We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Read This Book By Its Cover!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ponds

Ponds
Ranked #11 of 238 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't Read This Book By Its Cover!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Driving by we thought we would try this restaurant. It didn't look like the grandest place to go but we were met at the door and seated immediately. We were seated by windows that were open and they overlooked the water as the building is erected on a wharf like pier. The meals were awesome and the desserts looked terrific. The one we tried was the Cream Cheese Bread Pudding and was that ever a magnificent choice! Wow!!! A top notch place to eat and the prices were reasonable for the standard of meals they prepared!! We highly recommend this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarefulChoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    229
    79
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, TX
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Island spot”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Excellent food from steaks, prime rib to fish. Big rum drinks were fun too. If you have a window seat your can feed the fish and ducks. Service was fast and efficient. Parking might be a problem on a busy night.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The outside the door menu did not match the inside the restaurant menu. Specials were offered with no pricing offered. Ended up paying $25 for each of the two fish entrees we had. Thai curry salmon was too spicy to enjoy, and ahi with basil sauce on the side for my dh came with the sauce smeared all over. They took it back and returned it as ordered but by this time I was nearly finished with my meal. Wait staff was nice and kept my water glass filled, but the $50 tab was too much for this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Virgil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Choose your entree carefully”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely setting, right on the water, the waiter we had was very friendly and attentive without being hovering. However, I had the eggplant parmesan, which was listed as a "house specialty." It was bland and seemed to be slapped together. Pass it up. There were two slices of eggplant with some tomato paste and cheese, served with some plain white spaghetti noodles and 2 slices of garlic bread. Pretty tasteless. The salad was good and others at my table ordered fish, and they liked it. For desert, the flan was good and so was the creme brulee.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Volcano09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A friend had recommended this restaurant to us. It was so pretty with the fish in the pond. Our waitress was Natasha, very lovely young lady. She recommend the fish and chips and the salmon salad. Best fish and chips I have tasted so far, and the salmon salad so delicious! I would most definatly return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ponds also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ponds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing