We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alternative to hotel/motel/resort”
Review of Arnott's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arnott's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Alternative to hotel/motel/resort”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We selected Arnott’s for the price and the choices we had for living spaces. We elected to try the deluxe rooms, with air conditioning, but we certainly didn’t need AC because the breeze and cool night air was comfortable. We had use of a communal kitchen, well-stocked with kitchen utensils, cookware and dishes, and a refrigerator in our room. There was minimal noise from the common area while we were there and from the adjoining rooms. Dogs barking from the locals living near-by was the greatest distraction. We were gone during the day so much that we did not make use of the lounge areas near the office but it would have allowed for more space and an opportunity to meet others. The hostess who greeted us was outgoing and assuring. Our room was very clean and the bed comfortable but do not expect daily house service. We would recommend these accommodations to others who want an alternative to a typical hotel/motel/resort. Good location for the places we wanted to explore on the Hilo side of the island and several near-by restaurants, if you don't want to cook yourself.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Aloha to our guests from New York! Mahalo for your good, concise review! Our deluxe rooms are always a good option for the guest who appreciates privacy: with private bathrooms and AC, and a location slightly away from the main lodge, it is the ideal room type for the traveler looking for the maximum in peace and quiet. Although we cannot enforce quiet hours on the neighbor dogs, we can and do enforce quiet hours at our lodge. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable environment for all of our guests, and if you need daily in-house service, please let us know at the front desk and we will certainly accommodate you!

Mahalo for taking the time to review us, and we hope you get a chance to visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    182
    45
    15
    34
See reviews for
90
188
121
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed two nights in a private apartment. This is a good-quality hostel, not a hotel by any stretch and while our room was very clean (kudos!) my travelling companion found her bed uncomfortable and neither of us slept particularly well because of the noise from outside. On the upside, the staff were friendly and helpful and the kitchen was actually usable (always a bonus!) and the nearest beach (less than five minutes at the end of the road) was lovely and family-friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alijulessmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Aloha to our guests from London! Mahalo for your review! It is always good to see that our guests appreciate what we have to offer: clean, well-maintained, low-cost lodgings for budget travelers. We always strive to provide the best we can for our guests, including amenities like bathrooms with hot water for every guest, kitchen access, free wifi, plenty of parking, coin-op laundry, and friendly staff! We always appreciate constructive criticism, and while we cannot enforce quiet hours on our neighbors, we do our best to maintain our nightly quiet hours here at our lodge. In addition, we are in the process of replacing all of our old mattresses with new ones, so that uncomfortable bed will hopefully be replaced with a lovely cushy one soon!

Mahalo for your business! We hope you choose Arnott’s Lodge again in the future on your trips to Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

For the most part, I found the front desk people to be very helpful and friendly. They felt almost like family by the end of my stay. Someone wrote about the Lodge not being at a good location. It is true that i it is not the most pretty drive there, yet being so close to the Ocean, a sandy beach and pools in lava was awesome for me! There is also a sweet sandwich and ice cream shop close by. Thank you Arnott's staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Aloha to our guest from California! Mahalo for your great review! We are glad to hear that you appreciated our quiet location: we are far enough away from the main part of town to avoid the majority of the noise, but close enough that it’s possible to walk or bike in without much effort. In addition, being within a 5 minute walk to the ocean is a huge plus! Our lodge is a mere 5 minutes from the ocean itself, and only a 10 minute walk to an excellent little beach park with picnic tables and public bathrooms.

We hope you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed hosting you, and that perhaps you were able to take advantage of our big discount on our adventure tours that we offer to our lodging guests! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here (a family of 5) for a couple of nights while visiting big island. This is a hostel, not more and not less. For a family just arriving to the island, and needing to recover jet lag, our requirements were moderate so the room was adequate. They are also within a walking distance to a very kids-friendly beach, which was nice.

However, if you'd like anything beyond the bare essentials (=shower and bed), such as TV, breakfast etc., this is probably not the place for you. Still, for its price it is a bargain. Just be aware what you're getting.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watergrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Aloha to our friends from California! Mahalo for your review! We always appreciate feedback from our guests, and we use that feedback to create the best environment possible for our lodge. You are certainly right that we do not offer 5-star service: what we do offer is a safe, clean, comfortable (and low-cost!) place for our guests to relax and get some rest in between their adventures on the Big Island. We do offer a TV lounge near our front desk, as well as free wifi and parking, coin-op laundry facilities, access to our in-house iPad, and friendly staff on hand to help you as best they can. Our grounds are always well-maintained, and we are in an excellent location near the beach.

In short, we are glad we were able to suit your needs, and we hope you will choose us as your budget accommodation on the Big Island in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The idea of having a hostel and self-contained units is good. Prices are fair. But the location is really not the best (especially for those without car). It's far from everything and to get there you drive through some sort of refinery and industrial place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nopar65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Aloha to our guest from New Zealand! Mahalo for your review! We are glad that you appreciated the value of our hostel: the owner has worked tirelessly to create a comfortable, safe, clean environment for guests from all over the world to stay at while they adventure around the Big Island. Our location is a little way out of the main part of Hilo, but we think it makes for a much more relaxing atmosphere-not to mention a more scenic one. In addition, we also rent out bicycles for daily use by our guests at a low rate if they do not have a rental car, and our front desk is always willing to provide schedules for the public bus that runs past the lodge.

We always like to hear feedback from our guests, and we hope that you get a chance to come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The staff ladies are all very friendly . Hostel was clean .

I joined for the Hawaii Volcanoes national adventure tour . That was a once in a lifetime experience for me and there were so many beautiful and breathtaking natural scenes of globe. We enjoyed the outstanding scenery all day long .

The tour guide for us today was so friendly,caring,knowing,lovely person.
Thank you Lauren for your hospitality !! Great job !!

Y.O

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank playitbyear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Aloha to our guest from Japan! Mahalo for your great review! We hope you were able to take advantage of our guest discount for all of our guests who stay two nights or more on your tour to the Volcanoes National Park. There isn’t a lot that is more fascinating than seeing an active volcano and Kilauea is one of the most active volcanoes in the world! We are very glad to hear that you appreciated your guide: Lauren always does an excellent job for her guests. If you are able to come and stay with us again in the future, we highly recommend our other tours: our Mauna Kea Sunset and Stargazing Adventure tour is highly regarded, and our Valleys and Waterfalls tour is a gorgeous look at Hawaii’s natural beauty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We found this place just out of sheer luck through our car's GPS. Friendly staff, comfortable, and clean. We completely lucked out, and got the whole place to ourselves both nights we stayed (we rented a room in an apartment-like setup) I would not expect that every time, but it was great. Fully appointed clean kitchen, so you could easily cook there. Free wifi too. We had a great experience there, and would go back there in a heartbeat. I can't say enough about this place. Just no frills comfortable:-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaArnotts, Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Aloha to our friends from Oregon-Mahalo for your good review! It’s a lucky break for both of us that you were able to stay at our Lodge! Our semi-private rooms are a steal-a comfortable, clean room in a well-appointed apartment setting, for a great low cost. You may have neighbors staying with us from the other side of the world! Occasionally a lucky guest such as yourselves might get the whole set-up to themselves by chance; but if you don’t want to trust to fate, you can always rent the entire suite and be assured of your privacy. In addition, guests who stay at our lodge for two nights or more can take advantage of a great discount on our adventure tours.

Thank you for coming to stay with us! We feel privileged to have been your hosts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
62.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
62.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnott's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Property: Arnott's Lodge
Address: 98 Apapane Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for campers. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea, Volcanoes National Park and Valleys and Waterfalls Tours. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing