We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great renovations to the rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed for business at the hotel. Recent renovations makes a huge difference for business people. Hotel staff accomodating and responsive. Bellmen helpful in loading baggage and boxes in my car. Location centralized for business.
Suggestion: recommend fitness facility for business people.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,818)
There are newer reviews for Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We wanted to stay on the east side of the island while we visited the attractions in the area. Hilo is a depressed area that needs a facelift, including the local hotels. This hotel was the best that we could find and was pretty mediocre. The rooms are pretty nice on the inside and have obviously been refurbished. The walls are paper thin so you can literally hear everything that goes down the hallway at all hours of the night. The rest of the hotel needs some sprucing up. We ate in the hotel restaurant, which had horrible service. There were not many people in the restaurant yet we could not get served. Even trying to get a cup of tea seemed to be beyond what the wait staff could provide. The food itself was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Hilo and this was the place to stay according to tripadvisor. Lovely room, quiet and great location. Free wifi only in lobby. Didn't eat in the hotel.

Short walk over the lovely gardens to Hilo Bay Cafe is the best place to eat (no breakfast). Also ate at Cafe Pesto. Had trouble finding any breakfast place open on Sunday, but eventually found Bears Coffee ( which did have great coffee).

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Morphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

very hospitable staff, makes coming in from work very pleasant after a long day at work on island. The parking could use some help, seemed to always be filled and with large work tools may be difficult

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1PauQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We have staid for 2 nights there and were rather dissapointed. Hotel is located in the beautiful park and in front of the bay with wonderful view. Unfortunately it's old and requires redesign and refurbishment. Our room was supposed to be the one that had been refurbished. Perhaps it had but it was done very poorly. There is a strange smell over the place and the atmosphere is like horror movie. Hilo gets 300 rainy days in a year and this hotel reflects that very well. It's a pity because it could have been a pleasent escape from the rain.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lukasz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed at the Castle Hilo Hawaiian on a business trip to Hilo. The room was clean, quiet and nice. Most important to me was the bed was good quality as I needed a good nights sleep to be ready for work. My only issue, and I admit this is minor, is that the TV was too small and the cable channels were very limited. Also, you have to pay for an inter-net connection in your room. There is a daily or weekly rate. However, the hotel parking is free and there is plenty to go around. I enjoyed taking a walks in the park that surrounds the hotel and its a great place to relax at the end of the day. Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikey_Velvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Although at convention rates, we got a deluxe ocean view room with mini fridge for $125 plus tax/night. It's on Banyon Drive which is covered with old growth Banyon trees which canopy the street below. Within walking distance from the Liliuokalani Gardens and the Waiakea Pond, both exceptionally beautiful and peaceful parks. The maid service was great. It's an easy shuttle to the airport or the cruise terminal (you can see the ships arrive from your patio seating). The staff was a exceptionally attentive and cheerful. The beds were comfortable. We had a banquet buffet, which is often dry or limited at hotels, however, we found the food great, a good variety, and plentiful (including a great coconut cake)! Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The ocean view was definitely worth the minimal extra cost with a view overlooking the Coconut Islan...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lightofpamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range: £88 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing