We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it was a tad cleaner...”
Review of Aaron's Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aaron's Cottage
Ranked #10 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wish it was a tad cleaner...”
Reviewed 4 May 2011

If you want a cheap place, which is a bit tired in its upkeep, with an ok breakfast, and are traveling with a dog (they allow them) it will work for you. Just don't expect a resort or a high quality B&B (have friends who run one on Maui).

It is an interesting trio of rooms. Easily found in a very quiet neighborhood past the harbor. Dog issue noted in the other posting was resolved when I was there. Very hospitable owners but definitely too lazy to care for the property in a deep cleaning manner. Perhaps it has such a busy and consistent turnover to not allow cleaning more than surface issues.

Before I turned out the lights, I noticed all the tops of the drapes were cobwebby and full of dust. Outside, under the lights, the walls were full of cobwebs which had been in place for months. The gecko guano hadn't been brushed off for a while either.

The bathroom had small black splotches on the ceiling (moldy shampoo?) and the back of the door had not been dusted/wiped down in months. The toilet paper holder had been yanked out of the wall in two places and the plaster had not been repaired. TP was now on a free standing rack.

TV stations lacked greatly in selection. Wifi was secure.

Don't reserve #9 as it is directly across from the shared kitchen if you like privacy. Also, if you need to sleep in, and the other guests are clueless that you're in there, you'll be up with their noise. The other end of the three rentals - #7 - is near the shared driveway, which has exactly one "first come first served" slot. Other renters have to park on the grass in front of the units. The middle unit - no clue if there's enough breezes to keep it cool.

Breakfast offering was different each day. Does not offer much in the way of protein, unless you cook your own eggs. Which is certainly easy enough to do. One caveat, rinse off the plates before you use them, as I witnessed a visitor from out of the country wash the dish but didn't rinse off the soap. She put it in the drain rack. I rinsed it off after she left.

Even with the price being so inexpensive, I don't think I'll come back when I island-hop. Didn't take any photos because I didn't want to remember what it looked like.

Only recommending as a 'last resort option' to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Makalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    35
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
85
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

From the moment we arrived, we felt like we were being well taken care of. Alan and Penne provided us with some nice extras that we were not expecting. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The common areas were not as clean, but it wasn't disgusting. There was free internet and cable TV, although some of the TV channels did not come in clearly. The location is good. There is a secret beach within walking distance, although you cannot walk to downtown Hilo. The best part is the incredible value. When we booked it, I was nervous b/c it was so cheap. It's hard to believe getting accomodations this nice for such a low price, but it exceeded expectations. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but we went in with low expectations based on fellow TripAdvisor Reviews, so we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 08Bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night before our flight out of Hawaii. The room is nothing super special, but it works... clean, good value, all the stuff you need like shampoo, hair dryer, TV, A/C, etc. Plus it's $70/night in Hawaii so that's a steal! They provided a kitchen and continental style breakfast. The highlights were the owner, Alan, and the nearby beach. Alan is just the absolute nicest guy and obviously loves getting to know the travelers. We never met his wife I guess because we were only there one night. The morning we were leaving we walked down to the beach and maybe because for once it was sunny in Hilo, but it was just the most beautiful hidden location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txchick83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis, mo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

This bed and breakfast was near the ocean, beach just a few houses away and less than a mile off the main road. The room was clean, large comfy queen size bed, table and chairs, coffee maker, frig, big bathroom with soft towels. The owners welcomed us as we arrived and explained how breakfast was served and gave us a tour of the property - all the fruit trees , picnic area, waterfall and covered pavilion. There was a kitchen for the guest to use at any time, equipped with pots, pans, dishes, stove, frig, sink, the only thing asked was that you clean up behind yourself. Breakfast was homemade corn muffins, boxes of cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit and eggs in the frig if you wanted to make them. extra coffee and teas also available.
Very comfortable room and the location worked well to get around to any of the sites in Hilo.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivefergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Room service never provided during 1 wk. stay. Did allow us to get a new set of towels. Kitchen availability saved money but cobwebs in the corners, toaster oven disgusting, and toaster marginal. Outside each room was a table with 2 chairs on a common walkway. Tables were filthy. We used a bath towel each time we ate there. Dogs bark here and next door at all times of day and night. Penne and Alan the owners are nice and provide a nice breakfast or you can cook eggs for yourself provided each morning in the frig, or serve yourself cereal provided with milk in the frig. Big flying black bugs the size of a cockroach prevalent in the room but don't bite or buzz or do anything obnoxious. Carpet in the room badly stained and turned white sox gray. No dresser provided for clothing storage, just 2 nightstands, a bench and a closet with plenty of hangars.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paupaubean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser Valley, BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We had a great stay at Aaron's Cottage. It was informal and very comfortable which is our style. Alan is very friendly and most helpful. Penne can create the most wonderful breakfast surprises. We liked and appreciated the communal kitchen which could be accessed at all times. There was also a BBQ available for cooking if you caught a fish or went shopping. We will be return. You can walk to the ocean and there are public beaches close by. It is ideal when going to the Big Island to stay a few nights on each side, since there is so much to do. We'll be back that is for sure.
Abbotsford, BC

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellite_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Center, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Aloha spirit and Ohana feeling are the prime draws to Aarons Cottage. The owners live it everyday. The new blinds are a welcome addition to this location. I stay here everytime we visit the Big Island.

Penne and Alan (the owners) are wonderful people. Give them a try - it isn't the Hilton or the Ritz, but you won't be sorry you came.

Thank You Alan and Penne for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttaddicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron's Cottage

Property: Aaron's Cottage
Address: 54 Keokea Loop, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4927
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aaron's Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aaron's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron`s Cottage Hotel Hilo
Aaron's Cottage Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing