We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Hilo and Puna Areas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Hilo and Puna Areas”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Recent soft updates to the rooms make this a very attractive hotel when staying on the eastern side of the island. There is absolutely no better view than that of Hilo and Mauna Kea from the bay side. Puna district and Volcano are short drives (30-45 minutes), so it's a great central location. No parking or other hidden charges.

Room Tip: The bay/ocean side is a little more expensive but well worth it from an upper floor. Avoid being po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresEscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    725
    570
    138
    52
See reviews for
522
737
81
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was delighted with my room!! It had a balcony looking out over the bay and beyond so that I could see not only the volcano but the ocean as well. It was very well appointed with all the essentials and had an ample sized shelf in the bathroom on which to put everything without crowding which I appreciated. It's well situated for taking walks out to a small island or down the street to a major town garden. I even took a long walk up to the Big Island Candy Factory. That was worth the trip but I took a taxi back to the hotel!! The dining room was very convenient for a great breakfast buffet. I found the front desk staff especially helpful and friendly. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would happily stay there the next time I'm in Hilo.

Room Tip: Ask to have one overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mislerbrunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Aloha! Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will share your thoughts with our staff.

Please take care...

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Hilo does not have very Hotels to choose from. I think this is the best one for high quality standards. You can save a few dollars going other places but we found that we were very happy at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinole, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were there for the Disabled American Veteran's convention. We had previously held the convention at the Naniloa hotel. (Do not ever stay there) There are a few hotels in Hilo- some cheaper like a motel set up that the locals like for family get togethers - REALLY budget type. The Hilo Hawaiian is the most well run of the pricer places in Hilo side- and the locals like the seafood buffet they have once a week. The food is pretty good. The ocean scenery is great for Hilo side. There is the coconut island with a bridge to it next to the hotel and the Liliokalani gardens with ponds and small bridges that even the locals come to picnic at. The locals like to fish off of the seawalls also and the kids and teens and families swim on the different sides of the small peninsula. There are numerous restaurants in walking distance also- Japanese, a 24 hour pancake house (great local food and breakfast food -it is always busy and one of my favorite places to eat when i am in Hilo- not fancy but good eats for locals), plate lunches places, etc. Some of the smaller food places come and go like the coffee and pastries or the Thai food, etc. If you are willing to walk - you can even stroll to downtown Hilo (if you are into walking) and the farmers market is great and you can get pastries and local snacks and fresh hawaiian honey or fresh home grown coffee or fresh home grown tea leaf (multiple types of teas) and Hawaiian chocolate some times and hawaiian macadamia nuts also. Lots of different flowers and exotic fruits and vegetables that the locals are buying also because the produce is cheaper than all the stores. Some great restaurants near there also. There are lots of nice beaches - lots of different types= some for swimming and some for fishing and some for gathering shells- and you have to look in the travel books - because i am not going to tell you my favorite small beaches- because then they will be over run and ruined. But on Hilo side there are lots of tiny beaches down small side streets or public access to beaches (it is a requirement in the state for public access because all beaches are public and there are no private beaches below the high water line- except military or preservation)- like where the large sea wall is joined to the beach. I really enjoyed living there for 20 years. And every week we would drive into Hilo and try to get a plate lunch and hit one of the small beaches for a break. Hilo is my favorite town in the state because of the laid back places to go that you do not find in places like Honolulu any more- and I grew up in the this state.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very nice room, with a balcony directly overlooking all the banyan trees and the sea. Beautiful. Very close to Hilo Airport for out helicopter trip over the lava. Also in the evening we were treated to several sea turtles swimming right up to the shore, feeding off algae on the rocks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petec84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Aloha! Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel. It was a pleasure having you with us and I do hope you visit us again during your next trip to the islands.

Thanks again...

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel was good to stay at. Rooms and lobby have been updated. Comfortable beds, clean room, and a great view, which is mostly what matters. We booked through Pleasant Holidays, and this was the only hotel option in Hilo, I believe. I think the hotel could benefit from updating the hallways (you can tell this used to be more like a motel) and doors to the rooms/bathrooms, which seem industrial and more like old closet doors. Also, there should be a fan in the bathroom, because some mold is starting at the top of the bathroom walls. I overheard business travelers talking in the elevator, saying this hotel is much better than it used to be. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank happytraveler03_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We really do appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our product for all of our valued guests like you. Please take care and I hope you will consider us on your next visit to the islands.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Although I was there for business, I would return to this hotel if I was visiting Hilo for pleasure. It's located adjacent to the small yet beautiful Liliuokalani Gardens. As for food, they offered $10 off the buffet. If you just want an appetizer, then you must try the shrimp and scallops from the Queens restaurant. Delicious! This location is very close to "downtown" Hilo.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
60.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Property: Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing