We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Shaved Ice - Ever!”

Wilson's by the Bay
Ranked #7 of 15 Dessert in Hilo
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Shaved Ice - Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Wilson's by the Bay in downtown Hilo is a small "hole in the wall" that serves only shaved ice. After sampling shaved ice on 3 Hawaiian islands, this is the best. The ice is smooth, almost the consistency of ice cream. the syrups are great - not too sweet with great flavor. You get your choice of 3 flavors for the syrup - I had pineapple, coconut and passion fruit. Do not forget the cream topping - it makes the flavors creamy. We have stopped here every day for the last 3 days!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best shave ice on the big island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Seriously the best. Have to get it "with cream" which is a sweetened condensed milk on top. Went to Kona side a few days later, have tried others, and wish we were at Wilson's! None compare

Helpful?
Thank WebbFamilyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too syrupy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We had a child size cone here. It was nit that great. The syrup taste was so strong it mass it not so refreshing. It also made the ice treat feel heavy. I don't think we will go back.

Helpful?
Thank Marhawk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familylovestotravel
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best shave ice ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the look of the building. Great shave ice and very friendly people. Get it with cream on top. This is how shave ice is suppose to be!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank famllylovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Shave Ice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Got to try Shave Ice when you are hot in Hawaii. Wilson's has the BEST (most generous, friendly service, lots of flavor choices). I like Lilikoi, and coconut, sometimes w/ lihing mui sprinkles. Want something different? Have it w/ cream on top or get a delux w/ Ice cream and azuki bean inside. On Mamo St., next to a nice art gallery, and a really good used book store, all just a little walk away from the Bay and Moheau Bandstand, the bus station and Farmers Market. First Friday of the month that section of the street stays open into the evening, w live music, and street theater. Sleepy Hilo can become a little lively.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wilson's by the Bay also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Wilson's by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing