We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful view, and whales, too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful view, and whales, too”
Reviewed 21 March 2005

What a location! We stayed 14 nights and found it hard to leave. You're above the surfers on Honoli'i black sand beach with a great view of Hilo Bay.

1. The surfers entertain you from dawn to dusk, their numbers depending on the size of the waves.

2. The overall view is spectacular. We particularly enjoyed the cruise ships entering Hilo and departing at night lit up like gargantaun theme park rides.

3. The whales! O.K., they're seasonal, but when they're around they can disrupt the day's plans with their spouting, breaching, and tail slaps. If relaxing is part of the agenda, this is the place to do it.

Breakfasts are wonderful, and for other dining, hosts Ric and Maria know the local restaurants, some rather difficult to locate in the offset streets of Hilo, but well worth finding.

We liked Hilo a lot. We found the description in "Hawaii the Big Island Revealed," page 107, to be much too harsh. True, the town is ambivalent to tourists; for example, the Naha stone at the public library has no sign on it. If you don't know what it is, it's just a big block of black rock.

For the volcanoes, Puna district, or the Hamakua coast, Hale Kai B & B is an excellent place to start and return.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    64
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
21
178
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 March 2005

We are B&B lovers and this experience taught us that you do not need Italian linen, marble bathtubs and lace duvets to have a truly wonderful vacation. It took us all of about 30 seconds to leave the mainland mentality behind and immerse ourselves in Hilo charm. Ric and Maria are two of the most gracious hosts to be found at ANY B&B. Each morning we sat on the lani and eagerly awaited for Maria's menu to be anounced - each and every selection at breakfast was well thought out and presented us with a wide variety of fruits, meats, and eggs (the macadamia nut waffles...to die for!) We also loved the international mix of new friends to share the familly style breakfast with each morning.
Each morning Ric would offer his knowledge of the Island to ensure that each guest recieved a tailor made tour for the day.
After staying on both the Hilo and the Kona side of the Island - Hilo has a very gentle way of knudging you and saying, "relax and breath, you can live without Starbucks, roomservice and Italian linen."
We felt the need to rate this B&B "above average" not for the structure itself, but for the view and the charming hosts that come with it!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 February 2005

Beautiful location and view. But... Rundown rooms, very much in need of renovation. Dangerous exterior steps; elderly/disabled people should avoid. Also, not even minimal rooom cleaning (they just dumped the trash the second day) and didn't even bother making the beds or changing the towels. The breakfast was merely OK, nice fruit, very heavy waffles, and some greasy sausage. They even asked us to clear our own dishes from the table! Not recommmended at $135/night. Parking was also the pits. If it wasn't for the view and location I would give it the lowest rating.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 January 2005

The best place in all of Hawaii. View is great breakfast is great, and it is very reasonably priced, also the hosts are the nicest and most helpful people on the island. Great place to stay!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2005

Just back from our trip. We stayed 6 nights there. This must be one of the best views of the ocean available in Hilo. We slept with the windows open to let the noise of the waves get us to sleep.
The hosts are very nice and breakfast is delicious, for example, a boat made out of papaya filled with tropical fruits and topped with vanilla yogurt, followed by a preparation of eggs, onion and some purtugese meat, accompanied with fruit juice and delicious coffee.
Do not be afraid of asking the hosts for recommendations on anythings from the best places to snorkel to the volcano sights.
While we are talking about the volcano, this is a good location to stay when visiting the national park, you are about 45 minutes from the park, but down where the weather is warmer. We stayed for 6 days so we were able to combine volcano days with other sights (do not miss the champagne pond - page 114 in Hawaii The Big Island Revealed, an excellent unbiased book).
Back to the review - there is a small shared refrigerator and a microwave, so you do not have to go out for dinner every night.
We will be back there if (when) we go to Hilo again.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank adar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2004

stayed 3 nites, nov 20-22, spacious moana room, ocean right out the door, waves lull you to sleep, we swan in the pool and used the hot tub each AM, before 8 am breakfast that was really good, such as macadamia waffles, or a fritatta, always lots of fresh tropical fruits, kona coffee, and helpful hosts, we watched the surfers next door each AM too. great place ,and about 10 min drive from old hilo/downtown.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 September 2004

We spent 3 days at the Hale Kai Hawaii from Sept 5-8, 2004 and loved everything about it. The location is very convenient to most of the sites on the east side of the island including Volcano National Park, which is only 35 minutes away. Ric is very knowledgeable about the area and provided great advice including what Big Island guidebook to purchase, where to go for dinner, the “must sees” on both sides of the island and where to get the best price on souvenirs. There is no question that Maria and Ric take pride in their business. No detail was left out and the breakfasts were truly gourmet. We enjoyed generous servings of fresh tropical fruit every morning along with fresh coffee, tea, tropical fruit juices, papaya or taro french toast or portabello mushroom scrabbled eggs, or a fritatta, served with a fresh baked macadamia nut and mango muffin or a papaya scone. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and you will not leave the table hungry. We stayed in the Moana room, which was clean, private and spacious. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the ceiling fan and ocean breeze kept the room cool. If you’re not a morning person, the room was equipped with room-darkening vertical blinds that kept the early morning sun out. Each room has a semi-private balcony with your own patio table and chairs that came in handy when it came time to write postcards. There is also a hot tub and a pool available for use. The rooms all face the ocean and have unbeatable views. We were lucky enough to watch dolphins at play while we were eating breakfast and enjoying our morning coffee. We really enjoyed visiting with the other guests during breakfast. During our trip to the Big Island, we also stayed at the Hapuna Beach resort and at a condo in Kailua-Kona and our favorite, by far, was the Hale Kai Hawaii B&B.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
23.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast
Address: 111 Honolii Pl, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront accommodations with a spectacular, panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and Hilo Bay. Enjoy a delicious breakfast while watching surfers, dolphins, and seasonal humpback whales. Relax in the evening to the sound of the surf. Four oceanfront rooms available, each with private bathroom, free WiFi, cable TV, fresh flowers, lanai, and access to pool and hot tub. Quiet, peaceful location 2 miles north of Hilo Town, just 10 minutes to the airport. Smoke-free property. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai Hawaii Hotel Hilo
Hale Kai Hawaii b&b
Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing