We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful experience at the cottage”
other traveller has booked this property
Creekside Cottage as seen from the other side of creek
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Creekside Cottage as seen from the other side of creek
front of cottage upstairs bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Creekside Cottage as seen from the other side of creek
front of cottage
upstairs bedroom
view from cottage
lanai
living room w/sofabed
dining table in kitchen
kitchen
front of cottage
waterfall at lower end of property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yinyuest
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience at the cottage”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We loved the pretty and cozy cottage which is very new and clean. Marcy warned us about the 750sqft space, but it actually feels just right for our family of four including two teenage daughters. There are plenty towels, sheets, and supplies for the upstair bedroom and the sleeping sofa. The upstair bed might be a bit tight for two big sized people, but worked for us. There is no need for air conditioning since the screen windows let in all the fresh and cool air. The kitchen is well stocked with all the utenciles necessary including the paper towels and napkins. A bowl of fruits from the garden was also presented to us by Kealani, the property manager. Our girls love walking around in the garden and picking up fruits. We especially loved the tranquility and the beauty of the surroundings, and felt very relaxed having dinner looking over the beautiful scenery. We liked the location as well. Although it is about 8~9 miles outside of Hilo, it is very convenient to go to other places of interests, for example, Akaka falls, KoleKole where the river meets the ocean, the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden, etc. If you want to cook, it is best to either pick up groceries before going to the cottage or visit the Hilo Farmer's Market on Wed or Sat, which has wonderful selections/price for fresh produce. There is no trash service available at the cottage, so either you take away the trash yourselves, or have them taken away by the cleaning crew. We used the garbage disposal extensively to reduce the trash to a minimum.
It has been a very pleasant experience for us from the beginning to the end. The rental transaction process was simple and clear, with Marcy sending us reminders and useful information about the visit. Kealani has been great help to us as well recommending places to visit, and lending us snorkling gears and a cooler while we were there. Overall we are very satisfied with our experience at the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, surroundings
Liked least: distance from grocery stores
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2013
After this mention of the bed being rather small for 2 large people, we replaced the full-sized bed with a queen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard28...
Kaneohe, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hollywood Perfect Setting”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I've been visiting the Big Island since I was a kid and the Creekside Cottage is a wonderful world away from my home on Oahu. One you close the gate behind you, it's magic worthy of Hollywood special effects. But this place is real - the green screen is actually a forest, the sound effects are the waterfall and occasional moos from the neighbors, the blue is really an ocean with spouting whales (Hawaiian show-offs). The 20 acre farm has an orchard, a creek and more stars and birds than I've ever seen or heard in my life. The owners are gracious and friendly, the manager is full Hawaiian and knows (and loves) the Big Island like one of her own children. The cottage is itself is lovelier and bigger than the pictures - it feels like no home I've ever known. I can assure you that Dorothy and Toto would still be sending postcards back to Kansas. And that's why I will continue to return to Creekside Cottage in the future: More than the obvious peace and beauty, it feels like no home I've ever known.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: I have no suggestions for improvements.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2013
Wow, thank you. Makes me happy to know you could feel the magic and sweetness of the place! And you're so right about our Hawaiian caretaker - we are very blessed to have Kealani managing the property. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Marcy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah B
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hawaiian Heaven”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage for a week while searching for a property to buy and some sightseeing. What a perfect location....5 minutes away you can zipline Akaka Falls, ten minutes to the town of Hilo. And, it is so peaceful and quiet and private at the cottage...the rain falling softly, a cow mooing, the birds and the coqui frogs....all combine to make you never want to leave. Tom and Marci have furnished the cottage so you feel at home in this magnificient area. The grounds are beautiful with a short walk to their waterfall and numerous fruit trees...and pineapples growing outside your door. I can't say enough good about it...you have to go and see for yourself....but be prepared....you will not want to leave. Also, no TV or Internet service which turned out to be a blessing....you are forced to be present in these gorgeous surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Falling aslep to the rain falling softly and waking up to the sound of the birds
Liked least: A little chilly in the morning, just throw on a sweater
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$115
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing