We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not fancy but it was an enjoyable stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Arnott's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arnott's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not fancy but it was an enjoyable stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at Arnott's for four night and took advantage of several tours they have available at discounted rates for their guest. The lodge is no frills but Doug and all the staff make you feel right at home.

We stayed in a private room that had access to a central living room and kitchen. You won't find a TV or phone in the room but they were clean and comfortable. They furnish a small refrigerator, coffee maker and hair dryer so you have some of the ammenities of a larger hotel. There is no daily maid service but you can exchange towels as needed.

I would recomend getting a rental car because the lodge is not close to very many restaurants. We found two within walking distance but with our schedule neither was open when we had time to eat. The lodge has bicycles for rent if you want to venture into town for the day for shopping, dining or sightseeing. It was an easy ride of about 4 miles.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayBees54946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnotts, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Thank you for your honest review. We do have a free county run bus service that stops on the corner of the main road 6 days a week (excluding holidays). But your idea of a bike ride into town seems the favorite amongst our guests.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    179
    44
    15
    34
See reviews for
89
188
118
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Well, if you've ever wanted to see the Big Island, you've probably been attracted by the volcanoes, the observatory, the turtles swimming with you at the beeches, the waterfalls and mostly the gentler village-style living in alternative to the big hotel, or the big tourist trap.

We stayed for four nights in one of Arnott's private rooms. Comfortable, well equipped with towels and toiletries for the private bath we had. And there were enough utensils to cook two or three meals during our stay. Not that we really needed too , but it helped :-)

They treated us to a free meal on Saturday and accommodated our every question about the island and everything else we had to ask, ordering cabs and arranging tours each day. What more could you ask from a perfect concierge? (Also, when was the last time you stayed anyway with a concierge who was even decent? Been a while for me!)

You don't have to take any trips, you don't have to eat the meal, or use their cheap rental bikes, laundry facility or take their advice on where to eat or tan or swim. If you didn't, you'd still be comfortable paying twice what they ask for what you get.

But, if you are on the BIg Island you probably do want to adventure a little more so you'll ask, you might take a tour or two they offer, and then you'll really appreciate the home-like comfort when you get back from the day out. And that's when this place sings!

We took the Volcano tour, and it was stunningly good. Such a knowledgable guide! And Arnotts arranges special pricing for those staying at the lodge. I lack the writing skills to do this review justice.

You should be swept away by what I'm describing here, because you get something quite memorable from time spent there. Far, far more than what you pay for.

We'd go back without reservation. We recommend you go too!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blgtrip23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnotts, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Thank you for your review. Everyday, we are trying to improve our place for the guests. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

I was fortunate enough to stay at Arnotts Lodge for 4 nights this month and had a fantastic time!

The rates are extremely fair, lovely staff that make you feel part of the ohana (Hawaiian family) and knowledgeable and enthusiastic adventure guides. I'll certainly be back- a big thanks to Doug and his staff for making us feel so welcome and providing such great value. Can't wait to come back and visit!

We experienced 3 fantastic tours through Arnotts, again at excellent value. Mauna Kea sunset, waterfalls and the lava hike.

Thanks again for a terrific stay!!! Maholo!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoppoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnotts, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Aloha (or should I say G'day),
Thank you for the wonderful compliments. Its you, our guests, that makes us who we are. We are trying to improve every day and try to instill the aloha spirit in everyone. You are ohana now, so we'll expect you back.
A hui hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

Hazardous to your health. They simply do not clean the rooms. Dead ants everywhere by the thousands. We even had to go get clean sheets since the one we were given were so dirty.
They are also a tour operator but the discount they give if you stay at their hotel it is not worth it. Don't be fooled.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPF12400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnotts, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
We apologize for the situation you listed. In the heat of the summer, being in the middle of a tropical environment, we encounter these problems infrequently. We had just treated the property which is the reason for the dead ants. A new staff with an eye for cleanliness has been hired, curtains replaced with vertical blinds, lamp shades replaced and rooms detailed.
We invite you to come back and let us know how it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

This was our first time to the big island and just wanted a clean and quiet air conditioned room to lay our heads at night. We ended up with far more than we had expected. The staff were friendly and engaging......they could not have been more helpful. On Saturday evenings Doug Arnott puts on a customer appreciation for guests......with free pizza and beer (refundable deposit of $5 per person that you get back if you show up). Since it was the day before their 20th anniversary we had ice cream and cake for a mini celebration too. Having a chance to meet the other guests was a wonderful experience. We ended up hanging out with one of them the following Monday. We also got to meet Doug and hear his story of how he started the lodge . He has given way more back to Hilo than he has taken.

Lodge rates are more than reasonable and tour prices are far below the going rate of the other tour companies on the big island. My husband and I took the Mauna Kea Stargazing tour and loved every minute of it. Our guide Robert was very knowledgeable and we learned so much about astronomy during the stargazing portion (laser show). Robert truly made the experience one that will be forever in our memories - Thank you Robert !

The accommodations are modest but comfortable. They are located a couple miles from downtown Hilo, but we had a rental car so that was not an issue. The area where they are located was quiet and all you could hear were the sounds of birds and frogs. The air conditioned private room worked out well for us and the shared kitchen saved us a bundle of $$$ from having to go out for meals.

Thanks again everyone at Arnott's Lodge.....our stay with you all was peaceful and pleasant......you are more like friends than lodge staff!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueinukshuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnotts, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Thank you for your wonderful response. As you are now part of our "ohana" (family), we hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We had an excellent lodge experience at Arnott's. Eva and Annette went out of their way to help whenever they could. The location wasn't great for easy access to town but was really great for easy access to the beach park and good snorkelling (Ella got to hang with the turtles!) The free bus into Hilo was only a 30 second walk away and thet made up for the fact that town wasn't clase by.
We took one of the in-house tours up to the volcano and it was excellent with Mike the guide giving us plenty of information and bubbling over with enthuisiasm for Hawaii, the environment and it's people.
I would go back to Arnott's again and would recommend it to friends. It is a classic backpackers and we wish them well for the future.
P>S> We have never stayed anywhere else where the lodge put on a free pizza and beer meal! Mahalo and Aloha.
Liz and Tony Peoples

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristchurchLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnotts, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2010
I will always think of her as Ella Enchanted. Such a bright and very smart child. It is people such as yourselves that make us who we are. Even though we are low budget accommodations, we try our best to instill the spirit of Aloha at our lodge. Unfortunately there are other people who expect service like a five star hotel and these are the ones that make our ratings go down.

We hope to see you again in the future.

A hui hou!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Great staff, location, washing facilities for clothes and people, just the best camping we had in all the 4 Hawaiian islands we camped at on this trip. Super staff, we were lucky and even got Avocados straight from the tree for breakfast! A professionally run, superfriendly place that should get more people both for the rooms as well as camping they offer. The 3 Berliners

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3berliners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnotts, General Manager at Arnott's Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2010
Thank you!!

We hope one day to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
62.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
62.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnott's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnott's Lodge

Property: Arnott's Lodge
Address: 98 Apapane Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnott's Lodge and Hiking Adventures is located in a delightful, tropical area minutes from the coastline. We offer a range of affordable accommodations from backpackers in one building, to deluxe rooms with private bathroom in another. In between these accommodation extremes we have semi-private/suites that include a shared bathroom and a kitchenette which makes family vacations affordable. We also incorporate a beautiful camp ground for campers. Inexpensive bike rentals are available. Arnott's also has its own tour division where lodge guests get substantial discounts on incredible adventures such as the summit of Mauna Kea, Volcanoes National Park and Valleys and Waterfalls Tours. Come experience a relaxed Hawaii environment within walking distance to green sea turtles and swimming beaches. We hope to see you soon. Aloha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arnott's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnott`s Hotel Hilo
Arnotts Hotel Hilo
Arnott's Lodge Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing