We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local food and huge portions”

Hawaiian Style Cafe
Ranked #3 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Simi Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great local food and huge portions”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is my second visit to Hawaiian Style Cafe I visited the Waimea cafe earlier in the week. Lots of places were closed on Sunday in Hilo but Hawaiian Style Cafe was open and packed but service was very fast and friendly. I wanted to try something different so I tried the Kalua pork and cabbage and it was excellent. Come hungry you will leave stuffed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    157
    42
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“ONO!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Biggest Pancakes we have ever seen! Everything was good! A real local treat! One in Waimea and in Hilo. Don't judge it from outside

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gopher62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Variety abounds, carbohydrate loading heaven”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Imagine a pancake so big it is larger than a dinner plate. Now realize that 2 of those are part of your breakfast. That does not include the eggs, hash browns, and coffee. Want a bigger thing--get the loco moco ....rice scoops with a meat patty (or several) and gravy and eggs. HUGE portions. Take the leftover. pancakes home to eat later or give as treats to the dogs. The Korean foods seem to be popular too though I have not had them since we always get the same thing--breakfast.The food here is consistently good. Relaxed family atmosphere. Always busy Sunday morning get there early.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AzCarolTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loco moco”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were staying in kona but made the 45 min drive to this local spot... The food is authentic and delicious.. The way time is long.. People were lined around the block.. But the loco moco and macadamia nut pancakes are unbelievable... It's a hidden gem and worth the wait,,, staff is also very friendly

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great lunch value”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I randomly stopped here for lunch. They had a variety of options for a Hawaiian plate lunch (loco moco and more). The Kalbi ribs were very good. While seating was slow, due to the number of people eating there, service was fast and friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank random_tangent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawaiian Style Cafe also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaiian Style Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing