We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful old hawai'i style Inn w/ ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel
Level Contributor
182 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wonderful old hawai'i style Inn w/ ocean view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Been staying @ the WGI since the late 90's (when on assignment to the big island); we stay approx 4-7days per year, we go for the black & white night celebration in Hilo, hawai'i (in November)
Its a family affair run by Ben, very casual, w/ wonderful breakfast of baked goods by Arthur...it's old style hawai'i (no pool, hot tub, air conditioning, etc) WGI has a great view and wonderful grounds; plus the ocean trade winds are splendid !
WGI, to quote the david johansen song 'funky funky but chic' with very reasonable accommodations !
Its just a short 2 block walk from a residential neighborhood to downtown Hilo...the last great old school city in hawai'i (now a citadel of eclectic eccentric shops & wonderful fusion and authentic dining experiences)
We are going again this year, 2012...its my 14th visit @ WGI; the rest of our stay is in Volcano Vilage when visiting the big island annually

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassyslide101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    46
    30
    14
    20
See reviews for
17
64
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wil
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights and it was ok. It is really a budget place, so dont expect much. The owner is really nice and talkative. The rooms are clean, but very basic equipped, dont expect anything fancy. The rooms are not really isolated, therefore it gets very noisy. You hear especially the frogs in the rainforrest all night long.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Cute place, and I love the crazy tree frogs and homey breakfast. But the traffic is loud, and the people next door might as well have been in our room. We heard their every cough and moan and toilet flush. To say the walls are thin doesn't really explain the noise situation there -- we had camped out for 3 nights before trying to crash here and we still barely slept!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hilo hotels

Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

After a 18 hour journey from Ohio, we arrived in Hilo around 8 pm. We informed them earlier that we would come around 8.30 pm. It was close to 9 pm when we arrived, and they had waited us until then. Friendly folks.

Room was very basic, but had a microwave, so we got some frozen pizzas from Walmart that is nearby as our jet-lagged dinner. Bed was comfortable, and weren't bothered by frogs that others complain.. since we slept like babies after traveling for so long.

Breakfast is very basic, but enough to get the morning going. It was perfect for a nights' stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

So I drove to Hilo for one night from the Sheraton Resort and Spa in Kona. Let me say this is not a resort and spa. Having said that it was a great deal! I loved the location (rain forest). The frogs are awesome. If you don’t like the sound of frogs (like those from those silly noise machines) it will make you crazy – if you like the sound it’s awesome!

The room was clean and adequate. The bed was fine, bathroom fine. No frills, no hair dryer but it did have a fridge AND microwave for under $60 a night in Hilo! They lock the main door at 9pm so you have to use a key to get into where the rooms are. As a single traveler I liked that. It felt much more like a hostel than hotel but again I liked that they locked it up.

There were two computers in the common area that people used to get on the net. I had my laptop and mi-fi card so I didn’t use them. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. In the am there was coffee and some sort of breakfast – I didn’t eat. Overall, no complaints AT ALL. Would I stay there again for a night? YES! Would I stay for a week? Probably not. It’s what you would expect, a very inexpensive spot to crash in Hilo. Did I see bugs? ONE in the middle of the night (got up to use the bathroom). It’s the rain forest people, you are going to see bugs. I live in Florida and have WAY bigger roaches make their way into my house from time to time. It’s a great value hotel but know what you are getting into – it’s not what I would call a B&B, I would call it adequate budget accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hamrickpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed here after hiking Mauna Kea. I really just wanted a bed to sleep in after hiking and before going backpacking. The guy who booked our room seem surprised when I called. The room was ok, clean and the bed was comfy. It took almost 10 minutes to get hot water in the shower.
I wouldn't really call this a B&B as breakfast is fruit coffee and toast. There are many long term residents who out number people stay as hotel guests.
I didn't have any great expectations so I can't say I was disappointed, except for the shower issue. It's a shame, this place could be very charming but the owners are just letting it rot.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doglb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

This place is definitely not for everyone, but if you want a clean room and a decent bed for the night at a reasonable price, within walking distance from downtown, you'll probably like this place. It definitely isn't a bed and breakfast - yes, there is breakfast: some coffee, toast, and bananas. For those who complained about the frogs - many places you stay on the Big Island are loud because of the frogs. While it is load, there are incredible plants surrounding the hotel. If I were going to be in Hilo again, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
22.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel

Property: Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel
Address: 100 Puueo St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2428
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Ginger Inn is centrally located in Hilo, which is on the east side of the Big Island. One of the most affordable accommodations in town with free Wi-Fi and Hawaiian Style Continental Breakfast. We offer many different levels of comfort including regular hotel rooms, indoor and outdoor hostels (private and dorm), and tenting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Ginger Hotel Hilo
Wild Ginger Inn b&b
Wild Ginger Inn Hilo
Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing