We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed here in october in room overlooking the falls.
Room so peaceful at night area really quite as up a track.
Hedi was looking after our room and cooked a great breakfast in the morning and had loads of good advice, Only 15 minutes from Hilo great location
Plus you can swim in the falls pond

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LFCTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    179
    59
    38
    30
See reviews for
127
550
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head sc
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Great place overlooking Hilo and the Ocean. Waterfall makes it truely memorable. Great Staff especially Heidi who exceeded all our expectations. Lovely place recommend to all

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Had a very nice visit to the Inn. Stayed in Harmony House - Maile Room. AMAZING view of the waterfall. Very soothing sound to sleep to as well. Food at breakfast was very good - made to order omelettes and waffles. Fresh fruit, yummy juice. Grounds were very nice. Pretty drive up to the Inn (VERY DARK at night - could see EVERY star!!)

Only negative - not the most responsive. We had no electricity in the room upon arrival- except the bathroom. Not a big deal, as we were going right to sleep due to time difference. Took multiple complaints and 24 hours to fix. Again, not a big deal as we weren't in the room, but when finally fixed - the innkeeper said "when I didn't hear from you again, I assumed it had been fixed" like we should have had to nag.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjmegantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert,Calif
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2009

innkeepers were pleasant but need to interact more with guests
did not enjoy viewing a duct taped skylight from our balcony

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnePalmDesert_Calif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I called this hotel in October to make a reservation for New Years. I asked the innkeeper what his policy was for cancellations. He never told me that he would charge my credit card for HALF of the amount NOW. My credit card company called me with a suspicious charge which alerted me to what had happened. I called the innkeeper and asked him why he charged my card and not tell me he was going to do so when I called. He said he would credit my account. I asked him when and he started yelling, cussing over the phone, using the f-word and told me to never call back. I intend not to. Good luck!

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
8 Thank Pamme777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We needed a place to stay on our visit to the volcano and found this B and B by accident on the internet. It is the most amazing and beautiful find of our trip. It is unbelievably beautiful and a great value as well. We will be coming back. i hate to tell people about this find because I want there to be vacancies when I come back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyandhooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We spent 4 nights in the Orchid Room, a corner room closest to the falls in the Harmony House. Given a choice, I recommend this room over the other rooms in HH due to the view and a bathtub. (I'm not sure all rooms have a tub.) The Inn's website didn't mention it, but there is TV in each room. Internet in the common living room/kitchen. The Inn Keeper was excellent, friendly and nice, and breakfast was very good too. The Residency building is a true B&B in as much as the owners live on the ground floor. The Inn is about 7-8 miles (or about a 12 minute drive) from downtown Hilo. The last 4-5 miles is on an attractive, single-lane, rural, private road. We are glad we spent the extra money to stay here rather than the cheaper, much less attractive large hotels in downtown Hilo.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sengan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
670 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
49.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Property: The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing