We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Hawaiian B&B
Ranked #9 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful B&B! Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast was very yummy with lots of fresh fruit, homemade breads and a smoothie. The property was beautiful and very quiet. Lory was also very helpful with dining options and things to do in the are.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Quail32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    30
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
92
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, MT
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We spent less than 12 hours (late flight in and then left after breakfast) but we couldn't have been happier with our first night in Hawaii. The property is lovely and the lanai opens onto groomed, expansive lawn out to the stream. The bed was extremely comfortable and the tiny bathroom totally adequate for our needs. We find that sleeping with earplugs gives us comfort wherever we travel, so the Koke frogs didn't even bother us. Breakfast was great. Good value for the money, all around.

Room Tip: We had the least expensive room and it was perfect for us. It opened onto the lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a trip advisor review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you on your next trip to Hilo.

Lory and Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed just one night at this B&B. We were in the room that was not on the Lanai and preferred this as there was more privacy. Very nice room, no frog noises at night like there are in a lot of places in Hilo. The breakfast was great with lots of fruit and home made smoothies and baked goods. Beautiful property, if you stay walk to the back edge of their land in back and you see the river and a small waterfall! The owner, Lory, was very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mntraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It was very nice having you stay with us, hope to see you on your next trip to Hilo.

Lory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatlinburg, TN
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I needed a place to stay for a couple of days and really enjoy B&Bs. I chose this one based on the reviews. It lived up to the wonderful reviews! It was a quaint house, beautiful property and the breakfasts were incredible! It was close enough to Hilo, yet you would never feel you were in a city. The walls are a little thin, so you can easily hear your neighbor if they are loud, but that will be common in some of the older houses.. didn't bother me and wasn't really bad...
The room was clean, comfortable and the host Lory is super sweet! Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tntranerladee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for staying with us, the kind words and taking the time to write a review. I love to share my home and baking with my guests and am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you on your next visit to Hilo.

Lory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 days, but wish we had booked our entire time here. B&B is in a quiet suburb with a river in the back. B & B is between Rainbow and Boiling Pots state parks and the property is like a nature park. Room was large and very clean. Bathroom was tiled and spotless with a shower and sunken tub. The owner still likes being a B&B hostess. Met us on arrival(even offered to help with our bags). Serves fantastic breakfasts and visits with guests over breakfast. Many of the breakfast fruits are raised on site. The owners are very organized and can support most needs. Have flashlights for volcano tours, umbrellas, restaurant advice book, etc. They have thought of most everything.

Room Tip: Our room was on the far right at the back of the home, facing the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilosunshine, Owner at The Old Hawaiian B&B, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review for us. Hope to see you on your next trip to Hilo.

Lory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We were looking for a B&B to stay in Hilo for one night (hard to find in Hilo) and found the Old Hawaiian Inn B&B.

Our room was the Hawaiian Room - very spacious and comfortable. It is in a quiet location and within walking distance of Rainbow Falls and the Boiling Pots. The breakfast was magnificant - best scones I have ever had, delicous tropical smoothies, yogurt, fresh Hawaiian fruit, and eggs. Wish our visit could have longer -- maybe next time.

Room Tip: Hawaiian room is a nice large size with windows looking out into a nicely landscaped backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daybreak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in Hilo and chose this B & B. I wish it had been longer. Our room was so comfy, bright & cheery and looked out onto a wonderfully manicured spacious yard. The breakfast included native fruits and baked goods - excellent! The location is quiet, secluded and perfect for traveling to the local sites including the Mauna Kea Observatory and local markets. The owners, Lory & Stewart, were gracious hosts and readily shared their wealth of information about the area with us. Our next trip to Hilo will definately include several nights @ this B & B. Without hesitation I would highly recommend The Old Hawaiian B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
3.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
665 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
404 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hawaiian B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hawaiian B&B

Property: The Old Hawaiian B&B
Address: 1492 Wailuku Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-1254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hawaiian B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Hawaiian B&B is a two story 'Olde Hawaiian Style' home located on 1/2 acre of gorgeous landscaped grounds, backing onto State-owned land, and the Wailuku River. It is situated in one of the most peaceful and tropical areas of Hilo, and only two blocks from the Boiling Pots Park, which has an overlook of the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Hawaiian B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hawaiian Bed And Breakfast
The Old Hawaiian Hotel Hilo
The Old Hawaiian B&B Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing