We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Carleton, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I did an online search and just happened upon this place. It had good reviews but not much info that I could find. I took a shot and I'm so glad that I did! We got there very late so it was dark and we really couldn't see anything until morning. It was a long, winding, road with a moderate ascent and we thought we were lost until we finally saw lights. Very nice people, very welcoming. We could hear the roar of the waterfall and what a way to fall asleep. In the morning, I walked out on the balcony and was blown away by the view. Hilo Bay in all it's glory with the sunrise just starting and the entire town below. The waterfall was magnificent and breakfast was incredible! Macadamia nut waffles everyday with fresh local fruit, juice, and breads. Just wonderful all around! The only issue we had was from an overflowing toilet (that I got to mop up with bathtowels.. Eww) but other than that it was great.

Room Tip: Just check out which rooms have a waterfall view and which have a bay view. Either way is a win!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    179
    58
    38
    30
See reviews for
127
547
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Unfortunately we were only able to stay here for one night but it was a great experience. Going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the waterfall was amazing, something we'll always remember. We drove to the Muana Kea Observatory that evening and were happy with the close location to that and the convenience of getting back on the highway towards Volcanos National Park. The room was clean and had everything we needed.

Room Tip: The Pagoda guesthouse looked awesome from the outside. Would definitely see if that is available if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanview, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at here with my husband for half of our journey around the big island and I can honestly say that I would have stayed longer if I didn't have other reservations. The maile room was perfect size, had a wonderful view of the falls and there was a constant breeze so we didn't even miss A/C. Everyone there was very helpful with tips on where to go (we found a yummy bakery this way), the breakfast was wonderful and the vibe was very relaxed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OCbeachchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The private grounds include fabulous waterfalls with the best view from our Maile room. There are walks with magnificent bamboo, macadamia and monkeypod trees. Wonderful cooked breakfasts. No need for A/C because of great breezes. Beautiful, comfortable communal living room. Rooms are tiny with little room for luggage and it takes 15 minutes to drive to the main road. Totally worth it for the feeling of being on a beautifully maintained country estate.

Room Tip: Best views of magnificent waterfall from Harmony House upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipu, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Although only one night, very relaxing. Magical with the Waterfall lulling us to sleep. Lovely breakfast. No interaction with owners or management at all but if you want tranquility, it is unsurpassed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raewynwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

What a great place! I've had to buy me a sound machine with a waterfall since I got home. The staff is as great as the view. We stayed 7 nights and we are ready to go back. They made our honeymoon amazing!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Although we only stayed for one night ( most regrettably ), we felt we were in the presence of something very rare, very unusual, and very remarkable. Len & Jane have turned their 22 acres in the middle of farmland, into a magical landscape of waterfalls, bamboo forests, & macadamian orchards.

Truly an unparalleled experience in this crazy, fast moving, modern world. Can't wait to go back for a longer stay! Lincoln Sharpless & Robin Evans

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincoln S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
665 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
56.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing