We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
211
69
18
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
69
18
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspele suitebamboo roomheritage roomother guestshot tubthe big islandeach morningbreakfasts were excellentgreat hostsfrench toastbreakfast is servedhighly recommend this b bthree nightsgreat coffeeocean viewlocal fruitgreat tips
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Another comfy stay in the Bamboo Room! Ric and Maria make us feel welcome and at home. Tell them what you're looking for, and listen to their advice. They told us about the Makua'a farmers market, and for a morning, we felt like we were part of the Hilo community :)

They told us about a hike to Onomea Bay, and we felt privy to a secret gem of the area.

The breakfasts are marvelous.

The pool and hot tub overlooks the ocean. No better way to relax at the end of the day.

While we're addicted to A/C at home, with the trade winds (and ceiling fan) we don't need it here :)

Room Tip: Bamboo room is at the end of the house -- nobody passes by your window to get to their rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tietack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Very lovely and helpful host. Our room was clean and we had a great view to the ocean. As in most places in Hilo there is no aircondition. It was very hot during the night. You could open the window but then you hear the noise from birds and the ocean. The breakfast was very hawaiian and not for everyones (european) taste. This B&B has a great location to explore the Volcano Natinalpark.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cathy_travel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We were in the Pele Suite. Our room was clean, but a bit dated. The bed was comfy, breakfasts were excellent and the view from the deck was spectacular! There is no air conditioning, but we ran the ceiling fan and were very comfortable at night (I prefer a very cool room at night). Our hosts were very helpful with regard to suggestions for things to do and places to see.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OBX-Girl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Found this amazing B&B on Southwest Airlines/booking.com link website and so happy we did. Booking and communication with Maria and Ric were quick and easy. House is in a small, cute 'hood and was easy to find. Free parking and free wi-fi. Had to drag our luggage down a short flight of uneven stairs toward the pool (we didn't use the pool) to the oceanview level of four lanais that are all connected, but somewhat private. Wow, love that view and the landscaping -- Maria's specialty, besides amazing cooking! We stayed in the Bamboo Room at the farthest end, a bonus with extra windows and a bit more privacy. Room was spacious with a very comfy king bed and a nice bathroom with a large, stone-floor shower (no tub). Shampoo and body wash were provided, very much appreciated. We met most of the other guests all watching the sunset from our lanais; the aloha spirit is alive and well at Hale Kai. In the morning, breakfast is at 8 am sharp and all guests eat together outdoors on the upstairs lanai. Sneak a peek at how the hosts live - sooo cute! Lots of sharing tips among guests on what to see and do on the Big Island. Breakfast is a pure delight: fresh hot coffee/tea,delicious fresh fruit (some exotics we never heard of, but loved), and a different main dish each day. One day we enjoyed macadamia and coconut-infused pancakes - the fluffiest I have ever had, and one day a scrumptious egg scramble. Maria (chef extraordinaire!) and Ricardo were on hand each morning to serve breakfast and to offer tourism suggestions. Overall, we highly recommend for a couple who wants aloha charm, great hosts, peaceful ambiance (except those noisy birds next door squawking all day and into the night; well, that's Hawaii nature for you!), and ocean view awe!

Room Tip: Bamboo Room is the most private.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyClarkBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in this bed&breakfast. It is the first time in our life that we felt not being welcome that way. Rick opened the door saw our kids (14, 11 and 7) and closed the door immediately. We stood outside in front of the close door then he came back telling us the kids were not supposed to enter this B&B and that we made a wrong booking. Finally he accepted them and we entered our room. They were clean with a beautiful view but no particular charm. We went out for lunch and coming back Rick waited for us again very upset saying that a door was broken. My wife went to the rest room and the old handcraft door was not sliding properly, she was not able to close the door. He told us that we had to pull it gently(!) and next time he will charge back the fixing... unbelievable...
Finally he recognized the kids were very quiet whereas people were laughing in their room until midnight. It is not a big deal for us but be aware that the walls are very thin and you hear everything from the other rooms. Maria his wife was nicer... breakfast is at 8:00 am sharp, don't be late even if you are jetlag. Food is ok but if you want regular toasts because you don't appreciate the cake made of corns, eggs... Rick will look at you wrong... finally the last day we felt kicked out at 11:00 am when we were enjoying the pool with the family because check out time is at that time and Rick came 5 min before to remind it very nicely as you can imagine... Aloha spirit is great in Hawaii but definitely never entered this B&B...

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Jerome_lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo Z, Owner at Hale Kai Hawaii Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

We do our best to welcome our guests and to help them enjoy the beautiful Island of Hawaii. This reservation was made for 4 adults staying in 2 rooms. When the guests arrived, there were 2 adults and 3 very young children. Our website and online details specify that we do not allow young children or accommodate 3 guests in a room. Unfortunately, these guests were not happy here. It may have been best to help them find alternative accommodations when they arrived.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews