We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value&good for price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arnott's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arnott's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value&good for price.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Arnott's attracted us as they offer transportation to the Mauna kea summet, you get a discount on tour while staying at the lodge. I wore all the clothes that I had, including the sweater that I shipped home after our summit, Arnott's provided warm jackets which Where very much necessary. Our guide was excellent, an informative guy with stories combined with island history, both past and present. Our room was clean and the beds and sheets fine. I cooked in the shared kitchen area which had adequate supplies and shopped at the farm market and in the KTA a very good supermarket, Locally supplied .We spent three nights. It is a good location if you have a car, to visit attractions near by like the Botanical gardens, Beaches, Farm market, And fishmarket.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe rooms, Since we chose twin beds our room wasn't as good as the ones that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Aloha to our guests from Pennsylvania! Mahalo for the good review! It sounds like you took advantage of our great deal on our tours: if you stay two nights or more in one of our rooms, you get a good discount on our adventure tours. Our Mauna Kea Sunset and Stargazing Adventure tour is definitely a top choice amongst our guests. You’re right, it can get extremely cold on Mauna Kea, but the chill is well worth it to see the spectacular sunset above the clouds, and to hear our guides expound on the constellations and Polynesian navigation techniques during the stargazing show.
We always do our best to ensure that our rooms are clean and comfortable, and we are glad that you noticed. Arnott’s Lodge is an excellent place to rest in between fascinating sojourns around the island!

Mahalo for staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    178
    43
    15
    34
See reviews for
87
187
117
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Arnott' s lodge is ruled by the iron fist on its German owner Mr. Arnott. He closely controls the entire operation - lodge and tours - by himself and with the help of the manager Laurie. The desk people consult with her for the simplest decisions. That is why the check in and check out processes take a very long time. She explains over the phone to the front desk women how to charge guests to the exact penny for their stay. During our check out confusion reigned; the deposit we made was not subtracted. Redoing and printing the final receipt doubled our check out time.

Some guests who have been coming to this hostel for the last 12 years say that only very recently have they succeeded in making it look nice. So I would say that we were lucky booking 4 nights in the "friends room" for $55 a night. Room 5A was probably not as spacey as the similar room 5B but it was enough for my son and me (these rooms are on the male side and the bathroom has to be shared). Our door had an electronic lock (dorm rooms are not locked by its own door and do not have lockers) and locked securely. It had the basic things - two single beds with slightly squeaky mattresses, clean linens and towels, a night table, two shelves and a hanger for the clothes. The floor fan helped us sleep during the hot nights. The window stayed open and sometimes loud conversations outside woke us up. The shower is very spacey and comfortable.


Liquid hand soap, quality body wash and good toilet paper are provided. The kitchen has basic pots and pans, plates, mugs, glasses, spoons, forks and kitchen utensils, but they can be taken to other kitchens in the hostel. Utensils sometimes disappear - they did for us. There is an electric pot, toaster, electric stove, and a large refrigerator without a freezer. The refrigerator leaks a little but cools well. The sign said that they do not “domesticate cock roaches”, that is why “Raid” is readily available. The patio is protected by the sun setter and has numerous round tables, chairs, sofas and a couple of table lamps. There were no mosquitos.

Everything is modest but well maintained and clean. The washing machines and dryers ($2 per load) are clean. Information for guests is provided in a nicely organized red folder. There is a community iPad by the office. The TV set is never loud. There are enough parking lots by the dorms and additional parking by the annex across the street. Detailed and demanding instructions for guests' behavior are written by Mr. Arnott himself and are posted everywhere. Many guests take tours organized or arranged by the lodge. No beach or snorkeling equipment is offered by this hostel. WiFi is fast. There no restaurants close by. The ones recommended by the front desk women were overpriced.

I recommend this hostel. Be aware that there is no freezer to make ice for your cooler or lunch box or to keep frozen food, so you may end up paying 3-4 dollars for a bag of ice for your cooler every day. Public transportation is not very convenient. Your travel in Hilo can be made by foot, rental bike, taxi or rental car, but rarely by bus. Plan well in advance because stores and restaurants close early, especially on weekends. I recommend that you get ready for the morning cooking the previous night before the kitchen doors are closed at 10 pm so that you may borrow something from other kitchen. Be patient waiting for the front desk women. Check the final receipt by making your own calculations. Book tours in advance or check with the front desk for last minute deals and price reductions. Allow a minimum of 48 hours for changes or cancellations to your hostel reservation. If you meet Mr. Arnott in person be prepared for his arrogance.

Room Tip: A "Friend's room" is worth its money (it has a secure lock, a floor fan and sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina_swims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Aloha!! Thanks for taking the time to review Arnott's Lodge. It's awesome to hear that you recommend our lodge, mahalo.

Mr. Arnott who is an Aussie, cares about his business that he has built since 1990 therefore providing the most pleasant stay for our guests is his priority. As for the time you checked in to our lodge, we had a new staff member at the front desk so I assisted her with making sure that you were charged correctly. In addition, since we don't have freezers for the guests the front desk staff needed to call me to see if I could freeze your frozen salmon daily for you in my personal freezer. This was an exception just for you as guests generally do not need a freezer but do need extra refrigeration space which is what we provide.

Thanks again for your review. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

It is what it is. This is Hilo. All lodgings are overpriced.
Arnott's is an OK place. It is clean and friendly. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. There was plenty of room. NO AC. It is just as advertised.
Next time, I will look for a different lodging with AC.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JavaAlii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Aloha to our guests from Wailea! Mahalo for taking the time to give us a review! We are glad to hear that you found our lodgings to be friendly, as we strive to present the best possible face to our guests. We also take great care to keep our rooms and grounds clean and welcoming. Our two-bedroom units are a great deal for the space: each unit has two separate, locking bedrooms, its own bathroom, a small lanai, a living room space, and its own kitchenette. Although you are right in that not all of our two-bedroom units have AC, some of them do. If you are ever in the neighborhood again and are looking for a place to stay, check with our front desk to see if a unit with AC is available. We also have deluxe rooms that all come with AC.

Mahalo for choosing us as your place of lodging!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Nice clean & spacious place. Very helpful staff - she took the time to show us the room options we had since we wanted to upgrade to a fully private house but it had no A/C. Ended up staying in the deluxe single bedroom in the cottage. We stayed there to avail the discount on the observatory tour since it was very reasonable.
The tour guide Dino was great. He stopped at Rainbow falls on the way since no one on the van had been there. And found a great spot at the top for parking where we could see the sunset from within the van. Very knowledgeable about the island, volcanoes, history and constellations. We were lucky to get a clear view across the island to mauna loa, Kilauea as well as hilo. It would be great if the time spent near the observatories before sunset could be a little more. They did recently close the small hike at the top that we had been hoping to do so didn't miss much. It does get very cold at the top so remember to bring your gloves and caps.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with private bath and shared kitchens are a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niharika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Aloha to our friends from California! Mahalo for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed both your stay and your tour. We always appreciate feedback about both, as we strive to do the best job we can for our guests. We are glad to hear that our lodge staff and your tour guide were both great-we take a lot of pride in our helpful and knowledgeable staff members! Our tour guides are well trained and always get top comments, and Dino is no exception. Our Mauna Kea tour is very highly-rated, and for good reason: it’s a fantastic tour to the top of an interesting mountain. The sunset at the summit is always breathtaking. In addition to the Mauna Kea tour, we also offer tours to Volcanoes National Park and to local waterfalls and other beautiful spots, and we can also offer custom designed tours around the island to our guests’ interests! You were smart to take advantage of our tour discount! Any guest who stays at our lodge for two nights or more gets a discount on all of our tours.

We were very glad to accommodate you, and we hope you choose us again if you come to visit the Big Island in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Thank you Arnott's Lodge for a fantastic stay in Hilo.

This accommodation is set in a great part of Hilo. It's a bit out of town and you do have to pass the harbour which at night can be a bit daunting. I would strongly recommend a car if staying here. There is free parking.The rooms are big and spotless. The staff are friendly and always on hand to give you great tips on what to do and see whilst on the big island. We didn't participate in any of the tours as we ended up hiring a car at the airport. We did hear good feedback from other residents.

I would highly recommend this accommodation. It's a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio- own room with private bathroom and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank powellsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Aloha to our guests from London! Thank you for a great review! We were glad to have you, and glad to hear that not only did you enjoy your stay with us, but you also heard other guests saying that they were enjoying their stays and tours as well. Our goal is to provide the most comfortable lodgings for the budget traveler that we can! We always do our best to ensure that our rooms are clean and our hotel is well-maintained. We always offer free parking, wi-fi, kitchens, clean bathrooms, and access to our TV lounge for all of our guests, including camping. Our location is excellent: far enough out of town for a peaceful rest, but close enough for an easy drive. The port can look a bit daunting when going by at night, but it is a secured location and is nothing to fear.

We hope you get a chance to visit the Big Island again, and that you choose us to stay with! Perhaps next time you can take one of our excellent tours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights with a friend, we had our own 2 bed 1 room. Staff were very helpful, I was very surprised with how clean the place was, particularly the bathroom. We didnt have a car, so we had to catch buses, which was pretty easy and cheap to do. Was a nice quick walk down to the beach aswell. If you want somewhere cheap and nice to stay this is the place on the Big Island.

Room Tip: If there are 2 in your group would recomend getting your own room, just for peace of mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Aloha to our guest from the beautiful island of New Zealand! Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! We are glad you found our lodgings to your liking. We always keep our rooms as clean as possible, especially the bathrooms! Even our camping guests can feel secure knowing that their bathrooms are cleaned every day. Our lodge is also in a great position in Hilo-we are close enough that it’s possible to walk, if you’re ok with a long walk, and very quick to get to if you have a car. We offer bicycles for daily rentals, and the bus system also runs right past our lodge and is very easy to use. If you need one, we can provide you with a bus schedule at our front desk. We’re also lucky to be far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the main town that you can get a peaceful night’s sleep!

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all of our guests, and we always hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

They offer camping, dorms, semi private and private rooms, all with competitive rates. We camped in their nice yard which offered security, communal kitchen and bathrooms and minimal mosquitos. We also stayed in the semi private rooms for two nights, which were exceptionally clean and comfortable (large bathroom, kitchen, living room and patio). We were in Hawaii for two weeks and less than a 5 minute walk from Arnott's Lodge is one of the more beautiful oceanfronts. Great fishing and private tide pools that offer serenity. Within the area there are multiple parks, and next to Pond's Restaurant is Banyan Drive, which will take you to a much larger recreation area, such as the Liliukolani Gardens. Thanks to the owner we got to our plane on time, the taxis were tied up and he offered to take us to the airport and another couple to do food shopping....not ordinary but very cool. To Shelby's comment about bites...the place was clean and had no issues. Anyways, Thanks Hilo for Medicine for the PEOPLE!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Aloha to our guests from New Jersey! Mahalo for your great review! We are definitely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud of our clean and welcoming accommodations, and we do our best to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and satisfied. Our camping option is an amazing value: our camping prices are very low, but we still offer the use of our free wifi, our TV room, well-stocked kitchens and a clean bathroom area with plenty of hot water for showers. If you desire a roof over your head, we also offer plenty of low-cost rooming options as well! All of our rooms are clean and bug-free, and all have access to wifi, kitchens, and clean bathrooms. We are also glad you enjoyed the area. Arnott’s Lodge has the good fortune to be well situated in Hilo-we’re near enough to the town for a quick and easy venture, and we are wonderfully close to the ocean.

We were very pleased to have you stay with us, and we’re glad you made it to your plane on time! We hope you think of us the next time you’re in Hilo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
659 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
388 reviews
62.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
62.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnott's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Property: Arnott's Lodge
Address: 98 Apapane Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for campers. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea, Volcanoes National Park and Valleys and Waterfalls Tours. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing