We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Inn beside a waterfall overlooking Hilo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Inn beside a waterfall overlooking Hilo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

A great place for a tropical escape. Right behind the Inn is a large waterfall. And just steps beyond the Inn is a panoramic view over Hilo and the ocean. Its just far enough out of Hilo to allow you to Zen out, but close enough to let you dive into the city life when you want. The rooms are comfortable and attractively decorated. My girlfriend and I were here only one night but would've loved to spend at least a few more days here. Highly recommended if you're visiting the Big Island.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainBerwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    168
    57
    37
    29
See reviews for
121
526
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
194 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The drive is a little out of the way but really who cares, take your rental car and put it through its paces (you will need to test the suspension anyways on the drive from Hilo up, so do it :) ) Lenny was nice and the rooms are fine, the Kings room is great to wake up to the fall in the morning to... Breakfast option is a little boring but fresh and well cooked to order... Lots of greenery and the land was well taken care of for a jungleish area... Yes it's not luxury of other B&B's but location made up for it, it was the getaway we wanted... Would recommend

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coug8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My fiance and I stayed one night at the Inn at Kulaniapia Falls in early February and we couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. We arrived late (for Hawaii - 8:30ish) in the evening but no matter-- they leave your name on a board outside with the keys in the door of your room. We had a pleasant night's sleep in the Queen Liluokulani room and woke up to a lovely morning over Hilo. The waterfall was just as pleasant as promised-- we even went swimming in the pool below it! The grounds are lovely, with a well-tended bamboo garden adding to the peacefulness. And the staff couldn't be nicer; they were on hand when we got up to make us fresh waffles and eggs. We only wished that we'd been able to stay an extra night!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We are staying in the Pagoda House, a self-contained apartment. While the property location is first rate, you should be aware if you stay in the Pagoda that you are pretty much on your own. The owner of this property has established what she thinks of as a business that doesn't require her presence! I will have been here three days, and I've yet to meet the owner or manager of the property. We've had a number of problems, like the water being off for a couple of hours, and on-site personnel are nowhere to be found. Every day the 'housekeeper" comes in to change the flowers in one vase and put food in the fridge, but she has never cleaned our rooms in any way, unless we catch here her and ask her to do so. There is a leak in the kitchen sink apparently for some time, and they put a bowl under the sink to catch the way. As the water sits in the bowl day after day, the odor is unpleasant. Enough said--"hidden" management is a drawback to this Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennysutton, Owner at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Contrary to the experience of this traveler, the owner or management is essential to our business plan. In the morning we have two kitchens operating and two innkeepers caring after the needs of our guests in the Residence, and Harmony. Every morning my resident manager in charge of guest relations, Lara Harton, and I go to each building to make sure that everyone and everything is as it should be, The Pagoda Guest House is very much its own unit, and we endeavor to allow our guests to have the privacy they might require. If the doors of the Pagoda are closed in the morning, we do not knock on the door or intrude....however there is staff and management on every corner of the property every morning....in addition, we serve an optional lunch between 11;30 and 3;00 and the Residence is 75 ft away. certainly close enough for our guests to pop over and say Hi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed in the Patagonia House. Lovely location overlooking the awe-inspiring waterfall and jungle setting. Everything was supplied for a delicious and healthy breakfast including a bowl of fresh Hawaiian fruit; pineapple, papaya, mango, etc.This B and B runs at an extremely high rate of occupancy which is very easy to see why. This is it.

Also, all the buildings on the entire property are supplied by electricity generated by the Inn's own hydro scheme. Without creating a dam, the owner and a brilliant engineer built a system that captures and diverts enough water to feed five electricity-generating alternators that in turn supply more electricity than the facility needs. Ingenious and completely off the grid. KUDOS!!!!!

Room Tip: The upstairs master over looks the waterfall with a full view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TopangaMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This B&B (really feels more like an inn than a traditional B&B since there are multiple houses and you don't see the innkeepers at check-in) is a relaxing hidden gem about 15 minutes from downtown Hilo. You drive through many narrow, rural roads to get there. This is the trade off for staying in a quiet inn with a private waterfall (prettier than Akaka Falls in my opinion!), but once you get there you pretty much want to stay put for the night. It's best if you drive there for the first time during the daytime, but we did it at night and survived :-P Thankfully there are a lot of signs for the Inn that periodically point you in the right direction (don't follow Google maps through til the end or you'll end up on some rough roads, as we were told by some fellow travelers at breakfast). When we got there, we were a little confused which house we were supposed to go in (probably compounded by the darkness), but we eventually figured it out. The bamboo garden walk was nice, but lots of mosquitoes when we went just before dusk (we should have used the bug spray provided at the door!). Our room was small, but well decorated and clean. The room was a bit on the hot side during the day, but cooled off at night (there's a ceiling fan, but no AC). As others have mentioned, the breakfast was huge and delicious (mac nut waffles, taro sweet bread, and passionfruit honey were just some of the treats)! One of the innkeepers visited during breakfast, helped us plan the day, and told us that there was snorkel equipment we could borrow in the main house.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PiperNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We could not have been more pleased! Definitely one of the most unique places I've ever stayed. Great hosts, lovely property and well decorated/comfortable rooms. Good breakfast, too. My only regret is that we only booked one night.
(BTW - Anyone who is complaining about the somewhat remote location is missing the point!)

Room Tip: We were in the Pikake Room in Harmony House. It's a bit closer to the falls, and this room is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MABUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
20.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
56.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing