We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further...”
Review of Wild Orchid Tours

Wild Orchid Tours
Ranked #22 of 48 Tours in Hilo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our company specializes in Private Eco tours on the Big Island. We offer our guests ground expeditions in SUV, with up to 7 passengers.Our tours are personal and family oriented, and we are always open to the necessities of our clients.With Wild Orchid Tours you can experience old Hawaii on safe and easy walks, moderate or more vigorous hikes.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 27 January 2016

I am not in the habit of writing reviews but in this instance, I feel compelled to do so!
During our recent visit to Hawaii, we (6 of us ) made a day trip to the Big Island from Oahu. We had booked a half day tour with Wild Orchids and we are glad that we did so.
Mr Lee, our tour guide, gave us the most amazing tour of all the interesting places to visit on the island backed up by his very informative and knowledgeable, non-stop, commentary through out the tour. His passion and love for his work was clearly evident. A person doing repetitive work day in a day out would show some sort of tiredness in his approach but here he was as if this was his first ever tour assignment.

He timed the tour in such a manner that he managed to cover all that we wanted to see, without rushing us thru, in the time we had at our disposal before our helicopter ride in the afternoon.

Needless to say, one needs look no further for an experience of a life time!

Thank Prakash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata W, Owner at Wild Orchid Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

We appreciate the effort you took to write this review. We are very happy to hear you and your family enjoyed our tour! We pride ourselves in offering quality service to our clients, and we are very glad to know of your satisfaction. Mahalo nui loa and all the best, Wild Orchid Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"private tour"
in 7 reviews
"lava tube"
in 6 reviews
"the big island"
in 16 reviews
"lee"
in 44 reviews
"suv"
in 6 reviews
"culture"
in 9 reviews
"knowledge"
in 6 reviews
"stories"
in 4 reviews
"actors"
in 2 reviews
"volcano"
in 12 reviews
"trees"
in 4 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2016

We (family affair 6 of us from 18 to 80) were flying in for the day from Maui. Using TripAdvisor we found Wild Orchid Tours and Lee. Wanting to avoid renting a car and figuring our way around Hilo we decided a guided tour would be the way to go and Lee did not disappoint. From picking us up right on time to dropping us off with a comfortable cushion the entire day cruised by. Lee showed us things that we never would of found on our own, from local beaches with traditional Hawaiin fishing pools (where we found a sea turtle waiting for the tide to go out) to fruit stands, I recommend the coconuts, as well as waterfalls and surf locations you could never find ( not that we surfed but was cool to see where the locals do). Volcanoes National Park was the main reason for our visit and somehow Lee timed it that we ate lunch on a the little stone wall overlooking the Volcanoe. I asked if we were going to see a lava tube and of course Lee had us walk through one. If you want a stress free highly informative as well as fun experience Wild Orchid Tours and Lee is the way to go.

Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata W, Owner at Wild Orchid Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

How wonderful! We are very glad to know that you and your whole family enjoyed a tour with us. We appreciate the details of which you share and the overall satisfaction of your experiences through the day. Mahalo nui loa and all the very best, Wild Orchid Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Best way to experience the island. Lee is very, courteous and professional. This is perfect tour because it's personalized to whatever you want. No loading & unloading with the mass quantities on a typical bus tour. With Lee you see Hilo from a local's perspective and get to see things you wouldn't typically see. Surfing, waterfalls, black sand beaches, volcanos and more! Aloha and Mahalo Lee!

Thank funfromflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata W, Owner at Wild Orchid Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

We are very happy to hear how pleased you were with our tour and services! We pride ourselves most in providing our customers with high, quality service. Thank you so much for sharing your review to let us know your opinion of our company. Mahalo nui loa and all the very best, Wild Orchid Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

Lee is really an amazing Knowledgeable and funny guide, he will take you to a worth it private tour to the main and interesting spots in Hilo. You will not regret it.

Thank Katika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We were in Hawaii in May/June 2015. Part of our 2 weeks in Hawaii was a one week cruse with NCL. We sailed to 4 islands while on this cruise. One of our stops was to Hilo, on the east coast of the Big Island. We had 8 hours available to us when we docked in HIlo. We were interested in seeing black sand beaches, Kilauea volcano and to experience as much of the local life and land as possible in the short time we had there. I would have to say that our 6 hour tour with Wild Orchid Tours was, without question, the best choice we could have made with the limited amount of time we had on the east coast of the Big Island.
Our guide, Lee, was by far the most knowledgeable of all the guides we experienced during our 2 week stay in the Hawaiian Islands including private excursions and those booked through NCL cruise line.
Lee was very friendly, informative and very passionate about the Hawaiian Islands, the land, people and their culture as well as the history and mythology that give their culture such color. He is just down to earth and a very good person with a strong character. He took the extra efforts to make our time with him educational, fun and rewarding. We experienced black sand beaches, Kilauea, lava tubes and a rain forest that took our breath away. He even tool the extra time to make an extra stop at a local ice cream shop to allow our daughter to get macadamia nut ice cream when our regular stop at the macadamia nut factory was very crowded and the wait for ice cream was excessive.
His knowledge allowed us to learn about the land, people and culture far more that we could have learned and experienced on our own. At each of our stops along our journey, he pointed out all the interesting trees, bushes, flowers and was able to tell us a great about them.
One last thing to mention is that this was a private tour, no other tourists, just the four of us and Lee in an SUV tailoring our time as we wanted.
If you are interested in booking a tour seeing Hilo and the east coast of the Big Island, don't look elsewhere...Wild Orchid is the best.

3  Thank Lidia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Orchid Tours also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Wild Orchid Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing