We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtakingly Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was an absolute treasure that a my boss referred to. I loved everything about it. I stayed in the hibiscus room, which had an enclosed porch that faced the waterfall. The sheets were incredibly soft and the room very comfortable. The landscaping and water fall were amazing. There is a great trail that leads you down to waterfall, where you can swim, kayak or enjoy the scenery. This bed and breakfast exceeded my expectations and the pictures don't do it justice. My only regret was that I only stayed for one night and had to be up and out early the next morning.

Room Tip: Hibiscus is near the kitchen and living room, but has an covered porch that faces the waterfall. I c...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

What a fabulous place. the best part having access to the falls with few other people there.
they had some kayaks there. We were lucky enough to be there when the water was flowing just right so we could swim and paddle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This Inn is in the most beautiful and relaxing setting imaginable. You sleep to the sound of a gorgeous waterfall on the property, to a cacophony of tree frogs. The waterfall has a lovely swimming hole where you can swim and kayak (and note, safety first - the proprietor requires staff be present, to serve as a lifeguard.) The property is a lush garden, with blooming camelia bushes, and many exotic plants - so interesting, and so marvelous.
Coffee and breakfast is served by delightful staff- the breakfasts are friendly and so delicious, with ripe papaya, pineapple, and omelets, delicious (!) waffles, etc.
The island of Hawaii is extremely interesting - there is a lot to see, and it is easy to travel from this Inn to explore the entire island. There is little traffic around Hilo, and it is easy to get to the Inn from the airport (or Hilo). The easy and short drive (15-20 minutes because you drive slowly on the small road, by orchards and farms and gardens) is amazingly beautiful.
The Inn feels like home - I was traveling alone, and found the atmosphere so relaxing, complete with quiet soothing music, and really lovely staff, that the guests just hang out and talk with each other in the evenings, as well as at breakfast. It's very low key, and the guests are interesting and friendly. The rooms are very nice, very clean and fresh, the bed comfortable, bathroom very nice, the floors gorgeous. You will feel at ease and completely at home in this beautiful place. There is a spacious kitchen to share, as well as a screened in porch and a living room and dining room -The proprietor has created a wonderful, welcoming place - it's my favorite place ever. It's thrillingly breathtakingly beautiful, and yet relaxing and comfortable in every way.
Other nice touches - beach towels, interesting soap, overall thoughtfulness and attentive but low key assistance and service, and reasonable rates. Lenny and his staff are very informative and helpful with trip planning activities, etc. It's just a great place!! I am coming and bringing my family here next summer for a week! I lucked out finding this Inn!

Room Tip: Every room is quiet, and from the rooms in the back you can hear the waterfall more clearly.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What a beautiful place tucked away from the town. We stayed in the Pagoda and really enjoyed the space and the surroundings. The grounds are truly beautiful. The Pagoda is right by the falls. We went to sleep listening to them. Just like your own soothing sound machine! Lenny the owner is very sweet and helpful. The other employes are great too. The Inn is really an attraction on its own. We would recommend to anyone planning a visit to Hilo.

Room Tip: We loved our Pagoda. Wonderful for a family
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a wonderful place to relax and refresh. It is a few miles out of town, but it is worth going the few next miles You will be happy you chose to stay there. There are waterfall and trails to enjoy.

Room Tip: get a room with a full view of the waterfall
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyS71954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Imagine having a waterfall right on your property! We drove south on Hwy 19 to see the waterfalls, including Akaka Falls, before reaching Kulaniapia & decided we could have skipped the other waterfalls. In fact, we enjoyed the property so much we didn't bother visiting Rainbow Falls the next day. Instead, Laura, the manager, took us down to the waterfall & helped set us up with kayaks & paddle boards so we could paddle to the base of the waterfall. This was a truly memorable experience & one of the highlights of our 2 week trip to the Big Island. The trail through the bamboo garden is another highlight. Again, this was even more beautiful than the trail to Akaka Falls. This is one of the largest private bamboo gardens on the island. The trees themselves are immense & the trail winds down to views of the waterfall. We also could view & hear the waterfall from our room, the Maile Room. It was incredibly soothing & peaceful to sit outside on our private lanai with Kindles, wine, & macadamia nuts listening to the sounds of frogs & a waterfall. Other reviews have mentioned the delicious breakfast, including the macadamia nut waffles. Apparently, Hawaii B & Bs are not allowed to serve a hot breakfast unless they have a kitchen that is restaurant-certified. Thus, this was the only B & B we stayed at on the island that included a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Inn is a beautiful 10 minute drive from the hustle and bustle of Hilo. There are three completely separate buildings nestled amongst the trees and foliage on the property so that you feel you are an estate. Each has several bedrooms with their own bath and all the advantages of being in a house that you have complete access to with a living room, computer, kitchen, screened in porch/eating area. A separate small building houses gym equipment and massages are available. The owners live in their own residence. Every morning you awake to a full buffet breakfast with the housekeeper serving up anything you wish from eggs of any kind to the best macadamia nut waffles, fresh brewed coffee, teas, fresh squeezed juices, fresh baked goods and breads, fruits. The ambiance of the Inn is amazing! Designed in an oriental motif, with a waterfall on the property, which in our case, was directly behind our residence and our bedroom. Waking and falling asleep to the sound of the waterfall and the birds and frogs made for the most amazing night's sleep. At one of the residences is a covered deck facing the waterfall from which you can enjoy your breakfast, meals, or just sit and take in the views--amazing. You can walk down to the waterfall, swim or kayak in its pool or take a short hike along the water through bamboo trees and exotic foliage. The owners and housekeepers are super friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. You feel like you are in Hawaii like it used to be, the Hawaii you've been waiting to see. Staying here was an experience I will always remember and highly recommend.

Room Tip: The residence closest to the waterfall allows you to see/hear the waterfall the best. The other two...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marchfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
48.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: £131 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing