We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hilo Bay Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilo Bay Hostel
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hilo
Dolores, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 December 2010

This is a great hostel in an excellent location.
Very clean facilites and friendly helpful staff.
We'll definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyTColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    50
    20
    12
    14
See reviews for
11
54
63
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

I've long believed that American hostels, in addition to being vanishingly rare, are generally inferior in quality and value to their counterparts around the world. The Hilo Bay Hostel, however, really defies this generalization. The very friendly owner, Scott, has done an amazing job of restoring a historic hotel into a hostel that's fully functional, clean and modern but still distinctive and charming. The entry stairs lead into the common area, which is open and airy and has beautiful hardwood floors. Rooms surround the common area - we chose a twin ensuite room, which was extremely spacious and comfortable by hostel standards. The kitchen is clean and well-supplied, and we appreciated the free coffee and tea in the morning. The location is also a plus - it was easy to find free parking nearby, and we were within easy walking distance of several restaurants and bars. I was really wowed by this hostel - definitely stay here if you're in the area!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. Were pleasantly surprised with this hostel. The staff was very helpful and enthusiastic. If we needed anything (information on whereto or how to travel) they were quite forthcoming.

the place is right in the downtown, easy access to groceries or places to eat. while we were there we cooked our own dinners - the kitchen was quite clean and equipped. The rooms are quite spacious with high ceilings. Overall we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anishpatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The dorm rooms have big roomy bunk beds, clean bedding and have a nice feel to them. The bathroom and kitchen were clean and the communal areas were welcoming. The staff were very helpful and the place felt safe. There are only 2 negative points I have. The first being the noise. The hostel is situated on probably the busiest junction in town, which is noisy day and night. When I was there a road sweeping lorry must have gone up and down the road 3 or 4 times during 1 night. The staff do have free ear plugs if you ask for them. The only other issue I had was being put in a family dorm with just 1 man. We were both a bit uncomfortable with the arrangement but had no choice as the female and male dorms were full.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulubear74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Great service, clean room. We booked into a room with its own bathroom. Great facilities for young people on a budget, Sparkling kitchen. Sitting and dining area is old world Hawaii, beautifully restored and maintained. Top place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgandlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Having spent time travelling i found this is the best hostel I have stayed in.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the service is fantastic. My experience at the Hilo Bay Hostel added depth and enjoyment to my experience of the Big Island. Moreover, it's the best value hostel I have used.

Overall, great value, customer care and quality...top marks.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparklysherbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We had reservations at a B&B at Volcano, but discovered it was a sort of scam, so drove back to Hilo to find a place to stay. I had previously explored hostels, but been disappointed with what I had found. Price was a major consideration, though. Quite by accident we saw the Hilo Bay Hostel, and my partner went in to inquire. Since we were a little desperate, the information he came back with sounded OK, and we checked in for one night. We wanted a private room, and they gave us a room with three beds, but advised us that it was highly unlikely that another person would need it, as they still had a number of single beds in dorms. They also told us that we could have a private room the next night, so we decided to stay our entire time on the Big Island. It turned out to be a delightful stay! Beds were comfortable; as in most hostels, you make up your own bed. Everything was very clean. There was free wifi, several computers for internet access, a well equipped kitchen, very helpful staff, and parking in a city lot across the street. Location was convenient for walking, too. I lived in Hawaii years ago, and Hilo IS about as authentic Hawaiian as you can get. It's not an exciting, touristic type of place, if that's what you are looking for, and it's humid, which makes the buildings look sort of dreary and old, but in it's own way, that's part of the charm. I loved it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilo hotels
1.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
538 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Wild Ginger Inn Hotel & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Bay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Bay Hostel

Property: Hilo Bay Hostel
Address: 101 Waianuenue Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2435
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hilo Bay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilo Bay Hotel Hilo
Hilo Bay Hostel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing