We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We needed a place to stay on our visit to the volcano and found this B and B by accident on the internet. It is the most amazing and beautiful find of our trip. It is unbelievably beautiful and a great value as well. We will be coming back. i hate to tell people about this find because I want there to be vacancies when I come back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyandhooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

We spent 4 nights in the Orchid Room, a corner room closest to the falls in the Harmony House. Given a choice, I recommend this room over the other rooms in HH due to the view and a bathtub. (I'm not sure all rooms have a tub.) The Inn's website didn't mention it, but there is TV in each room. Internet in the common living room/kitchen. The Inn Keeper was excellent, friendly and nice, and breakfast was very good too. The Residency building is a true B&B in as much as the owners live on the ground floor. The Inn is about 7-8 miles (or about a 12 minute drive) from downtown Hilo. The last 4-5 miles is on an attractive, single-lane, rural, private road. We are glad we spent the extra money to stay here rather than the cheaper, much less attractive large hotels in downtown Hilo.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sengan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We fall in love with Kulaniapia Falls from the pictures of the waterfall and we wants to be near of the volcano action. On the drive to the hotel we stop in Cafe 100 looking for Hawaiian food, the experince was nice (nothing fancy). We stayed in the room "Queen Lili'uokalani" and we enjoyed the relaxing sound of the falls from there. The service and the breaskfast was very good. We are already planning our next trip back to the Inn. It is a great value! Is like be in home.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

The Inn was the first stop on a surprise trip for my in-laws. they had no idea they were coming to Hawaii and then to have the first 4 days and nights at the Inn at Kulaniapia falls was just mystical. The view of the ocean from the mountainside or the view of the waterfall (120 ft) were both fantastic. There were guava trees, orchids and flowers too numerous to count. The atmosphere was relaxed and casual. The staff was friendly and competent. Breakfast every morning was on the open air lanai with a view of the waterfall. The roar was so relaxing. The drive up to the inn was enchanting, through a macadamia nut farm and jungle area. We Loved the Hilo side of the island. We highly recommend the Hawaii botanical garden, the helicopter ride over the volcano and Banyan tree park. We also snorkeled the tidepools, and Richardson Park. Both great. The most interesting park was Lava Tree , it looks like dinos' should be walking around.
We were sorry to leave for the Kohala coast. If you want privacy and a magical location this is it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcb4scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

The surroundings are beautiful with acres of macadamia nut trees and a waterfall, but the rooms are small, with no A/C, does not have comfortable bed, have bugs everywhere and not comfortable in general. Oh, it's at a very remote location. Don't stay here if you want to get back there after dark.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoBigeater89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I stayed in this Inn with my wife in September 2009. The property is beautiful and so is the room. The problem is that we were greeted in the most unwelcome way. After a long drive up narrow, barely paved , roads we were met by the wife as we drove up. She offerred us a rushed "orientation" that seemed to suit her needs to get it over with more than our needs to actually get oriented. She was rude and condescending, referring to the woman who makes breakfast in the morning as "the girl." She was so interested in getting the orientation over with that she actually pushed me, albeit gently, and didn't even give me a chance to close my car door. We were tired from the drive up and it was nearing dinner time: the drive back to town seemed daunting. She offered a quick "dominoes delivers." I asked for the number and she replied "there's books you can look through downstairs." She was hardly accommodating. The place is not well lit at night and getting upstairs to the Prince kalakaua room in the dark and rain was a dangerous task. Low flow shower, sink that didn't drain, bathroom too small to turn around in, dead mosquitos on the sheets (under the bedspread...how did that happen??) and mosquito bites during breakfast. Breakfast was good. I could have put up with all the little things that weren't right about this place if we didn't have such a rude greeting. But she was reallly rude and made us feel like trespassers, and thats the last thing you need when you are a guest, paying for the privilege, on a romantic vacation, and her attitude stuck with me for the entire stay. I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

If you look at their website the B&B looks like it is set on the most beautiful location and the rooms are quite decent as well. However in reality the room we stayed at was moldy, there were countless dead mosquitos stuck on the walls & ceiling and the bed was just awful. The drive down the dirt down from Hilo town took way more than 10 minutes and is covered with potholes and has no lighting. Beautiful by day but rather dangerous by night! The host was not friendly although we found the breakfast to be very good. The waterfall is amazing but quite difficult to get to as the path is basically slippery mud. Forget swimming - totally false advertising.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheBearReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilo hotels
2.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
683 reviews
4.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
6.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
4.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.5 mi away
Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: £143 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing