We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Zen Tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property
Bamboo Bungalow's covered, private garden entry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bamboo Bungalow's covered, private garden entry
Outdoor garden jetted spa with UV light water sterilization, infraed sauna and shower Your romantic  Bamboo Bungalow luxury retreat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Bamboo Bungalow's covered, private garden entry
Outdoor garden jetted spa with UV light water sterilization, infraed sauna and shower
Your romantic  Bamboo Bungalow luxury retreat.
Spend a quiet evening viewing DVDs on the 50 inch Plasma HDTV in the privacy of your living room.
Prepare a home cooked meal in your fully equipped chef\'s kitchen.
Enjoy a romantic evening in the privacy of your master bedroom with Asian-style furnishings and cozy fireplace
Zen-style platform bed with Shoji doors
Pamper yourself and take an unhurried soak in the Japanese furo tub.
Listen to the waterfall gently cascading down natural rock stream into pond
Take a stroll or meditate in the the peaceful gardens.  Observe and learn from nature.
Hand-carved stone tsukubai water basin at entrance to courtyard
Dine or relax in your Japanese-inspired courtyard garden oasis.
Watch the sunrise from your private upstairs balcony
Relax and unwind by the pond and waterfall at the garden courtyard
Japanese-inspired and naturalistic tropical gardens
Bird's nest fern, hapuu and rattlesnake plant in garden
Garden splendor
Soak in the furo tub overlooking the Golden Bamboo.
Colvillea tree in blossom
Colvillea tree flowering in garden
Bird of Paradise in bloom
Vanda Sansai Blue orchid
Madagascar gecko
Mauna Kea from Richardson's Beach along Hilo's shoreline
Magnificant views of Mauna Kea from Richardson's Beach
Richardson's Beach in Hilo is an amazing, tranquil black sand beach...you can relax, surf or swim
Snorkel with tropical fish and turtles ...beach equipment provided
Swim and snorkel at Hilo's Richardson's Beach
Soak in the freshwater lagoons and bask in the sunshine
Surf at Richardson's Beach...bodyboards provided
Coconut Island in Hilo Bay
Enjoy the beautiful sunset over Hilo Bay from Coconut Island
Surf Honolii where the locals go or catch the sunrise
Stream of lava flowing through ohia forest
Storefronts in historic downtown Hilo on the bay
Fireworks over Hilo Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Judy T
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Zen Tranquility”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The bungalow was just gorgeous. Situated in a very quiet and beautiful neighborhood, it was exquisitely decorated in a lovely Japanese style with lots of attention to detail. Additionally, it was also very warm and inviting - beauty and comfort blended with a feeling of serenity. The week I was there was very rainy with monsoon-like conditions, so I was not able to tour as much as I was expecting, but that turned out to be a plus. I really enjoyed spending quiet time in the beauty, comfort and tranquility of the bungalow and was so glad I had chosen this special place. One of the highlights for me was the Japanese Furo bath, a cylindrical seated tub in which I could soak blissfully as the rains fell. It was heavenly! Sherron and Dave were excellent hosts and every amenity you could want or need were at hand. Whether you are looking for a beautiful, quiet place to return to after a long and active day, or a private, romantic getaway/honeymoon cottage, or for a sweet tranquil space for a tropical retreat , I can highly recommend this lovely bungalow. Mahalo, Sherron & Dave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Aloha Judy,
Thank you for your wonderful review and for your stay at our Zen Bamboo Bungalow. We appreciate your comments and are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you again for another visit. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
star464
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Modern, immaculate, peaceful bungalow”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Immaculate, modern, beautifully decorated, zen like rental, with everything so well organized and provided, for a comfortable stay. Bungalow is in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The surrounding gardens are so beautiful. We enjoyed the colourful sunrises from the upper lanai, while watching the birds. Hilo Farmers Market was huge and had everything at such reasonable prices. We visited the Volcano, Tropical Botanical Garden, Rainbow Falls, and Richardson Beach. Loved sightseeing around the lush Hilo area again. We plan to return soon to this lovely bungalow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, clean, beautifully decorated condo with all required amenities
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Aloha David and Doreen, We appreciate your wonderful review on your stay at our Zen Bamboo Bungalow vacation rental property in Hilo. We are happy that you enjoyed the bungalow, gardens and the amenities we offer to make your stay comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Big Island. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFGoodie
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“True paradise”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have been going to Hilo for years but really have not found a place that truly offered the comfort and cleanliness as the Bungalow. The Bungalow has everything that you could wish for. Sherron and Dave have truly created a getaway destination that is truly unique. The quality of construction, completeness of inventory, amenities, helpfulness, location all add up to make our 4 night stay truly wonderful. The Bungalow is a destination. Staying here was a true gateway that did not require you to leave to enjoy.

We will be back. Thank you Sherron and Dave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many, everything made the stay a real getaway.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2014
Aloha Leland and Wanda, It was a pleasure having you as guests at our Zen Bamboo Bungalow for your stay in Hilo on the the Big Island. Thank you for truly appreciating the unique beauty and comfort of our vacation rental property. We are happy that you found our bungalow getaway and look forward to your return.
Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was beautifully furnished.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Nov 2014
Aloha Felyda and Joe, Thank you for your thoughtful review on our Zen Bamboo Bungalow and gardens. We are touched that you appreciated and enjoyed the peaceful gardens, the beauty of nature and even the coquis calling at night. We look forward to seeing you and your ohana for your next Karate competition.
Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Nov 2014
Aloha Reto and Monica, Most of our guests are from North America, Asia, Australia and Europe, and you are our first guests from Switzerland. Thank you for the excellent rating on our Zen Bamboo Bungalow. We are happy that you enjoyed our accommodations for your holiday stay in Hilo. Please visit us again should you travel to the Big Island of Hawaii in the future. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guangzhou, China
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jul 2014
Aloha Tomi and Greg, Thank you for the wonderful review and for truly appreciating our bungalow property. You are a very nice couple and we enjoyed meeting you and visiting during your stay. We hope to be seeing you again for another surfing adventure on the Big Island. Until then…Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alicia R
San Diego, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven ....an absolutely beautiful place!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My husband and I came to Hilo on our honeymoon. We just loved our stay at the Zen bungalow in Hilo. This place was perfect. The bathroom has a Japanese soaking tub which was quite fabulous! The owners were very accommodating and really thought out all details. They went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. I would highly recommend this place!! Its absolutely stunning and it really felt like home away from home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Aloha Ben and Alicia, Thank you for writing a fabulous review on our Zen Bamboo Bungalow in Hilo. We are happy that your honeymoon stay at the bungalow was perfect for you in every way, and that you enjoyed the romantic Japanese furo bathing experience. We hope you will return to celebrate many special occasions and anniversaries at the bungalow making it your special Hawaii home away from home. Mahalo nui loa, Sherron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing