We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite of Hilo area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
maryland, usa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Favorite of Hilo area”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This B and B is now my favorite in Hilo as we've stayed at hotels and other B and Bs over the years for comparison. It's located out of Hilo a couple of miles right on the water, up on a cliff. So much fun to watch the Bay from a distance, view the fishing boats out on the water, the tugs pulling tankers across the Bay, planes coming in for landing at Hilo, and even Hawaiian Spinner Dolphins cavorting.

The rooms are spacious, clean, and guests seems to observe a quiet demeanor when required. Each room faces due East, so the sunrise greets each morning. The establishment reflects the authentic quality of Hilo itself, with nothing glitzy or flashy, but true hospitality. Breakfasts are up one level on the lanai with another great view. They are delicious, plentiful---and it's a delight to meet other guests there at a large communal table.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    64
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
21
178
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Be advised that in my review, I am not comparing this B& B experience with our experiences at self contained resorts. For example, on Maui our favorites are, in no particular order, Grand Wailea, Sheraton, Hyatt, Kea Lani, Westin, Marriott, KBH, Ritz. Even the Maui resorts I listed are different. Most likely, B&Bʻs are all different and there might be other B&Bʻs that you might like better for your own reasons.

This was our first experience with a B&B. This was also our first time in Hilo. We usually go to Maui or to the Kona side of Moku Nui (Big Island) several times a year. Therefore, I cannot make comparisons to other B&Bʻs. We didnʻt know what to expect from a B&B but thought it was going to be like being a guest in somoneʻs house but it turns out we were more like ʻohana (family).

Ric and Maria are very hoʻokipa (hospitable) and gave much aloha. Even the other guests gave a lot of aloha. Ric and Maria and the other guests were a wealth of infomation and stories. Staying at this B&B was one of the memorable highlights of our trip.

You may not like having ʻaina kakahiaka (breakfast) with other guests but in our experience the other guests were like ʻohana. The sharing of stories and experiences was a great time for all. We eagerly looked forward to Mariaʻs great breakfasts and discussion with the other guests every morning. Leʻaleʻa loa (great fun)!

Even though it is the end or past whale season, we managed to see several whales. Ric and the other guests said they could easily see a lot of whales, calves and dolphins during whale season. I know you can see easily see them on Maui but it sounded like the whales were much closer and there were many more to be seen from Ric and Mariaʻs lānai and the other guests said the same about seeing a lot of whales and dolphins. Weʻll definitely be going back during whale season.

The only negative experience was the sound of the coqui frogs. We first heard the coqui frogs when we got to the Hilo aiport at night and thought they were birds. However, we were used to the coqui sound the first night and found them almost as soothing (or as distracting) as the waves crashing aginst the pali (cliffs) not far away.

For us, the B&B experience is completely different than the resorts. Weʻll definitely come back to Hale Kai whenever we stay in Hilo but now we want to try B&Bʻs on the other islands because the experience here was excellent.

If you are expecting a resort experience, go to a resort.

We give five stars in all categories (except fitness center-there isnʻt one, go to a resort).

Mālama pono a me maikaʻi mau puni hele, Kahiau and Maleka

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kahiaukupaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We has the pleasure of staying two nights in March 2013. The B&B is well-situated, every room has a lanai with a sweeping ocean view (but as others have mentioned, the driveway can pose a bit of a challenge). The owners were always pleasant to interact with and offered good tips for dining and sight-seeing in the area. Breakfast was excellent, and was served communally on their upstairs deck, providing a great opportunity for whale watching and comparing notes with the other guests. Furniture and fixtures were a little dated, and the rooms could be due for a facelift, but for the views and the company, Hale Kai can't be beat.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jescowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Nice ocean-front room where I've seen sunset & sunrise and spotted whales in the distance for a number of times. The B&B is only a short drive from the airport, downtown, Walmart, Macy's, rainbow falls, and botanic gardens. Nice breakfast. Bed was extremely comfortable. The only downside was that the prize was a bit too high considering the room & service provided. I didn't see a/c available and the wooden sliding door of my room was very hard to be opened. The room probably should be renovated coz things looked a bit old.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cozy0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in February. It's pretty easy to find, just off the main highway. It was only about 5 minutes away from downtown Hilo where there was shopping and restaurants.

We stayed in the Heritage Room. The shower was really nice! And the room was a good size with a tv. There is a little common room area with a fridge as well to store anything, and a table in front of each room where you could sit and enjoy the view. The bed was comfortable. It was quite warm though, a/c or more fans would be nice. The frogs didn't keep us up- I kind of liked the noise. We used the pool as well, it was nice to take a dip and watch the whales in the ocean.

The views were amazing!! So beautiful- the sunrises were gorgeous. Come during whale season- I think at one point I could see about 10 different air spouts at once from our patio table. And the cruise ships come in in the morning right in front, so that was fun to watch as well. The breakfast was really good- you sit with the other guests. They have so much fruit in Hawaii, so you get a good variety- it was pretty tasty.

The driveway is pretty funky- it's steep and a little hard to get in and out of, but we managed fine. There are a lot of stairs to get down to the rooms, so if you can't handle stairs and your luggage, beware.

We'd stay here again!

Room Tip: all 4 are nice, you can't go wrong
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hilary4613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed in Hilo for sightseeing mountains, volcano and other. Owners were friendly and helpful. Food was good. We had breakfast with other travellers on the deck outside over looking the water. We would see whales while eating breakfast at times. We stayed in Moana Room for 3 nights. The location was quiet. We did not have trouble sleeping from frogs whistling at night. The only downside would be if you had hard time walking up and down some stairs to get to room. If not, great place to stay. Personally, preferred the B & B's we stayed at in Hawaii over the hotels. More cozy and quaint environment.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole_smurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We came to Hilo to spend the night as we were going for a helicopter tour first thing in the morning. Upon arrival were surprised by the amount of stairs. My aunt has difficulty with stairs and uneven surfaces, maybe think twice about this location if this is an issue for anyone in your party as there are many stairs to get to the back of the property where the rooms are, then many stairs to get up to the rooms. We were told what time breakfast would be served and when we explained we had to leave by 7:45 a.m. to leave for our tour, which was earlier than the stated breakfast time, he didn't seem able to accommodate us, although later he said he could leave a plate of fruit in the fridge for us, which he did and it was lovely. Beds were ok, for my mother and aunt, I woke up stiff all over. Pool was dirty, I definitely would not have swam in it.
This place does have a million dollar view, but as far as accommodation and service, I will give it a pass next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerls50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
2.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast
Address: 111 Honolii Pl, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront accommodations with a spectacular, panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and Hilo Bay. Enjoy a delicious breakfast while watching surfers, dolphins, and seasonal humpback whales. Relax in the evening to the sound of the surf. Four oceanfront rooms available, each with private bathroom, free WiFi, cable TV, fresh flowers, lanai, and access to pool and hot tub. Quiet, peaceful location 2 miles north of Hilo Town, just 10 minutes to the airport. Smoke-free property. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai Hawaii Hotel Hilo
Hale Kai Hawaii b&b
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing