We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous Estate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Estate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The private grounds include fabulous waterfalls with the best view from our Maile room. There are walks with magnificent bamboo, macadamia and monkeypod trees. Wonderful cooked breakfasts. No need for A/C because of great breezes. Beautiful, comfortable communal living room. Rooms are tiny with little room for luggage and it takes 15 minutes to drive to the main road. Totally worth it for the feeling of being on a beautifully maintained country estate.

Room Tip: Best views of magnificent waterfall from Harmony House upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    164
    56
    35
    29
See reviews for
114
510
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waipu, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Although only one night, very relaxing. Magical with the Waterfall lulling us to sleep. Lovely breakfast. No interaction with owners or management at all but if you want tranquility, it is unsurpassed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raewynwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

What a great place! I've had to buy me a sound machine with a waterfall since I got home. The staff is as great as the view. We stayed 7 nights and we are ready to go back. They made our honeymoon amazing!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Although we only stayed for one night ( most regrettably ), we felt we were in the presence of something very rare, very unusual, and very remarkable. Len & Jane have turned their 22 acres in the middle of farmland, into a magical landscape of waterfalls, bamboo forests, & macadamian orchards.

Truly an unparalleled experience in this crazy, fast moving, modern world. Can't wait to go back for a longer stay! Lincoln Sharpless & Robin Evans

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincoln S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I loved our stay. The sounds, smells and sights invoke a meditative state of mind. The rooms are intimate. The breakfast served in the morning in the lanai is superb. The staff are very friendly. If you are looking for a place to reconnect with yourself, with nature or with a loved one, this place cannot be beat.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank godsilpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a quaint B&B in an extraordinarily beautiful spot, on 22 acres including several waterfalls and lush native greenery just next door (or part of?) the National Wildlife Refuge. There is a PAVED road (a bit wider than a golf cart trail) that takes you 3-4 miles off the main road. Do not let that you deter you -- being a bit removed from the main highway is actually what gives you access to so much beauty and tranquility. The most beautiful B&Bs I have visited elsewhere have also been at least a few miles off the main road. Google Maps (on my Android phone) routed me flawlessly to the Inn. Depending on where you start, there is an alternate path (a little rougher) but which Google also routed us along perfectly.

We loved the rustic charm of the rooms (hint: you do not need deadbolts and heavy hotel doors in the country). Our room had a view of the waterfall from one window, and the ocean from another, with a balcony to relax and enjoy it. You will not likely find such beauty even at the most exclusive resorts. We appreciated the focus on sustainability and that the electricity was all hydroelectric, generated on-site. The staff was warm and welcoming, and seem like family (not a fly-by-night hotel staff). The breakfast was personally prepared and made-to order, with charm and hospitality.

Despite being removed from the beaten path, you are a very short drive from downtown restaurants (I recommend Cafe Pesto). Also about an hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park.

You can find more info and details on the website, I'm sure. Overall, I would describe this as unrivaled among bed-and-breakfast type lodging.

Room Tip: Take your pick of view and pricepoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at the Inn based on some very good reviews and we needed someplace close to Hilo. First, the grounds are really nice and hearing the waterfall all night is great. We selected the Pagoda House - the most expensive room so you would think it was the best. Unfortunately, my wife and I found it to be rather unclean. Not to the point where we couldn't stay there - but is really needs a deep cleaning. The biggest issue we had is that there is no LOCKING DOORS on the Pagoda house. They have asian inspired sliding doors that do not lock and are not placed properly. How can anyone stay there more than one night? We drove all the way to the hotel to drop the bag (a good 20-30 minute drive through back roads) and couldn't leave them because of this. Very disappointing (owner: This needs to be fixed immediately). Also the long drive makes it not really a "hilo" hotel so plan accordingly if you want to drive into town for dinner and back. Overall, the grounds are amazing (lots of mosquitos so bring DEET), the waterfall is an experience to hear, and I do not regret my stay. Just wouldn't recommend it.

P.S. First B&B that I stayed at where I didn't meet the owners - we just walked in and walked out .

P.P.S. Don't stay in the Pagoda House with small kids. The stairs have no way to lock toddlers/babies away and they are just too irresistible to children. Would only recommend teenagers and above. I wish this was highlighted on the website.

Room Tip: Avoid the Pagoda House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennysutton, Owner at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Our Pagoda Guest House does indeed have locks. There is a precision mortise lock for the front door panel, and the other pocket doors have slide bolts to secure them. What you were missing was a Key, and for that we apologize. These are specialty locks and the keys come from the manufacturer. I am sorry that you felt insecure at the Inn because of this. As for the cleanliness...I can only say that we hold the bar quite hight for our staff, and as you can see from these reviews, we generally get good marks for cleanliness. That you were not satisfied is a genuine concern for me. We work very are to make sure that our guests are comfortable and treated well during their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
20.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, P.O. Box 646, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings. The residence, which includes our largest family suite, the Jade Cottage with a private covered lanai, the Pagoda Guest House with it’s own kitchen, and the Harmony House with some of the best waterfall views. Breakfast is provided daily and included with your room rate. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. Mention our tripadvisor add and we will give you a 10% discount. (Only when booking directly with us) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing