We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lotus Garden Hilo
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hilo
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
46
10
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
10
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstropical plantsplace to staymegancottagelaundromatavocado
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at the Lotus Garden cottage a couple of weeks ago and really enjoyed it. There was plenty of room for the 4 of us (including two fully grown sons) and it was a very pleasant cottage- nicely furnished and very comfortable and relaxing. The setting was unique- a secluded compound yet once you go out the gate you are in the center of Hilo- steps from the KTA supermarket, Ocean Sushi, and the farmers' market, just for starters. We really enjoyed having a nicely outfitted kitchen so we could store and prep all the fruit we bought at the farmers' market. As an added bonus, Wilson's shave ice has recently relocated to a spot immediately next door- I thought I was in heaven, coming out the gate each morning between a wonderful artisan gallery and an excellent old-school shave ice place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veggiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We are a family of five traveling with young kids and we stayed in The Sugar Shack and rented the cottage as a vacation rental. The location was perfect ( very close to the market, restaurants and there was a supermarket right on the corner). We loved our stay at the Sugar Shack. Megan and Jasper made us feel like at home. They made their best to accomodate us (like put an extra bed for our little one). The kids loved their stay and the sound of the birds (or frogs ?) at night (made us feel like we were in a tropical garden). Every thing was very clean. We definitely recommend to stay at the Sugar Shack (great location for families).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErickJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My little boy and I, who are traveling on a fairly tight budget, needed a place to stay in Hilo for one night (we had a late flight) before driving up to Volcano Village. We took the ground floor room in the Sugar Shack, which shares a bathroom and kitchen with the upstairs, larger room. The one with the queen bed was perfectly fine for us to share (my son is 9). The house is lovely, and clean, and their avocado tree had so much fruit that they sent us on our way with many! Also, they are a block and a half away from the Hilo Farmers Market. Just the right choice for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poseidonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a great stay at the Sugar Shack! We actually spent nights in both the attic and the downstairs bedroom. The attic room is very big, open air and has a large comfortable bed, just like in the photos. The downstairs room was smaller, with a small bed and was less airy, but there is a window and a fan available to use. We preferred the attic- it is definitely worth staying in the attic if you can.

Downstairs there is a small kitchen, living space and a shared bathroom. The only downside to the Sugar Shack is that there were bugs. However, we expected this given the tropical climate. Also, don't be surprised if you see gecko's on the wall.

Megan was great, very hospitable, friendly, and helpful with giving suggestions on what to do in Hilo. The Sugar Shack is in a great location, right in downtown Hilo, near several restaurants, shops, the Farmer's Market, and grocery store.

We definitely recommend staying at the Sugar Shack!

Room Tip: The attic is the best!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed in the Sugar Shack Attic. Location was fantastic, right in the center of Hilo beside many restaurants, supermarket and also an open late laundromat. Room was spacious and decor was beautiful. Megan was super nice and welcoming, room was pristine and really clean. Value is amazing.

Hilo was a welcome change from Kona. Has the slower-paced, laid-back sleepy beach town feel but also has the infrastructure of a medium sized town (supermarkets, laundromats, restaurants, bars open late etc). Being within a 40 minute drive to Volcano National Park and all the natural attractions the west side of the island had to offer was also a huge plus. Only thing about Hilo was the prevalence of mosquitos when we visited (late May). However, the vibe of the town and also the natural wonders it was surrounded by was worth it. Just remember to bring bug spray!!

Would definitely spend more time in Hilo than Kona next time I am here, vibe is so much more relaxed!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyceJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews