We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful bed & breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful bed & breakfast”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here two nights and wish we would have stayed longer! You could easily stay here and visit Volcano National Park on a day trip (which is what we should have done). The rooms (there are only two) are spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Koi Suite which had its own private lanai and air conditioning. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and there is a nice pool and hot tub. Steve is a wonderful host and very knowledgeable about what to do in the area. Oh and by the way, Steve makes great smoothies...ask him to make you one for breakfast! We highly recommend staying here and hope to make it back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie13911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    19
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
175
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Only two rooms, so never crowded. About 1 1/2 miles north of Hilo harbor. Steve provided great food, and ideas about local places to eat and see. Nicely landscaped yard with pool and fish pond. You can sleep with doors and window wide open (though the birds chirp too loud for my wife!), and feel like you're sleeping outdoors. Very nicely decorated and appointed rooms. Hilo is only about 45 minutes from Volcanoes Nat'l Park, so this makes a great place to stay for a few days.

Room Tip: Very private setting - would be good for a honeymoon or other special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmoaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Orchid Tree the first couple nights of our vacation before driving to Kona. Wonderful place. Steve was a great host. Lovely breakfasts. Steve was very helpful with tips of places to visit and eat. Great surfing spot just a block away. We walked there in the mornings to watch the sun rise.
We hope to visit again!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
273 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Orchid Tree is a lovely place to stay. Close to town. Close to the beach. Clean, spacious rooms. Comfortable bed. Pretty grounds. Excellent wifi reception. Steve is a fine host: friendly and a good guide for local attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iambic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very good bed and breakfast - clean and big room. Breakfast is a very tasty plate of fresh fruits and bread, and the ocean view is very nice. We will definitely be saying at Orchid Tree B&B again when we come back to the Big Island!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Orchid Tree was easily the best place we stayed at during our honeymoon on Kauai and the Big Island. The grounds, room, and house are absolutely beautiful and the attention to detail and care that Steve and Su put into the place is very noticeable. Having the pool and hot tub right outside your door is awesome, and with only two guest rooms plus Steve and Su's room upstairs in the main house there is plenty of privacy. As the other reviews said, the breakfast is truly a work of art and delicious. Steve and Su were gone while we were there but the host Maxine was wonderful and gave us lots of tips for things to do and places to eat. It's an easy drive into town and the location is great for exploring the areas north of Hilo. We only wish we had more time there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a great bed and breakfast to use as a base for your island activity. Steve makes a fantastic breakfast, and shares all kind of interesting stories. The pool and jacuzzi are top notch, and the rooms are wonderful as well. The grounds are very pleasant. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matthewenglehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
23.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast

Property: Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6 Makakai Pl, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid tree B&B is located one mile north of historic Old Hilo Town at Honolii Beach. Enjoy the comfort of a 600 sq/ft suite overlooking the ocean, pool and lush gardens; very private and elegant. Located within minutes of all the activities in East Hawaii: 45 minutes to Volcano National Park. Enjoy surfing, hiking, excellent dining, shops and the famous Hilo Farmer's Market. With 35 years experience on the Big Island, let us show you the way to an authentic and memorable Hawaiian experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchid Tree Hotel Hilo
Orchid Tree b&b
Orchid Tree Bed And Breakfast Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing