We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid range hotel on Hilo side.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were there for the Disabled American Veteran's convention. We had previously held the convention at the Naniloa hotel. (Do not ever stay there) There are a few hotels in Hilo- some cheaper like a motel set up that the locals like for family get togethers - REALLY budget type. The Hilo Hawaiian is the most well run of the pricer places in Hilo side- and the locals like the seafood buffet they have once a week. The food is pretty good. The ocean scenery is great for Hilo side. There is the coconut island with a bridge to it next to the hotel and the Liliokalani gardens with ponds and small bridges that even the locals come to picnic at. The locals like to fish off of the seawalls also and the kids and teens and families swim on the different sides of the small peninsula. There are numerous restaurants in walking distance also- Japanese, a 24 hour pancake house (great local food and breakfast food -it is always busy and one of my favorite places to eat when i am in Hilo- not fancy but good eats for locals), plate lunches places, etc. Some of the smaller food places come and go like the coffee and pastries or the Thai food, etc. If you are willing to walk - you can even stroll to downtown Hilo (if you are into walking) and the farmers market is great and you can get pastries and local snacks and fresh hawaiian honey or fresh home grown coffee or fresh home grown tea leaf (multiple types of teas) and Hawaiian chocolate some times and hawaiian macadamia nuts also. Lots of different flowers and exotic fruits and vegetables that the locals are buying also because the produce is cheaper than all the stores. Some great restaurants near there also. There are lots of nice beaches - lots of different types= some for swimming and some for fishing and some for gathering shells- and you have to look in the travel books - because i am not going to tell you my favorite small beaches- because then they will be over run and ruined. But on Hilo side there are lots of tiny beaches down small side streets or public access to beaches (it is a requirement in the state for public access because all beaches are public and there are no private beaches below the high water line- except military or preservation)- like where the large sea wall is joined to the beach. I really enjoyed living there for 20 years. And every week we would drive into Hilo and try to get a plate lunch and hit one of the small beaches for a break. Hilo is my favorite town in the state because of the laid back places to go that you do not find in places like Honolulu any more- and I grew up in the this state.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very nice room, with a balcony directly overlooking all the banyan trees and the sea. Beautiful. Very close to Hilo Airport for out helicopter trip over the lava. Also in the evening we were treated to several sea turtles swimming right up to the shore, feeding off algae on the rocks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petec84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest:

Aloha! Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. It was a pleasure having you with us and I do hope you visit us again during your next trip to the islands.

Thanks again...

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel was good to stay at. Rooms and lobby have been updated. Comfortable beds, clean room, and a great view, which is mostly what matters. We booked through Pleasant Holidays, and this was the only hotel option in Hilo, I believe. I think the hotel could benefit from updating the hallways (you can tell this used to be more like a motel) and doors to the rooms/bathrooms, which seem industrial and more like old closet doors. Also, there should be a fan in the bathroom, because some mold is starting at the top of the bathroom walls. I overheard business travelers talking in the elevator, saying this hotel is much better than it used to be. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank happytraveler03_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest:

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We really do appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our product for all of our valued guests like you. Please take care and I hope you will consider us on your next visit to the islands.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Although I was there for business, I would return to this hotel if I was visiting Hilo for pleasure. It's located adjacent to the small yet beautiful Liliuokalani Gardens. As for food, they offered $10 off the buffet. If you just want an appetizer, then you must try the shrimp and scallops from the Queens restaurant. Delicious! This location is very close to "downtown" Hilo.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for a weekend getaway in April. We were in Hilo
for an event And Quickly appreciated our Hotels location. We
learned they have a seafood buffet Right in the lobby restaurant
The Queens Court and great selection .

There's also Waioli lounge in the lobby for Cocktails and entertainment.

Rooms are comfortable, we had street side view and will take
oceanview on our next stay.

Oceanview is absolutely beautiful!! Parking is free and standard
rooms are great and Decent for couples. Rooms have compact
fridge, and coffee maker. Amenities wihich May be standard for
other rooms need to be requested at the front desk and they will
Have them brought up to your room . I requested a hair and iron.
It was delv. to our room promptly, and at no charge.

Great , beautiful Liliuokalani Gardens next door, other eateries nearby
and coffee stops.

Central area And only a few minutes away from the Hilo Int'l Airport.

Highly recommended, very calming , and beautiful area to stay.

Room Tip: Oceanview recommended, beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nicely renovated and updated room. A very pleasant 2 night stay. Location is very convenient with pleasant surroundings. We had a lovely oceanfront view. Lounge was entertaining, lots of local patrons and a live band.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJFDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is older and somewhat dated, but it's pretty comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful - lots of variety, even for vegetarians. It would have been nice if the pineapple was local and fresh, but it wasn't. Wi-fi in the rooms was NOT included, which is ridiculous, but it's free in the lobby. Great location, and good views of Hilo Bay. The Gardens next door were very pretty, great for an evening stroll, but I wanted to bring home all the stray cats, of which I counted about 30. Great location, so would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Hilo Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
570 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
418 reviews
60.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
60.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range: £87 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing