We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconut Joe's Tours”

Native Hawaiian Lava
Ranked #33 of 80 things to do in Hilo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: meeting point " uncle awe bar ". lava walking day and night. extreme or regular tours.
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Coconut Joe's Tours”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

One of the most entertaining and educational tours we have ever done (over 40 countries). We shunned the overpriced tours offered by our cruise line and met Coconut Joe at harbour. His tour was inexpensive, intimate (4 people) and fun. I would recommend him anytime.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
23 Thank arnistonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hike the Volcano”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Worth the trip....see the lava flow....or the steam rise if it flowing underground into the ocean. Volcanoes National Park is an amazing experience.....For the adventurous, go at night if the lava is a surface flow.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Alice S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We too the walking trip guided by David Ewing - see the review of the Lava Beds B and B: even though the B and B is not running the tours still operate.

Difficult walk out there since it was pouring with rain - we got utterly soaked. When we got close to the lava, visibility was very low due to all the steam boiling ff the rocks. Dave led us through the fog and we managed to get views of the lava pouring into the ocean, and went right up to the (slowly) flowing lava itself. even poked it with a stick! How cool is that!

Dave is a nice and knowledegable guy who'll share his stories about life on the lava flow beds.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Mike-OWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kilauea Lava”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Thumbs up to the Hawaiian boys who took us right down to the lava flowing down to the ocean, Boy what a feeling to be standing right next to it and feel the heat coming to get you. Difficult to discribe.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank radscasters1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland Park, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Great experience to actually see the lava fall into the ocean. Amazing. There are also mini fire explosions that will knock your socks off.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank watsuwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Native Hawaiian Lava also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Native Hawaiian Lava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing