We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visitor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

The view can't be beat! And that's what you're paying for... The rooms are average, a bit small, no tv or mini fridge and since the inn is a good drive from town, you might want some non perishable snacks. Overall, our stay was great! The breakfast was very tasty and filling. The hike along the falls and through the inn's bamboo garden was very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Medea6300
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    172
    57
    37
    29
See reviews for
121
533
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

After being in the concrete jungle of Waikiki, I chose this place because it was secluded. We arrived in the dark after spending the day at the volcano and the drive was a bit spooky due to the fog. Lighting was very subtle so we couldnt see the waterfall but man could we hear it. We settled into bed ( King Kamehameha room) with the windows and patio door open and had the best rest of the entire trip. I couldnt wait to see the falls so I woke up at sunrise and went out to the porch. I was disappointed that the view from the porch was partially blocked by the roof of the dining area but on my way back to bed I caight a glimpse through the widow that was free of any interference. I woke my girlfriend and we sat there staring through the windows like puppies.
Breakfast was great, the hosts/innkeepers make you feel like friends rather than paying guests. We spent the rest of our time touring the bamboo gardens and finally made it down to the pool at the falls. It's a bit tricky to climb down, especially when wet but well worth it. The water is "refreshingly" cold. It's always a good thing when you feel like you leave somewhere too early and thats the case here, i'll def be back

Room Tip: The sound of the falls and the frogs are a melody that will rock you to sleep. Get a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmarajh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosque, NM
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We chose this bed and breakfast to start our honeymoon trip to the big Island of Hawaii. We did this solely online. The facility is everything the website attests to and more, if possible! Sleeping with the sound of the waterfall and the coqui frogs (we know, they aren't native, but we enjoyed their songs) was so relaxing we slept like babies and woke up refreshed to delicious coffee and breakfast. Lea, our hostess at the Harmony House, where we stayed, was a delight! We were treated like expected friends of friends in such a luxurious setting. The bamboo gardens are amazing. Breakfast was a delicious fare of just about anything you could imagine but cooked to order eggs, punalu'u breads, macademia nut waffles. and fresh fruit won out!!
We would recommend this to anyone who enjoys friendly hospitality, delicious food and a relaxing cocoon to call home for a few days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our main interest in visiting the Hilo side of the Big Island was the volcanoes, yet we didn't find a B&B close to the park that interested us as much as this one. The drive was 30 or 40 min and went by quickly. We loved the quiet of the inn, the trails on the property and the wonderful full breakfasts. Absolutely worth the extra drive. We cannot speak highly enough of the super-pleasant Lea, the person who made the meals and took care of Harmony House where we stayed. She was engaging with our 2 yr old son and was adept at cooking while answering questions; she had tons of activity and restaurant suggestions to suit all interests.
There is no check in process other than finding your name on a board and proceeding to your room. This system works fine unless you were hoping to chat with a local about the area before heading back out. That being said, the owner is always available by cell phone or in his residence on the property. The complimentary snacks waiting in the room were so appreciated after a day of travelling.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicaLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

On the last night of our recent honeymoon, we stayed at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls. The view is amazing, and we enjoyed walking to the falls and the expansive bamboo garden. Make sure to apply a liberal dose of the Inn's supplied bug spray before beginning your trek. Made to order eggs and macadamia nut waffles were the highlights of breakfast. As other reviewers have noted, the inn's location is a challenge to navigate at first, but we were able to travel to and from dinner in Hilo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webberville, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My Husband and I stayed in the Harmony House for two nights in the Maile room. The room is extremely small, the bed does not fit the bed frame, and the bathroom is so tiny that you have no room to put anything. There is no AC at this resort, this would be OK at night except you can't leave the balcony door open due to the mosquitoes. When I say this room is small, I mean 10x12 with no place to put anything. The room was not clean with dust and debris in the corners, it was obvious it had not been properly cleaned in weeks. If it was close to town you wouldn't mind it as much, because you could get out of the room. Reaching town is down an extremely treacherous one lane road with switchbacks that make this Rocky Mtn. driver cringe. The breakfast was prepared by an extremely nice young lady, she was the best part of the stay.The owners Jane and Len never made an appearance and you had to find your keys and "Room Assignments" from an outside bulletin board. Once you had breakfast do not expect any other refreshments; at all, nada, nothing. Not even a snack machine, and no fridge to store anything either. If was too far from any restaurants so brings subway or something with you or you won't eat. The grounds and views are tremendous you will never see anything like it. But with the very steep cost and the crummy rooms I cannot recommend this Inn to anyone. Stay someplace else and save your money. I would recommend driving on to Volcano Village and staying at the Volcano Inn, the rooms are very large we stayed in the Volcano and only paid $169.00 for a king, with a kitchen and sitting room.

Room Tip: We had one of the best rooms the Maile and it wasn't nice. Don't waist your money, there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathi48836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennysutton, Owner at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
The Guest Room you stayed in was the Maile Room. it is 12 ft X 16 ft not including the 8ft X 6 ft private balcony so close to our 120 ft waterfall that you can throw a rock and hit it, and not including the bathroom. Not our largest room, but the one with the most dramatic view of our waterfall. all our guests receive a welcome basket of fresh fruit and private lable macadamia nuts and our guests are always welcome to use the refrigerator to store foods for warmups or sandwiches. we do not know of a B&B that actually has a snack machine. 15 minutes from downtown Hilo makes getting to our great restaurants in Hilo quite easy, and dominoes delivers right your door. we are not outside of the realms of civilization here at Kulaniapia. I am sorry you did not like your bed, and that is a concern to us, so we swapped it out. Had you mentioned this to your Innkeeper, we would have taken care of that during your stay, and discounted the cost of your room for your discomfort. I'm glad you found a place within your budget in Volcano. I am familiar with the property and they do a good job. they are $30.00 less expensive than I am….but they do not take care of 22 acres, nor do they have a 120 ft waterfall, 2 1/2 miles of walking trails, and extensive bamboo garden where you can find mature bamboo from all over the world. Contrary to your statement as to our cleanliness…we hold the bar quite high for our staff, and you can see that in most of the comments you'll find here, we are commended on our cleanliness. We strive, but unfortunately we are not perfect and if you did not find your room spotless, well then, we must apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great location(if you don't mind a bit of a drive out of town). Views are awesome and the breakfast was superb. Swimming in the falls was great. I'm not sure what they mean by rainy Hilo, since the weather was sunny.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisKoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
6.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
20.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
56.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing