We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”
Review of Aaron's Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aaron's Cottage
Ranked #11 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    37
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
90
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of June during our recent tour around Hawaii and thought it was great. We stayed in the middle unit (i.e. neighbours on both sides), but never particularly found noise problematic. The room was a good size, with a very comfortable bed and a good shower in the bathroom. While the room isn’t fancy, it was practical and clean. Alan, the owner, was very friendly and helpful and encouraged us to eat as much of the breakfast supplies as we could! There was a good selection in the shared kitchen, including fruit and fresh baked goods, which were delicious.

We found the location great for trips up to Mouna Kea (about an hour’s drive each way) and the Volcano National Park (about 45 mins each way, maybe a bit less). There were various convenience stores and a few restaurants nearby, with our favourite being Ken’s pancake house, which was just up the road serving delicious omelettes and French toast (and everything else we saw served looked really good too!).

Above all, Aarons was excellent value. So as long as you’re not looking for glitzy resorts or fancy features, you’ll likely not find better than this for the money anywhere in Hawaii.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank C.Weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamul, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This is where we stay we we need to be in Hilo, near the beaches and lagoons this area is known for. The owners treat you like famiy and the price is right. It's not real fancy, but all we need for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryEllswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed at this b&b on the 1st night of our stay and the last night. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. Our hosts were great. They gave us a tour of the yard and all the delights therein! From here we went on our great adventure touring the island in camper vans and staying once again at the conclusion of our vacation. By the time we returned we felt as though our host were also our friends. Breakfast was delicous (macadmia nut scones!mmmm!) On our return we were greeted by Penne and a bottle of red wine. We will definately stay here again should we return to this amazing island!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank footlooseWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights here. Really close to the airport and a short walk to a few beaches nearby (though I wouldn't recommend these beaches compared to those on the Kona coast). The owner is really friendly and breakfast is great. And the price is extremely affordable as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahulnanavati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I stayed at Aarons cottage in oct 2012, for 1 night only.

The room is fine just very tired and didnt feel very clean.

All that said the price was extremely cheap for hilo and close to hilo airport and food joints nearby.

I didnt eat breakfast but there looked alot of choice.

If you are on a budget stay here, If you have extra cash stay elsewhere......

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I recommend Aaron's for a pleasant lodging at a very reasonable price in Hilo. One block from beautiful beaches at Puhi Bay. Not far from the airport. Clean, well-furnished rooms. Walk to Arnott's for vending machines. Parking in the two-car carport is first-come-first-served, otherwise, park on the lawn.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Communer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
3.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
409 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.7 mi away
Shaka Shak
Shaka Shak
#14 of 18 in Hilo
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron's Cottage

Property: Aaron's Cottage
Address: 54 Keokea Loop, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4927
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aaron's Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aaron's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron`s Cottage Hotel Hilo
Aaron's Cottage Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing