We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent, but I've seen better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Club Hawaii Condo Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Club Hawaii Condo Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent, but I've seen better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with a school group, and I found the experience to just be so-so. Despite the name of the place, this lodge is hardly a country club or a hotel. The nice part is that the units are exceptionally large, but other than that, everything else is hit or miss. My unit was moderately clean, and I appreciated having booth a TV, WiFi, refrigerator, and air conditioning in the room. But other than that, the quality of the place didn't quite add up to what I was paying.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spratt504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    5
    5
    26
See reviews for
8
15
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We found it was actually ok. When we first arrived, the first room that I looked at had cockroaches, so I asked for another right away. We were given another room. I examined the room carefully and didn't find any cockroaches for I took the room. The room turned out to be nice, although it was somewhat old but renovated. Great neighbourhood. Beautiful park nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raf c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed at unit #327 in July and found it to be good value. New paint and carpet made for a very fresh and clean space. Bed was very comfortable. Lanai has a nice very private bayview. Good location. Will ask for this unit next time I am in Hilo.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking bay are quiet and scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank W Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have read all the other reviews that was posted, AFTER I had already booked the room online,lol. I booked the Superior Room, was given Room #512, anywho by reading the reviews, I was having doubts if I wanted to keep the reservation but I decided to keep it. My, am I pleased w/my decision. the Front Desk ladies were very helpful/generous/showed much aloha, NOT once did we see any roaches, of course you deal w/tenants who reside there as well, but really, they never bothered us, people was friendly that we came across. The room was furnished, refrig/2 burner stove/dining table/micro/coffee pot/toaster/Dvd player/wi-fi/cable tv/phone/alarm radio/etc. The view was nice, the security made me feel content. We had the option to have maid service. Really we was there to have a place to sleep/bathe, etc. If you're looking for a FANCY shmancy hotel, I'd suggest you all to seek elsewhere, but if you're wanting a place to sleep/bathe/cook, well then you shall find comfort here, and yes it may not be the Ritz-Carlton or the Hyatt but it was well worth the price. Daily price is $74/nt but they offer Kama'aina rates of $64/nt but via phone only. I'll definitely be returning/referring to my ohana/friends flying to Big Island to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haynwahine808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We don't understand these reviews. Have stayed here for several winter months over a few years. The first apt we got from Craig's List was awful, but we met a couple who own a great studio apt on the 2nd floor, balcony facing the pool and the ocean, beautiful ceramic tile floors, nice kitchen, king bed, big screen TV, all utilities included for $900 a month! We were not there last year because my Dad died but we certainly plan on going back. Hilo is a great place for the real Hawai'i experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank redravenjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Don't let the name fool you. I came for one night flew from Honolulu to Hilo to interview for a job so i thought i would save money I totally regret staying here roaches in the bathroom, bed area walls dirty with dead roaches and dust on the painting and dishes on wall Dirty. People live here you smell pot, throw up in halways they leave there doors open you hear couples fighting crazy. The staff is very rude i do not recommend this place Especially if you have kids.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank islandgurl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hilo hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

So gross ! Don't waist your money here ! It better in you car ! Lol ! It is really dirty and the back door don't lock on room 301 or room 614 ! I had to change rooms because of roaches and no locking door ! This place is the worst I have ever been ! And I stay in San Francisco all the time ! I thought that was bad until I stayed here ! Just don't do it. !!

They get an F-

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimi4love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.2 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
22.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Club Hawaii Condo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Hawaii Condo Hotel

Property: Country Club Hawaii Condo Hotel
Address: 121 Banyan Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4603
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Hawaii Condo
Country Club Hawaii Condo Hotel Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing