We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hostel”

Big Island Backpacking Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Island Backpacking Hostel
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hilo
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Hostel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in a private room which was very large & clean. The free breakfast was 3 slices of toast and jam and fruit - very tasty and filling. The location is great with a car - close to Mauna Kea, Waterfalls, Macadamia Nut Factory and Volcano National Park. There are also a handful of good restaurants in walking distance of the hostel. Parking is plentiful and free. There is a large common room with a TV. Gerard on reception was amazing, so friendly and helpful. We borrowed the snorkel gear too and it was the best we came across on our travels around Hawaii. There were limited bathrooms, but it didn't present too much of a problem. I would suggest with all the space here, perhaps an extra bathroom wouldn't go a miss. All very clean and slept well here. Overall great hostel and had a great time here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejtravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    23
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
12
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Hilo Backpacker's Hostel is one of my least favorite hostels I've stayed at. The reason why this is so is because this hostel is kind of a "no shoes allowed inside" kind of hostel. With that said, since it's a backpacker's hostel everyone has probably been backpacking all day. All that walking around and all the shoes being left near the door inside the hostel and that left the entire place STINKY. It was horrible. It smelled like feet and we never got used to the smell. You smelled it in the morning and you smelled it at night. It was hard to sleep because of the stinky feet smell. Combine that with being in a room with seven other people and it was BAD.

Besides that though, the hostel wasn't too bad. When you went to sleep at night, all you hear are the coqui frogs lulling you to sleep. There are maybe tens of thousands of them with shrill little voices.

The beds at this hostel were all twin bunk beds so we got a bunk bed to ourselves. With six other people in the room. Add that to everyone's different schedules of waking up and going to bed and... well you get the picture. If we're back in Hilo we'll probably book a private room for ourselves. We would have this last time but it was already reserved.

Also, there's only one bathroom for women and one bathroom for men. Each bathroom has only one shower and toilet in it. There is one unisex bathroom downstairs but even with the three bathrooms, I could see it being a problem if everyone was up at the same time. It was never a problem for us though because we were usually out early in the morning to explore the Island.

When you get here, try to arrive in the daytime because it's hard to find at night. IF you have a car don't worry, they have their own parking lot and it's pretty big. They provide us with sheets for the bed but no towel so bring your own!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Berryfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This Hostel is in a dirt parking lot in down town Hilo , Not the great a Hostel only two bathrooms for a mid size hostel ..,Had the feeling the place was an old school or the like . with one large room that was by no means a common area or even finished ....The owner was a bit odd and the front desk people seemed uneasy when he was AROUND .... WE STAYED FOR THE lava TOUR BUT THEY DID NOT HAVE ONE ...keep telling us tomorrow they would have a tour ...There are better Hostels in Hilo check them out

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Probably the best front desk staff I encountered on my trip offering valuable travel advice that saved us time.
I liked the free airport shuttle pickup, free breakfast (coffee, toast, fruit), free parking, and clean bathrooms, lounge area with comfy couches and big screen tv.
Met a lot of nice and friendly people there. if you have a problem with taking off your shoes before you enter inside, this place is not for you.
45 minutes to Mauna kea and Volcanoes National Park. A 1 mile walk away from Rainbow falls, and lots of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agent226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had a great time here. Picked up from the airport without any problems and the driver was very helpful and informative. After checking in and finding out about the place and the lava tour going the next day, Jared the manager here, showed me to the bar not far away where Charles, the owner, was buying some drinks for those who had come out. It was a great welcome to the place. Charles is a nice guy who watches out for the safety and concerns of backpackers to try and provide a great experience, as he knows firsthand what backpackers want. I was very pleasantly surprised to find the quality of this place, which I did not get in Waikiki hostels. The facilities are excellent as was the free breakfast the next morning. Big, spacious lounge area and big TV. Good information for your Big Island adventure. All good!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the private bedroom with shared bathroom for 2 nights.
The room was spacious and very clean, as was the rest of the hostel. The location is central with some very good restaurants, markets and the beach all within walking distance. My only comment is that we thought the hostel was expensive compared to other places we have stayed in and even by Hawaiian standards. Apart from that we would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voiceunderground
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Another late arrival, another hostel I was never so happy to see.

The Rooms
Two bunk beds to a room and two twin beds as well, plus a few private rooms I noticed. This hostel has one toilet and shower for men and one for women as well as a unisex bathroom on the first floor. Be sure to be up early if you want to get in. Hilo seems at first to be a quiet town, but you will soon find that the hostel is downtown with all the noise that comes with that. In addition, you may have read about the frogs...those you will fall asleep to as well.

The Atmosphere
A very spacious hostel with very friendly travellers. Breakfast time is a great time to meet those who came in the night before and plan your day with them. There is a large TV lounge with DirecTV and even some weights/exercise equipment.

The Staff
Jared is always available and more than happy to make his recommendations on the area. Staff seems to be live-in, so they can either be found at the desk or in the TV room.

Extra Perks
Free Breakfast
Free, fast Wifi
Airport pickup if you book three or more nights. I rented a car and drove in, but found out they pick you up in their limo! What other hostel does that?

Rules to Be Aware Of
Strictly enforced quiet hours
NO drinks or food in rooms
Cash only, plus $10 deposit for room and front door key
Shoes must be taken off upon entering the foyer
Strict rationing at breakfast: up to 3 slices of toast, one piece of fruit, one cup of coffee/tea, refills 50 cents
Towels cost extra

Location is very good, close to excellent dining options and secure private parking lot. A little tucked away, but If you follow the directions carefully, you will find it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voiceunderground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilo hotels
1.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
665 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilo Bay Hostel
Hilo Bay Hostel
#4 of 11 in Hilo
190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Island Backpacking Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Island Backpacking Hostel

Property: Big Island Backpacking Hostel
Address: 69 Waianuenue Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2433 (Formerly Hilo Backpackers Hostel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Island Backpacking Hostel is a large two story structure with rooms upstairs and a large common area downstairs. We offer free Wifi, breakfast and operate a locally grown, fresh farmers market in our parking every Thursday and Saturday. We have kayak rentals available for cruising Hilo Bay (which can be viewed from our private rooms) and moped and bicycle rentals for getting around town. Mauna Kea, Volcanos National Park, and beach tours available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Big Island Backpacking Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Island Backpacking Hostel Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing