We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lava tube, great tour, great tour guide”

Kazumura Cave Tours
Ranked #26 of 80 things to do in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Page, AZ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great lava tube, great tour, great tour guide”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

First, as everyone has said, follow directions to get there. It's not a big deal if you do. Second, you need to book through 'mom'. She's a hoot.

That aside, we did the four hour tour. The price is up a bit but is worth every penny. I would do it again. Harry is very knowledgeable and cares very much for the tube environment. That's refreshening to see. The lava tube itself is full of wonder. Make sure you are with a group who move at near the same speed and with similar dexterity as yourself. There is some very basic climbing and some scree rock walking. Not a challenge, but it is there.

This trip is well worth it! Oh, and don't drink lots of coffee before the tour. There are no facilities inside.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pagecarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    7
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must do!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Well worth the price and a must do. We wish we booked the 4 hour tour. We learned a lot from Harry, he is very knowledgable and truly enjoys what he does; Eloise is sweet too!! I took a bunch of pictures that had amazing colors.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another Big Island Gem”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Without repeating the same things other reviewers have mentioned - this was a great experience. Harry was an expert guide and we learned more in two hours than multiple visits to the island.

A few things to recognize:
1) This is a primitive cave, and you will be climbing up/down multiple sturdy ladders and walking on ledges and tight areas. There is even a 5-6' rock face that is climbed with the assistance of a rope. I am not in top physical condition and was challenged and a bit embarrassed -- but other than a few hits to the pride, it was well worth persevering.
2) The tube floor is mostly level, but it is lava - don't expect asphalt or concrete smooth surfaces
3) If you wear sneakers or soft rubber shoes -- the lava will tend to shred them . If you have new shiny $100 sneakers, they won't look so great afterwards (think about what footwear is appropriate)
4) Be prepared to soak up as much science as you can. This is much more about learning than entertainment.
5) Yes, the roads leading to the site are gravel/cinder - so are most secondary roads on the island. Roads are in good shape, and with a volcanic rock base, you're not going to get stuck.

We plan to return with family members on our next trip - and can't wait to do it again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Practicaltraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Tour... a unique thing to do”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very interesting tour. You can do a 2 hour or a 4 hour tour of the caves.

Harry really knows his facts... will go at your own pace, answer all your questions, tell you fun facts.

I recommend this lava cave tour to anyone that likes to learn about the history and science of volcanoes and how this island came to be.

We all put our lights out at one point, just to see what it would be like in complete darkness..... embrace the fear! it was fun. all of your other senses are heightened.

There are some ladders that must be climbed both ways on this adventure.. so be careful.

Make reservations first, and learn you must dress right for this, no shorts or flip flops - wear long pants or jeans and sneakers to grip that lava floor.

Enjoy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Davesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pristine looking cave”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Unlike Thurston lave tube, this cave (also lave tube) looks pristine and has a lot of exciting features!

The guide and cave entrance owner is a witty and very knowledgeable guy.
My wife and I were the only participants and the guide kept us well informed and entertained for hours. The price is reasonable, despite only two of us being on the tour.

There are two versions of the tour in the up-slope direction: short and long (about twice further up). I would highly recommend the longer version which we ended up taking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kazumura Cave Tours also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Kurtistown, Island of Hawaii
 
 

Been to Kazumura Cave Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing