We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B, you won't go wrong!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B, you won't go wrong!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

The beautiful rooms, the private lanai, the great big bathroom, comfy bed, delicious breakfast and the excellent host Michael. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hilo Bay, it was just delightful. I couldn't recommend it more.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    22
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
109
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland, usa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This little B and B has a wonderful host, Matthew, and all the character of an older home. It's situated a short two block walk from the charm of downtown Hilo : the market, the bay, adorable little shops and places to dine. Matthew described finding this property in total disarray and laboring to bring it to life. He's done a great job. Our room, the Tsunami Room, had a Koi pond to view off our private lanai. Breakfast was extensive with a selection of breads, jam, coffee, fresh tropical fruits, yogurt, cereal, bacon and eggs. We really didn't need but one other meal that day and will definitely stay at this B and B on our next visit. We love Hilo and this location provided an opportune location to get around the entire town by foot.

The only disadvantage of this location in town is the traffic noise at night experienced in the front room, Tsunami. I would suggest asking for one of the other 3 rooms, such as the James Mitchner Room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Highly recommend this hidden gem! Great value. I extended my 2 night stay for 3 nights at this in-Hilo town B&B. I just felt so at home. Had the run of the upstairs and kitchen area during my stay. Stayed in the James Michener room with spa tub with balcony overlooking the Koi pond. Wonderful Kona coffee, fresh cooked breakfast and island fruits each morning. Allowed me use of the laundry at no extra charge. Joe was my host as the owners were away in November 2012. Joe was helpful, warm and respectful of all the guests. Aside-keep in mind the couqui's (tiny tree frogs) chirp from dusk into dawn throughout the east island. I happened to love them, lulling me to sleep each night. / Another plus: Accept Bed and Breakfast.com certificates/

Room Tip: All are quite a deal. I would ask for the James Michener again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandalsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

we found Hilo Bay on the Lonely Plant Book and drove by in November and booked in. Joe greeted us and we were made to feel right at home. We staying in the "Hemingway" Room. Each room has it's own bathroom. We had a porch and could hear the rain falling softly at night and the tree frogs. Joe gave tips on where to go. We visited BJ Penn's gym only a few blocks away (if you're a UFC fan!). Downtown is very quaint and funky. Great places to eat. The B and B is very comfortably, beautifully redone. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous, fresh fruit in a papaya shell, frittata, bacon and Kona coffee. We ate out on the porch and had wonderful conversation with Joe. We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickypatKamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

It was by pure charma that we found this gem of a place last minute as walk-ins. Joe, the caretaker, made us feel so welcome from the very first greeting. You could tell how much he loved the place as he proudly showed us all the incredibly decorated rooms, very "zen-like" with attention to detail. For instance, the designer bath-sink is hand-painted with colourful coy, to match the garden pond of coy swimming - all visible from your private lanai. Everything so spotless clean, and loved the deep soaker-tub with wrap-around shower curtain and rain-head. The bed had dual remote controls for soft to firm, so you can adjust exactly how you prefer your side of the bed!

Now the breakfast was superb! We pushed ourselves away from the table so full, not because we were so hungry, but because it all tasted so gourmet! We felt at home, chatting over our 100% Kona coffee and revealed that we also were B&B owners on our own vacation. We shared humorous stories of memorable guests and what fun this business can be, and appreciate how much work it is too! Joe demonsrated that when you love what you do, it reflects in your attitude and ultimately the care for your guests. We were treated so well and it felt wonderful to be on the 'guest' side things. Thanks for the warmth. Sorry we did't get to meet Mathew and Dan....maybe next time for sure we would come back. It's the best place to stay in Hilo!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian Bear G... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed in the lava room-huge room down stairs wth awesome shower and your own sliding glass door to a little area outside to sit. Beautiful back yard. Frogs are loud-but we loved it-made us sleep awesome w/ them and the rain! In old town, close to resturants. Owners super nice. We had to leave early next day-so we didn't get a chance to eat the delish breakfast:( But he did give us some fruit and a muffin to go. Would stay here again-for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hilo Bay B&B during our honeymoon. This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and were coming from the Kona side of Big Island where we had spent 2 nights at a 4-star resort.

We chose the Hilo Bay B&B because of the glowing reviews, and after having stayed there, the other reviews are pretty spot on with their assessment. My wife and I stayed in the Lava Room, which is on the lower level. It was very spacious and clean. The bed was very soft and the chirping of frogs outside at night made for a very restless sleep. The shower in the bathroom was fantastic as I thoroughly enjoyed the large rain shower-head. However, the counter space in the bathroom is pretty non-existent and the sliding door leaves you very little privacy.

Also to note, as others have mentioned, the driveway can only fit 2 cars so we had to park our car along the street, which was a bit inconvenient but fairly safe.

The best part of our stay at the B&B were the breakfasts and conversing with Joe (inn keeper) and Matthew (owner) who are very knowledgeable about the area. The eggs and bacon, fresh fruit, coffee and juice were all delicious and a great way to start each day. One morning, Joe was nice enough to accomodate our early day (as we planned on heading the road to sight see) by starting breakfast earlier. He even let us borrow one of the Lonely Planet travel books to help guide us for the day.

Although the Hilo Bay B&B does not have the amenities a 4-star resort would have, overall, our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sum_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilo hotels
1.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
534 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
Address: 301 Ponahawai St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hilo Bay views from this beautifully restored 1912 historic home in the heart of Hilo, close to all the wonderful markets, cafes and galleries that make Hilo so famous. Each room has a private lanai with views of magical koi ponds and/or Hilo Bay and are furnished with period antiques and unique island art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Bay Bed And Breakfast
Hilo Bay Hotel Hilo
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing