We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful romantic getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Creekside Cottage as seen from the other side of creek
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Creekside Cottage as seen from the other side of creek
front of cottage upstairs bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Creekside Cottage as seen from the other side of creek
front of cottage
upstairs bedroom
view from cottage
lanai
living room w/sofabed
dining table in kitchen
kitchen
front of cottage
waterfall at lower end of property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jim B
Walker, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful romantic getaway”
Reviewed 12 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My wife and I stayed at Creekside as a getaway for two to the Big Island. We'd visited Oahu as a family but then sent the kids home while we went on to the Big Island with plans to see Volcanoes along with other Island sites. Unfortunately, the night before or flight, Kilauea had other plans and erupted. We arrived in Hilo to find there had been earthquakes. When booking our trip, we had strongly considering the Puna area rentals but instead decided on Creekside. We were really happy to still have a place to stay. Once we arrived and saw Creekside, we were even happier.
Marcy was terrific all through the booking process. She answered many different email questions and was very helpful. Her property manager Jack met us on our arrival and made sure everything was as it should be. The rental is a perfect place for two. It's very comfortable and just lovely and tastefully decorated throughout. The kitchen is very well stocked with cooking and eating materials. The screened porch is wonderful. The whole downstairs is so light with windows everywhere and beautiful views. There is a wonderful shower halfway up the stairs to the sleeping loft bedroom. It is large enough for two with glass tile over most of the entry wall and rock tile flooring. It has a large rain style showerhead. Upstairs the bedroom is again lovely with wood flooring and more windows. They is also a half bath upstairs with a vanity and separate commode. Where the bedroom is upstairs, it's really nice to have that half bath as part of the loft.
The grounds are stunning. We walked to the waterfall on the property. We didn't swim in it but could have. We also enjoyed a lemon and an orange from the trees.
A couple of things to note, there is another home, the main Kapehu Retreat House on the property. We were a bit concerned about the privacy when were booking. But the other home had no impact on our stay. We still feel very private and secluded. The owners were on-site staying at the house during our stay. We knew they were there but never saw them or heard them. There is plenty of space between the places, more than you would have at most other rentals between neighbors. Also, there is no air conditioning. There are ceiling fans, and we were never too warm to sleep. Also, as listed, there is no cable TV, but we certainly didn't go to Hawaii to watch TV. We did make use of Netflix a couple of times through our account accessed through the DVD player. We had no issues using that or with their WiFi service. I had been concerned about the WiFi. I needed to regularly communicate with my work through email, and I was always able to do so.
The best thing about or stay besides the actual home was the location. The views are stunning. But also it is convenient to downtown Hilo. We went in to eat in Hilo each night. We chose not to cook despite the well-stocked kitchen. It was an easy 10 minute drive into a great array of choices. Marcy had sent us some restaurant recommendations. We tried two of her suggestions and they were great. There is also a grocery store, a terrific bakery, and daily Farmers market downtown. The location is also very convenient to the Onomeo Scenic drive and the botanical gardens there. They are must sees. It's also convenient to Akaka Falls, another must see and stunning sea views. The one day we were able to get into Volcanoes for limited access, it was just an hour's drive. With Volcanoes shut down for most of our stay, we also chose to drive north to Waipio Valley lookout. It was Sunday, and no tours were open. Rather than making the step climb down, we drive in to Waimea and then to Polulo Valley. It was another of Marcy's suggestions that we would have never considered or even know about. It was a stunning drive through rainforest, mountains, ranches and meadows with a great view of Mauno Kea. The hike into Polulo is rugged but easier than Waipio and really worth it. It's a beautiful descent through rainforest into a beautiful valley and blacksand beach. It was a real highlight.
So we felt like we had the perfect, secluded romantic place to stay in a perfect location with easy access to places we will never forget. Thanks Marcy for such a wonderful visit to Paradise. We had very high expectations that were more than exceeded.
Photos 1-3 are the cottage, 4&5 are the grounds and waterfall, 5 is the ocean at Onomea, 6 is Akaka Falls, and 7-10 are Polulo Valley.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonPorsch...
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Country Living”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Living on a Hawaiian estate is great. But realize you live in the country. It’s about 10 miles from Hilo for restaurants and shopping, but Hilo has about everything you could want.
You appreciate the peaceful natural setting when you return from shopping at Walmart in Hilo.
The cottage is spacious for two at about 1400 square feet but can’t get satellite tv. WiFi exists but is weak so I used my Verizon unlimited data plan.
But it’s in the country so I only got two bars on my iPhone. Still we had WiFi connection the entire stay.
It gets dark about 6 pm (January) so we used the Netflix on the DVD player. It froze up about 7:30 each nite so we switched to dvds. You must have your own Netflix logon to use the equipment.
Nice place to take a walk and there is plenty of fruit for the picking. The oranges taste great.
Overall a peaceful bucolic setting much different than kona side of the island. We enjoyed our stay very much once we worked out a daily routine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

It's hard to add anything to the glowing reviews already published here, but my husband and I were so thoroughly delighted with Creekside Cottage that I have to weigh in. We stayed for 6 nights, May 25-31, and can't wait to return.

It was the reviews that convinced us to book the cottage (thank you, fellow Trip Advisor members!!), and every bit of praise that has been lavished on the cottage is true. I'll add that having spent my career as a professional chef, I've never been in a rental kitchen more perfectly stocked with everything I needed to turn the glorious local ingredients into wonderful meals. We started our days with heaping bowls of fragrant papayas, mangos, apple bananas (a local variety, shorter and sweeter than mainland bananas), and pineapple, with yogurt and toast slathered with the incredibly delicious local honey, accompanied (of course) by Kona coffee. Thanks to a recommendation from Marcy, we shopped at the Hilo farmers market for vegies and fruit and honey, and at Suisan Fish Market for the amazing fresh fish (sashimi grade ahi tuna at $14.00/lb. – lesser grade ahi goes for $26.99/lb. at fish markets where I live). Everything else we needed was available in Hilo at supermarkets or at the store that quickly became my favorite, Abundant Life Natural Foods.

We frequently bought Suisan's poke for lunch, which was sparkling fresh and totally delicious. We also stopped a couple of times for lunch at Low's, a cute store very close to the cottage, which has smoothies and wraps filled with things like Kalua pork. (One wrap was big enough for both of us to share!) They also had nice ripe fruit for sale.

Other highlights of our stay included the nearby Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden and Akaka Falls. But in some ways the best part was waking up to tropical birdsong, gazing out over the beautiful view from the screened-in lanai as we ate our meals, and falling asleep to the chorus of frogs. I don't think there's a more peaceful and lovely spot on earth.

And by the way, the internet connection worked perfectly the whole time we were there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongpup
Napa Valley ,CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of our best trips to Hawaii”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This was our 4th visit to the BI and our stay at the Creekside Cottage helped make it one of the best. Charming cottage on an absolutely beautiful property. Warm rain at night with background chorus of coquis. Evenings on the screened lanai letting it all soak in. Just far enough from Hilo to be away from it, yet close enough to be there should you need it. We were also able to spent a good deal of time at Kilauea on this trip - something that we couldn't do on our previous trips to the west side. Quiet & peaceful during our stay - couldn't ask for more. We had some concern about the proximity of the main house since it can hold many people and be a potential noise issue, but we were fortunate during our stay in that the owners were there at the time. The owners were quite concerned about internet access and let us know that it may be spotty, but seriously - you're on vacation in beautiful Hawaii! Internet? Really? The only issue that I found here was a somewhat loud water pump in the adjoining shop area, but it only ran when water was being used - not a big deal.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendy446
Sidney, Canada
1 review
“gorgeous property”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights at this wonderful cottage located on a gorgeous 20 acre property. Marcy, the owner and Kealani the manager were both very helpful and attentive to our questions and needs. We loved the spacious layout of the cottage and found everything there that we needed to make a great relaxing vacation. We very much enjoyed the country location and our favorite part of the day was the evening into night when the air was filled with glorious night sounds. Such a pleasant and happy sound to fall asleep to. We would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the grounds and the cottage floor plan
Liked least: slow internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEankin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful/Tranquil Retreat Overlooking the Ocean”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This month my wife and I stayed at the beautiful Kapehu Retreat Cottage north of Hilo. It was a great experience. The property is extensive , and is shared by one other larger house. The two buildings are separated by a couple of hundred yards, and a creek, so that privacy is virtually guaranteed. The property is nicely maintained, and has extensive plantings of native plants and tropical fruit trees.
The house itself is very comfortable, and equipped with all the necessities. There is a professional manager on call, so that any problems can be dealt with quickly and efficiently. No need for air conditioning, especially at this time of year, as the property is situated at a little bit of elevation, guaranteeing a refreshing breeze. In addition the Hilo climate is cooler than on the Kona side.
It's only about a 15 minute drive into Hilo, ( car necessary ), so all shopping facilities, restaurants, farmer's market, etc are closeby. Several tourist attractions such as the Botanical Gardens, and Akaka Falls are very close, and the Hilo side gives you easier access to Volcano National Park.
For those who require wifi internet connection, the connectivity is not reliable, and that is the only reason, I don't rate the property as 5 star. We were without connection off and on for the two weeks we were there, with the longest period being about 15 hours. Having said this, this seems to be an issue all over the island from rural sites like Kapehu to the 5 star resorts around Kona. You just have to accept it, ( at least until the issue is resolved island wide ), and enjoy the beauty and serenity of the location.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2014
Funny, we had NO internet access at the cottage until January of this year, and we had only 5-star reviews. Now that we have internet but it's unreliable, we got our first 4-star review. I'm changing the listing description to remove any mention of internet.
I agree, if someone needs internet for work while on vacation, I'd recommend staying elsewhere, because the signal at the cottage is intermittent. We actually cannot get internet service provided to the cottage: no cable providers will bring a cable to our property (too far from their "hub"), and the tall trees by the cottage block the satellite signal. So we connected a wireless radio bridge between the cottage and the WiFi at the house across the creek, about a tenth of a mile away. The signal is strong and fast when it comes in, but it gets knocked out by wind and rain, and also if the guests in the other house turn off the router for any reason.
I'm sorry you were led to expect consistent internet service. Since I was present when we got that WIFi bridge installed, and it was a fast and strong signal for me, I was hopeful. But from now on I'll just say no internet, and our guests can be pleasantly surprised when they discover a WiFi signal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieVand...
Tuolumne, California
1 review
“Perfect stay!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

What a perfect stay we had in Hilo. Kealani and Marcy were very helpful and the cottage was spotless. Kealani especially went out of her way to accomodate us and take care of special needs. We enjoyed the layout, fresh fruit, seclusion and everything about our stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing