We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The only place to stay”
Sky Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sky Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Sky Room
The Horse Grazing In The Front Yard
Welcome to the Hilltop Legacy Vacation Rental
Relax In The Garden and Look Down On Hilo Town
Enjoy The Cool Night Air In the Garden
At Night The Surrounding Jungle Provides a Unique Quiet
In the backyard our family horse roams around. He has been with us for over 25 years.
Snowball Our Outdoor Cat Taking a Nap
Our Tulips Blooming Over Looking The Back Yard
The sounds of the koi pond water fountain will be sure to get you prepared for a relaxing vacation.
The Back Lanai Over Looks The Rolling Green Hills.
Enjoy Panoramic Views of Hilo Bay
Play pool in the living room while you enjoy the relaxing sounds of the Koi pond right outside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scitzo
Sunnyvale, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4
people found this review helpful

After reading the other reviews and checking the prices, I thought we had scored a great deal: high rating at a low price. It turned out that the facility was a reasonable for the price paid. This place was considerably cheaper than other places we stayed on the big island, but that might be because Hilo is cheaper.

The run down:
Location: looks great on google maps, but it is a good distance from town. No walking to restaurants or shore. It's probably only 10 blocks or so, but way up on the hill (hilltop legacy), so it would take a while. I hate driving, but I never walked anywhere from here. That said, if you are look for views and isolation, this place is it.

Facilities: it was clean, but not quite clean. More of a older feel to it. Older carpets, etc.

Volcano room: cramped. No place in the room to hang out except for a single chair and the bed. The room is advertised as private bath - it was private, but not connected to the room, so you have to go into the public hallway to reach it. TV reception was poor on some channels, likely due to the shoddy cable in the back. TV downstairs in the pool room was better. Nobody goes to Hawaii to watch TV, but if your hockey teams makes the second round...

Other facilities: pretty good. Nice breakfast spread, pool table, outside lounging etc. We did not really use them, but they were nice.

Jade was quite nice and helpful.

Loud frogs, but not in a bad way. Nice nature feel to

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hijabicyc...
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The only place to stay”
Reviewed 1 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I don't want to tell you how great the place is, how awesome the rooms are, how great the breakfast taste, or how beautiful the property is because I want this place available for myself when I visit. Jade is super awesome, and I will always stay there when I am in Hilo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nice cats outside
Liked least: Coffee - folgers is not my thing.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartyComp...
Marty Computers, Yorkshire and PA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I want to go back and its only been a few days!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
4
people found this review helpful

The first thing to note about Hill Top is that it is located in a nice quiet residential area. This has some advantages (quiet, lack of cars etc) it can be a bit disconcerting if your coming in from New York City (or other big city). However, the lack of cars means you get to listen to the frogs and gecko's during the night (boy do they make a lot of noise!).

The House it's self is in good shape and feels very much like a home from home, there were a few times when the house showed its age (could do with a repaint on the roof of the toilet as its staring to peel a little) however, for a humid climate like Hilo its not a surprise and certainly not a big deal.

Next to our host, Jade is possibly one of the friendliest Hawaiians we met during our stay (and we met a lot of very friendly people!) he never complained at any request and was always on hand with help or advice. I can't thank him enough for helping make our stay comfortable and pleasant. He also stayed up to let us in on our first night after our plane was delayed, he greeted us with a smile and made us feel at home straight away.

The Hilltop is located only a short distance away from Rainbow Falls and various trails, therefore if you want to get out early there is plenty to do and explore. We set off at 5.30am most days and didn't get back till the early evening without getting bored.

Please note however, if you want to see the real Hawaii this is the place to go. Hilo is not designed for tourists so as long as you don't act like one and are polite to the locals they'll treat you well.

If you want the touristy Hawaii (which is fair enough I suppose) Kona on the other side of the island will be more your style.

All in all I have fallen in love with Hilo and the Hilltop, if I ever get the chance to go back I'll be staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House, The Location, The Host!
Liked least: I loved it all!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gourmandB...
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Beautiful house with lovely garden in a great setting close to Hilo airport and convenient for visiting the volcano park and other sights of the island. Great fresh breakfast, two friendly cats, free parking (difficult to get in Hawaii) and friendly service. One of the two rooms we occupied did not have an attached bathroom but the bathroom just outside was reserved for us and this was quite convenient. One small addition-could mirrors be provided in the bedrooms?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The natural setting and great service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beqa w
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“COUNTRY STYLE GETAWAY AND SERVICE”
Reviewed 8 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

This place was such a great find. Travelled with my partner and had a wonderful time. Super affordable. Very friendly host (Jade) who not only runs the rental but offered my partner and I a lift to the airport when our taxi didn't turn up! (STAY WELL CLEAR OF WILL TAXI + TRANSPORT). Above and beyond as far as I'm concerned. As far as the rental goes - it's an old house thats been in the family for 25 years and shows it - big rooms, but in need of some general maintenance. You wont find any new tiles/marble here. But you will find amazing views over Hilo + the bay, incredible tropical gardens. Well worth the extra $20 to rent the Legacy room - that will score you a private bathroom and balcony. Breakfast is included everyday together with the use of any amenities. Only 5 minutes to downtown Hilo and yet feels like you're on a country getaway. Very relaxing. Will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly hospitality, and privacy
Liked least: The old bathroom
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing