We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel with very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilo Bay Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilo Bay Hostel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hostel with very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Staff was really friendly and explained all possibilities of sightseeing. Additional we got a bottle of wine as a welcoming present. They had good recommendations for restaurants and wanted to let guests know that they are really welcome and get any support needed. We felt good there.

We had a private room with two double beds. Really high ceilings and big rooms and our own bathroom. Everything was clean. Unfortunately when I opened a drawer two roaches ran out, really disgusting and ants were on the bathroomfloor. The rooms seemed to be really clean but at least not enough, perhaps it is a problem cause of the climate there. The beds were another negative aspect, they were so hard that it was really hard to get sleep. We slept in one bed and rolled during the night into the middle because the bed was already formed in the middle. Our bed needed a new mattress. There are windows to the floors and we had the only room with no curtains so that the light of the floor lighted our whole room. It was not possible to switch off the light on the floor so that I had to sleep with an eyemask.

We did not used the kitchen but it was clean and neat.

Unfortunately it rained every day and a lot so that we were happy to leave Hilo but the hostel was okay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silviena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    49
    19
    12
    13
See reviews for
11
53
62
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hostel is located in downtown Hilo where all the fun and activities are within a 10 minutes walk. The place itself reminded me of a 19th century Victorian style English home, fit with all the modern technologies of course (wifi, hot water, spacious kitchen). The owner of the hostel is an awesome dude with a very generous soul. We were walk-ins and he gave us a discount, let us bring a couple of beers into the common areas/lobby, and even gave us a bottle of merlot upon checkout!

The other guests are mostly backpackers in the 20-28 age group who are trekking around Hawaii. We were only there one night but met some interesting people who shared the evening with us. The hostel itself is very clean and offers many tour options and things to do around the area.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Quick check-in....they knew who I was and made me feel welcome as soon as I walked up the stairs. This place was clean and organized. The "regulars" gave a homey feeling to the place and the passers through brought excitement of travel that a pit-stop on the Big Island will fill anyone with. It's well located near Hilo Bay,free parking for those with rental cars,and many restaurants. This was my first stay in a Hostel and my experience here has inspired me to stay in more hostels while Travelling the world.

Room Tip: If available the private rooms would be perfect for families or anyone needing a little more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

I loved this place, it is an old restored building so it has a lot of characters, starting with a wide stairway entrance. The bunk beds had a double bed on the bottom so if you got one of those, it was a real treat. I felt safe and secure there. The people staying there were around 30+ age range, which is a lot older than many other hostels I have stayed in recently. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definately recommend others stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_kiwi_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

The living/communal areas of the hostel were fantastic - old-school, reminds one of a 1920's British hunting lodge (or something!), they have free coffee, tea, WiFi and surprised us with help with things like doing our washing whilst we were out (so we didn't have to wait around). When we came back a second time they even gave us a bottle of wine and some soft drinks in our fridge! We saved a lot of money staying in this hostel rather than a hotel, not only because the hostel was cheap, but because the location means you have access to remarkably cheap food (both take-out and supermarkets). Finally, I would recommend this to couples or pairs of people if they were normally going to get a hotel, it's a much better experience - hotel staff in Hilo are very "cold" in terms of customer service in my experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Sadly, my experience was not what I hoped after reading the reviews. I booked a private room, which looked very nice (but it was hot), but the bedding had many bed bugs. There were regular beg bugs, plus little red bugs, and a cockroach (which happily, was dead). I asked if I could change rooms, which was not possible, but the staff member I talked to didn't seem very sympathetic or helpful. Also they get you to give a key deposit (which is fine), but the keys can't be returned before 7am, when the office opened. They offered me a strange work around where I could return at 9pm to collect my deposit, but given there were at least 6 people leaving the hostel before 7 that morning, they really should get a better system. The bathrooms were clean, but the toilets and showers were quite cramped and lacked privacy. The plus side was that there was a good vibe in the hostel with lots of hostellers and staff getting along well together. The good vibe was unfortunately not worth it for me.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Cafelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The staff and management go above and beyond the the level of service you recieve!!! The facility is very clean, as well as a centrally located for all activities on THE BIG ILSAND. Thier positive connection with the universe was very enlighting.The comman areas were well kept,relaxing, making it very easy to make friends.

Room Tip: Highly suggest obtaining room 7,great view,constant breeze not to forget GREAT SUNRISE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
21.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Bay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Bay Hostel

Property: Hilo Bay Hostel
Address: 101 Waianuenue Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2435
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hilo Bay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Bay Hotel Hilo
Hilo Bay Hostel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing