks for choosing Arnott's Lodge & Hiking Adventures!! Aloha!! A Hui Hou!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Arnott's is a great place to stay if you enjoy a good nights sleep and are keen to get up early and see all The Big Island has to offer. A mixture of clients (Campers, singles in dorms and families) so there is always someone interesting to chat to. Staff are very helpful. Clean, good value accommodation.

Room Tip: The deluxe units are fabulous. Room 4 and 2 are a little bigger than 5 & 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Aloha Linda!! Mahalo for your awesome review!!

We offer different types of accommodation to our travelers from $11 per night tenting, to dorms from $28-$55, semi-privates at $65, deluxe units at $75 a night and suites from $99-$180 a night. Our deluxe units that you stayed at are our most popular rooms that guests request.

That's so nice to hear that you were able to meet other travelers and share your adventures. Arnott's Lodge is a place to meet others from all over the world. We look forward to seeing you soon. Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
62.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
62.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnott's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Property: Arnott's Lodge
Address: 98 Apapane Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for campers. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea, Volcanoes National Park and Valleys and Waterfalls Tours. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing