We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for a one night stay.”
Review of Hilltop Legacy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilltop Legacy
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hilo
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Convenient for a one night stay.”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at hilltop legacy for one night. What you need to remember about staying here is that this a a family home with rooms available for guests. It's not a hotel.
The rooms were comfortable with a huge tv screen and all amenities available.
The check in process was easy and hassle free, we spent very little time at the room as we left our bags for the day whilst on a tour and didn't get back to the room until 9pm leaving again the following morning.
Breakfast was a nice offering of toast, bagels, croissants, cereal and porridge as well as fruit.
I did find the rooms and walls to be a little grotty, this would be easily fixed with a quick scrub.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wabeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    13
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
11
40
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Me and my Mum spent two nights at the Hilltop last september...
We have wonderful memories of the people who run this b&b ..
American hospitality and Japanese kindness coniugate perfectly in the person of Jade..
In life, t is wonderful to meet people that can leave remarkable memories, even in a short time

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raffabilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatlinburg, TN
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I spent one night here. I arrived into Hilo late and really just needed a place to stay that night. This was a very reasonably priced place that was close to the airport.

The host is extremely welcoming and very nice. The house is older, but clean. It definately is dated. The room I stayed in had a private bathroom, but it was in the hallway. I didn't mind, but be aware if that would be an issue. I think the other rooms have the bathroom inside the room. The breakfast was pretty much a standard breakfast (coffee, bagels, fruit, instant oatmeal). There is a really nice yard and table outside you can sit at to eat. Good value and worth a stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tntranerladee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This B&B is located on a hill overlooking Hilo Bay. It is a very short drive into downtown Hilo so it is conveniently located. We stayed in the smallest room that had an attached bath. THe room itself is recommended for single travelers, but it was fine for the both of us. Included in the room was a mini fridge, a microwave, a coffee maker, and a TV. The bathroom area was clearly added on and had a small footprint, but was functional for our purposes, although a bit rustic. The room we were in had a nice view of the bay and was clean overall, but if you took a really close look, you could see cobwebs in the bedside lamp. The house has a lot of charm that you find in older houses and guests are welcome to spent time in the large living area. The front yard is nicely maintained and has the feeling of a Japanese tea garden. Breakfast was bagels, muffins, a fruit plate, and several other fix it yourself options (ie oatmeal, toast, etc) that is set out on the dining room table during certain hours in the morning. We were there 3 nights and the breakfast options were the same for all 3 mornings. The owner, Jade, was very nice but we really only saw him when we checked in. The rest of the time, I think he was around the house (or outside on the back porch), but we never ran into him again.

Their website is easy to navigate and you can check availability and make your reservation through the website. The first time I tried making the reservation, I had difficulty with the credit card and left a voicemail, but did not hear back from him. I then tried making the reservation online again a few days later and it worked fine. I'm actually glad that happened as there was then an online code for 20% off, which brought the cost of the room down by a decent amount. I'm not sure if they have this discount often, or it it was because we were staying there during the off season (indeed it was not a full house when we were there) but I would recommend checking on their main website before booking.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kauai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just left Hilo yesterdays after staying at Hilltop Legacy for four nights. (Thank you Trip Adviser, I chose this place after reading reviews about accommodations in Hilo area.)

This was our first experience staying at the Bed & Breakfast and ALL of us absolutely loved there. The property including our room is absolutely charming and the young owner Jade is really nice and made us feel at home right away. We met two German couples and enjoyed the conversation also. The property is located very convenient location to visit all around east side of the big island: We went Kilauea, Punaluu Black Sand Beach, South Point, Downtown Hilo, Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls, Hamakua Coast, Waipio Valley, Waimea and Mauna Kea.

We would definitely stay here again for our next Hilo trip. We will plan to stay there longer so we will have time to enjoy a day just relaxing at the Hilltop Legacy property. (If the beds are firmer, our stay would be even better. lol)

Room Tip: We absolutely loved our room - the biggest room in the house: Corner unit with great view, very room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aminomama49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

My husband and I stayed just one night at Hilltop Legacy on our trip to the Big Island. We actually booked the Sky Room with a discount code from B&B.com which made our total only $90 (including taxes) -- a pretty great deal for Hilo! The house is nice, large & clean and located on the top of a hill in the old part of Hilo. It's at the end of a street, too, so it's very quiet from street noise and backs right up to an amazing lush jungle-covered hillside (filled with birds & coqui frogs). It is just up the hill from "downtown Hilo" (short drive or hike).

Our room had a view from the kitchen of the bay and also had windows around the jacuzzi tub looking out onto the green fauna on the hillside. Jade is very helpful and kind and definitely made us feel at home. The continental breakfast in the morning consisted of local fresh fruit, toast, muffins and biscuits plus coffee & juice. We ate outside on one of the covered patios next to a beautiful zen style garden.

While the jacuzzi bathtub in the Sky Room is quite lovely, we wished the room would have had a Queen or King sized bed (rather than the two doubles), as it could have easily fit that size. We knew the room had a full size bed when we booked it, but I just think the room would work better (and be more "couple-appropriate") with one large bed. There is no closet in this room, but there is a dresser and coat rack. The room also has a little kitchen including a stovetop, microwave, coffee maker, sink & small refrigerator. The room is a good size, overall.

There is only one sort of strange thing about the room: much of it is made of plywood. The entire kitchen/bath area & counters are made of plywood as are some of the walls. It was certainly fine for us, but could seem a little "rustic," if you weren't ready for it. Also, there was a couple with a small child staying in the room next to us and, in the morning, we could hear them as though they were in our room (nearly every word of the conversation and the child's stomping feet). That is certainly not the fault of Jade or his father, obviously, but it certainly woke us up!

I would recommend the Hilltop Legacy to Hilo visitors who want beautiful views, a great location & a pleasant, non-touristy place to stay.

Room Tip: The Sky Room has a really wonderful jacuzzi bathtub with windows out onto the lush jungle hillside a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spycygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Hilltop Legacy is a comfortable, charming BNB just east of downtown Hilo, atop a hill that overlooks the entire city and harbor. It's 4 rooms are well furnished and the view is amazing. Breakfast is included and you have access to several outdoor porches. Each room has a private bath, tv, free wifi, fridge. microwave, & coffee maker. They even have robes and slippers in each closet for guests. The owner and his son, Jade, were very nice and extremely helpful with information on things to do and places to go around town. If you're looking for a nice, local place to stay in Hilo you can't do better than Hilltop Legacy.

Room Tip: Their largest room, Legacy Suite, is great - very big, comfortably fits a spare bed, nice big bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcat461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.1 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
21.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Legacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Legacy

Property: Hilltop Legacy
Address: 57 Hina St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop Legacy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop Legacy is a beautiful Hilo vacation rental conveniently located in downtown Hilo Bay. The Hilltop Legacy Vacation Rental could not be in a better location for your exciting Hilo Vacation. The Hilltop Legacy is located in Hilo is just a short 5 minute walk to the many shops, restaurants and museums that downtown Hilo has to offer. Although the Hilltop Legacy is so close to downtown Hilo Bay, You still have the amazing privacy and views that you can't find at any of the hotels in Hilo. Unlike many of the Hilo hotels, this vacation rental truly offers all the conveniences of being in town while at the same time having the relaxing and peaceful country atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilltop Legacy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Legacy Vacation Rental Hotel Hilo
Hilltop Legacy Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing