We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff and Ideal vacation hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Honolulu
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff and Ideal vacation hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for a weekend getaway in April. We were in Hilo
for an event And Quickly appreciated our Hotels location. We
learned they have a seafood buffet Right in the lobby restaurant
The Queens Court and great selection .

There's also Waioli lounge in the lobby for Cocktails and entertainment.

Rooms are comfortable, we had street side view and will take
oceanview on our next stay.

Oceanview is absolutely beautiful!! Parking is free and standard
rooms are great and Decent for couples. Rooms have compact
fridge, and coffee maker. Amenities wihich May be standard for
other rooms need to be requested at the front desk and they will
Have them brought up to your room . I requested a hair and iron.
It was delv. to our room promptly, and at no charge.

Great , beautiful Liliuokalani Gardens next door, other eateries nearby
and coffee stops.

Central area And only a few minutes away from the Hilo Int'l Airport.

Highly recommended, very calming , and beautiful area to stay.

Room Tip: Oceanview recommended, beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    686
    552
    134
    51
See reviews for
487
696
78
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nicely renovated and updated room. A very pleasant 2 night stay. Location is very convenient with pleasant surroundings. We had a lovely oceanfront view. Lounge was entertaining, lots of local patrons and a live band.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJFDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
172 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is older and somewhat dated, but it's pretty comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful - lots of variety, even for vegetarians. It would have been nice if the pineapple was local and fresh, but it wasn't. Wi-fi in the rooms was NOT included, which is ridiculous, but it's free in the lobby. Great location, and good views of Hilo Bay. The Gardens next door were very pretty, great for an evening stroll, but I wanted to bring home all the stray cats, of which I counted about 30. Great location, so would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Hilo Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We've been visiting this hotel since 1991 and were pleased to see the updated modern decor plus use the free wi-fi in the lobby and lounge areas. We stayed for three nights in an oceanfront view room and had great views of Mauna Kea on a clear day. In fact, we could even see the observatories from our balcony. I always do laundry before coming home and was surprised to see that the washer and dryers haven't been updated to more efficient ones. Maybe those will be replaced in the near future. We enjoyed our stay and will return in a future trip.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront view room so you can enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great location in Hilo. Staff is very nice and accommodating! They even made sure the Braves game was on for me! :D Walls were a little thin and you can hear people in the next room. No big deal though. I will certainly return and stay at the Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dj-dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, TX
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed one night on a trip around the Big Island. The front desk and the bartender were very helpful in providing info for our foray into Hilo. The Merrie Monarch festival was just getting started, but we were too early for the good competition and too late to get tickets for the best. The hotel room was large with a king bed, small refer, but no hair dryer. One was supplied when we called. The room was clean with a balcony overlooking the parking area. The only drawback was the noise from the birds and frogs at night!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My son and I stayed here for 6 wonderful days. This hotel is a lovely hotel. It's very large. The staff is awesome! I stayed here for 6 nights on the 3rd morning I had an issue with my remote not working on the T.V. the staff was all over getting it fixed. The housekeeping staff is over the top good! The sheets were crisp the towels were not worn or tattered. It's a simple choice. This is not a big name hotel nor is it a chain which can call upon huge advertising funds. We used this hotel as a base camp for trips all over the island. They have onsite laundry which I got a lot of use out of. This hotel is safe and in a safe neighborhood. I have traveled all over with my children and consider safety a top priority when picking a hotel, I had no issues and let my son go and come as he wanted to..Safe, Clean, Great Location. The choice is clear leave the big resorts sitting in the desert come to Hilo and connect with the real people of Hawaii. Love the Castle Hilo Resort!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CoalMiner74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
60.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
55.1 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Property: Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing