We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel on the east side of the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Trafford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel on the east side of the island”
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Even at a two star rating, I think this is fine hotel. In fact, I'm surprised it's not a 3 star. Food was good and reasonable for the area. Tours and trips can be arranged in the lobby from a dedicated booth, I paid an extra $10 for a room that overlooks the bay, and actually thought it was worth the money. My only beef is that the internet is a bit pricy ($10 for one day, or $40 for a week) and the in-room coffee is $2 a day after the first day free. There are a lot of places next to this one, I thought this hotel was better than them all.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFT_from_Pittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    723
    570
    138
    52
See reviews for
520
736
81
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

This is an older hotel, which needs updating to get 4 stars. It is clean, and the staff is very nice. The bed was fairly comfortable. The room had a mini-refrig, which is always nice. The TV was old, small, and located on the SIDE of the bed, which made viewing difficult for both partners. We got a very good price, so for one night, and for the money, I thought it was fine for our needs. I would not want to spend my whole vacation at this property.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zilphap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

I have recently been back to the islands with the family and this time decided on going to Hilo to see the Volcano Park. After extensive rearch, I found that the only gig in town was the Hilo Hawaiian; all of the other hotels I researched had consistently poor reviews whereby the reviews of the Hilo Hawaiian were mostly positive.

Let me tell you; listen to the good reviews. The hotel sits on one of the most beautiul piece of land in the area with stunning views of Hilo Bay. The landscaping compliments these views and for $135 a night, the views alone are worth the cost.

I will admit that we found the property somewhat tired however, the cleanliness is on par with a hospital operating room. I can say this b/c I once ran a cleaning crew when I was younger and the attention to detail in all areas of the hotel far exceeded our expecations.

The rooms were fine; even though they were dated as well, they were very clean and well maintained. I noticed a TA Member complained about charges for extra tea and coffee in the room; we thought there was more than enough for two cups each. Water pressure was great and I know I keep saying this but the view was tremendous overlooking the water.

OK - also, I must commend the staff for being really friendly in a real sorta way; unlike other hotels where you know people are fake. I could tell that the hotel is filled with good people; especially the GM Daryle and his assistant GM Francis who we met in the lobby; we could not get over how much they wanted to accommodate our family. My wife thought they were totally cool and suggest that francis grow a mustache like daryle!

Oh, and the other areas of the property like the restaurant (tired, but great food, service, and bands!) the lounge (great Mai Tai drinks overlooking the water and band), and btw, not sure what was going on but there was this space they were renovating, maybe 5000 square feet, that looked brand new; meeting area possibly; hope it extends to other areas of the hotel.

Anyway, folks, this is Hilo - one of the rainiest parts of the country but also in the most green areas of the islands. The folks who travel here are here to see some of the most spectacular landscape in the world and not for a luxury hotel. This is why we gave this property 5-stars b/c for the cost, experience, and view......it was a superb value that is well worth your time and money for a couple of nights; a truely hawaiian experience!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr.RideDaWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana City, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

This hotel has a very nice lobby, clean rooms, wonderful staff overall. The best part of it other than being nice and clean is the location, it is surronded by beauty. We loved this place. Pay the extra and get oceanfront, Well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akmoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We have been at this Hotel because we got a recommendation. Unfortunately, we don't agree at all. This hotel is totally overprized for what you get. The rooms and furniture are extremely old and our first thought when we saw it was to leave again. And they charge everything, internet access is extremely pricy, even when you bring you own laptop. You even have to buy new coffee and tea when the one in the room is consumed. Ice machines are only on every second floor und de service is the worst we had on all our trips so far.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miicha_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concerned_HI_Manager, Manager at Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2009
Dear Valued Guest and Viewers:

Aloha! I would like to apologize for your unfortunate experience during your recent stay at the Hilo Hawaiian Hotel.

Let me address your concerns. We provide complimentary coffee (both regular and decaffeinated), tea, and the condiments that go along with your first cofee with us. For a small fee of $2.00 you may purchase more of the same from our friendly front desk agents. We do provide internet access by connecting to our cable provider for a fee of $9.95 for a 24 hour period in the privacy of your own room.

Although our hotel is 34 years old, we are the newest of the hotels in Hilo. Our Owners have made a commitment to improve the hotel experience and have started their refreshing plan by investing over a quarter of a million dollars in the common area restrooms, banquet, and foyer areas. We have just completed installing a new guest room key card entry system and currently we are working on a refreshment plan for the guest rooms which I'm sure you'll all enjoy real soon.

Again my apologies for failing to meet and exceed our guest's expectations. Even during these very difficult economic times our Owners are committed in providing an improved product for all of you. Hope to see all of you soon.

Take care and always live aloha.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hilo hotels

Northern California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

You can't beat the location on Hilo Bay. Beautiful views from the waterside rooms. This hotel is sort of stuck in a time warp, but so is Hilo, and it is refreshing in a lot of ways.

Yes, they still use actual keys for the room door locks, and okay, the furniture is somewhat dated, but it was laid back and cozy. The room was clean, had a mini fridge (had to turn it on) and a good choice of TV channels even if it was a smaller non-flat screen TV.

Staff was friendly enough, and this hotel makes a good home base for exploring this side of the Big Island and Hawaii Volcanos National Park.

Parking was a bit tight one night when I came home as there was a wedding or some event in the hotel that night but I found a spot. Tip: If it is raining, park underground and walk into the hotel from the basement level. Tip: If you don't like rain, don't come to Hilo - it is the wettest city in the USA!

I really had no problems with my stay here. It was so different from Waikiki Beach before this stop but different can be a good thing.

Very friendly bartender and some good munchies for happy hour (where locals visit also).

If you want to be pampered in a resort, then this is not the place for you. As a matter of fact, Hilo is not the place for you if that is the case.

But if you want a decent hotel with AMAZING water views with private lanais, you will be fine here.

While I was there they were redoing the flooring on the basement level with some nice stone work and some painting on that level also. I think they are starting a refurbishment on the hotel and with such an incredible and beautiful location, they can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rush2112CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2009

It wasn't too difficult to settle on this hotel after stopping first at "Uncle Billy's", next door, which looked like a total dump. The staff at the desk were more than accomodating. We hadn't made reservations for our one night stay. That really didn't matter, as the hotel seemed far from full, except for the three bus loads of Japanese tourists. We had a wonderful view of the harbor from our 5th floor room. The facility was clean and the beds were quite comfortable.
During breakfast the next morning my wife ordered some sort of egg concoction which she was unable to eat because of the foul odor emanating from moldy cheese mixed with the eggs. The waiter apologized profusely and offered to replace the breakfast. As we were pressed for time we declined the offer. We were then "comped" my wife's breakfast and given a discount on mine. The problem with the cheese notwithstanding, my breakfast was fine and the wait staff was absolutely terrific. We would stay here again. The price is right and the view on the oceanside is a joy to behold. There is also apparently some significant remodeling going on at the present time.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myronhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
60.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
52.6 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
60.5 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel

Property: Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Address: 71 Banyan Drive, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4693
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel, Hilo's best full-service hotel, offers outstanding views of the ocean or quaint Hilo Town framed by the backdrop of Mauna Kea. Located on Hilo Bay, and approximately two miles from Hilo Airport, Hilo Hawaiian Hotel is the perfect headquarters for exploring the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Enjoy incredible views of Mauna Kea, Hilo Town, and beautiful and historic Coconut Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing