We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilo Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Beautiful hotel! So open and airy, just like a Hawaiian hotel should be. We were the first to stay in a newly renovated room & it was so nice!! Big room with a beautiful view of the water. Wish we could of stayed longer, but had reservations in Kona for the rest of our vacation. The staff was so very nice. Great bar with a fabulous band. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A must to have a renovated room and water side.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PIRATES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,819)
There are newer reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We ended up at this hotel during the US Government shutdown, whilst the Volcanoes National Park was closed. The reception staff were excellent and offered us a displacement rate, of $160 a night, although they had no affiliation with the previous hotel. We were most impressed.

We requested a high floor (8th) and were privy to magnificent views over Hilo Bay and Coconut Island. These rooms all have balconies.

The rooms have recently been refurbished and were comfortable, although the bathrooms are dated.

As a transit hotel it was fine. Located on Banyan Drive, you are across and adjacent to some magnificent Banyan trees planted by Cecil B DeMille, Franklin Roosevelt, Babe Ruth, King George V etc and many famous others. The Japanese Gardens are next door and Coconut Island on the Ocean Side of the Hotel.

The hotel is about 3 minutes in the car to the township.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0nstantlyOnTheG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a newly renovated room on the 6th floor that would compete with any nicer hotel on the mainland. Large room, new furniture, new flat screen TV, comfortable mattress, new carpet and tile, and thick drapes to made the room nice and dark. There was also a small balcony with table and chairs. The room and bathroom were both well cleaned. It is close to the airport and easy to find which is what we wanted since we were arriving in the dark after 8PM and had never been to Hilo before. Parking was no issue. The night we arrived we were able to get a spot right out front of the lobby. Like many buildings in Hawaii it has a beautiful open lobby design. Check-in and check-out were quick and with no issues. Both the lobby and cleaning staff were friendly and pleasant to deal with. Our room had a parking lot view which was fine by us since we were just here to sleep for one night. Check out is noon, which is wonderful as it allows for some morning visiting into Hilo before you have to check out. The hotel is just a short walk from Liliuokalani Gardens and Coconut Island. Without a lot of choices in the area, the price was fine for what we got. Of the true hotels in Hilo, I’d have to say this is the best. If I had known in advance how nice the room and hotel were we would have stayed an extra few days. I’ll definitely stay here next time we visit Hilo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwbroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was a very nice hotel. I arrived on Sunday and discovered they have an all-you-can eat buffet dinner on Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings for $40. It was really good with a huge variety of quality seafood and meat. It seemed to attract a lot of locals. The staff was friendly and helpful.
There's also a breakfast buffet for $18. I could eat enough there to carry through until dinner.
The Wifi cost $10.39. Don't most hotels offer it for free now?
The hotel is right on the beach with a nifty little island and a park to stroll around. There aren't a lot of restaurants within walking distance, though, so I relied on the hotel's restaurant.
Room size was good and the facilities are in good condition. I would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to a friend.
The only bummer was that Volcano National Park was closed because of the government shutdown and I think this hurt the hotel's business. I guess I'll have to go back some day.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the buffet dinners. You won't walk away hungry.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Forehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

First the negative. They really have to fix the error when charging your card for a room upon check out so that people on vacation do not have to stress over any calculation errors. this happened to me twice during my stay there and it put a damper on our trip because we had to wait until the week day to fix it therefore my mom was worried all weekend and didn't rest well. The management did kindly fix the issue promptly and apologized sincerely but did not offer a discount on our room or a free breakfast or something to ease our pain.
Now the positive!!! beautiful rooms, fantastic view, great night time entertainment at the bar, very friendly people and a nice park right across from the hotel. Other than the errors our stay was excellent! the rooms are clean with a fresh smell, beds comfy. My favorite thing is the balcony with table and chairs. I highly recommend ocean view rooms, it's fantastic to wake up to and sit on the balcony to have a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you are staying in Hilo this is the best place. Great views with ocean view rooms, location is convenient, food decent (especially buffets), and next to several world class parks. There are two golf courses nearby with the lowest fees in the state.

The hotel is about 45 minutes from Volcano National Park, and 10 minutes from the Hilo Airport.

Did I mention the great room prices and true-Aloha service?

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamerRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I had read some reviews, either here or on Yelp, a few months ago, when I booked at the HIlo Hawaiian, where i stayed yesterday.

Turns out it was a great place. I had only booked it for a night, as I was heading to Kona the next day but, if I had known how much we'd enjoy it, I would have skewed the trip to stay another night. The room was renovated and great, overlooking the bay. The amenities were excellent. It's not a 5 star property, but I like the non-intrusiveness of it. It's clean, well-run, and central to everything in Hilo.

The breakfast buffet was excellent, the parking was easy, the staff was friendly, and the other guests were interesting. What else could you want?

We hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: No fitness center, in case you were looking for one. Get a room facing the water.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range: £89 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing