We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence!”
Review of Moon and Turtle

Moon and Turtle
Ranked #9 of 239 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We feature a frequently changing international menu with a pacific emphasis and focus on locally sourced ingredients.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellence!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Had the fried Marlin over couscous; very flavorful dish--Marlin was cooked perfect and melded together just right with the couscous, vegetables, and sauce. My wife had the Larb with Ono and couldn't stop talking about how good it was. A must visit restaurant if you are in Hilo!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank yosh7795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    47
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
hawaii
Level Contributor
249 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“So Good we ate here twice”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had two lunches here. We were greeted warmly both times and even chatted with the chef one day when he was visiting tables. We had a three meat small plate that was delicious - had a pumpkin sauce and great smoked meatball. The sashimi plate with the smoked shoyu was perfect! We also had the marlin with noodles and vegetables - the best. Ice creams are for dessert - all good. Beer on tap too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank krg999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I heard a lot of great things about this place, so my husband and I decided to try it on our weekly date night. We started with wine- a Chardonnay which was served in chilled glasses, however the wine itself was warm. There were only 2 choices for a main dish. Mahimahi for $25 or fried rice for $13. Fried rice in my opinion is NOT a "main" dish. We decided to order appetizers. 4 out of the 7 offerings were comprised of raw ahi. I do love raw ahi- but I would have liked to see a variety of offerings. After diner, stopped by McDonalds :(

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sly808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Walton Beach FL
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Hilo's Place for Foodies”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Full Moon Cafe is a surprising gem. The restaurant is in a quiet, slightly offbeat location, a block from the main drag in downtown Hilo. We found the interior to be bright and charming, and the service was very good. The food would best be described as Hawaiian-Asian fusion, with a strong emphasis on local ingredients. The menu is relatively limited (on this day we had a choice of four appetizers and four main courses, but it changes daily). The food was outstanding and the flavors really popped! Our appetizer (aka "small") choice was Crispy Brussels - the best brussel sprouts any of us have ever tasted. They were accompanied by very crisp baby anchovies, which were delectable even to the non-anchovy lovers in our party. We chose three different main courses; all featured very different flavors, and all were delicious. The market Mahi was fresh and perfectly cooked, and the accompanying spaetzle and local vegetables were mouth watering. The twice cooked beef was crisp on the outside, tender on the inside, and well seasoned with a good use of brussel sprouts and arugula. The oyster sauce sauté was also delicious and featured very fresh local vegetables. We appreciated a table-side greeting by the chef, who brings his expertise to Hilo from NYC. One opportunity for improvement was the wine list, which was sufficient but fairly limited.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank REEF_Surfer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Full Moon Cafe Rocks!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

No doubt about it. This very cool, clean, cozy restaurant is a wonderful addition for downtown Hilo. The staff is superb. Depending on what is fresh that day, the menu can change. Don't let that deter you. Widen your horizons, try something different. You will no be disappointed. Everything is delicious. Love this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HiloKine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moon and Turtle also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Moon and Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing