We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dive experience.”

Hilo Ocean Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$135.00*
and up
Whale Watch Ocean Exploration
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hilo Ocean Adventures is a family-friendly, safe, and exciting scuba diving store right in Hilo. With a strong commitment to fun, Hilo Ocean Adventures provides scuba certifications and dive tours in all the favorite shore spots- and more! We also have the only Dive/Snorkel boat in Hilo!! Whether to purchase some new gear, to fill a tank, or check the shore report, we can't wait to meet you!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 10 November 2018

We went out with Bobbie and Kimo for a two tank reef dive. It was excellent. I saw a turtle and a shark (in the distance), so super exciting. Bobbie is the best divemaster I’ve ever had. He is so knowledgeable about marine life and diving. It was a really great experience.

Date of experience: November 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Gotbidnezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie s, Owner at Hilo Ocean Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Aloha and thank you for your kinds words. We are thrilled you had a wonderful experience with us. Bobbie is one of the most knowledgeable Dive Masters we have on staff and loves to share his experiences with our guests and you won't find a more entertaining captain around! We hope to see you back in Hilo soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"scuba diving"
in 11 reviews
"dive master"
in 11 reviews
"dive shop"
in 8 reviews
"great dive"
in 6 reviews
"sea life"
in 4 reviews
"trouble equalizing"
in 2 reviews
"snorkel experience"
in 2 reviews
"boat captain"
in 2 reviews
"green turtles"
in 2 reviews
"the big island"
in 6 reviews
"these guys"
in 2 reviews
"instructor"
in 9 reviews
"kimo"
in 6 reviews
"dove"
in 6 reviews
"gear"
in 8 reviews
"reef"
in 5 reviews
"certified"
in 6 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Had a very nice experience with Tom as our dive master on 2 tank dive, while the other couple went snorkeling. Tom was very laid back yet understood our requirements to get back to our cruise ship in time. We took an Uber to the shop and were well taken care of with our gear which was newer and in excellent condition. The only reason I didn’t give a 5 star rating was because they had us set up our own equipment and the captain made us come up on deck will all our gear minus the fins. I really enjoy it when the crew helps you out of the water. Snacks and drinks were provided which was a nice touch.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank KenikesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie s, Owner at Hilo Ocean Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Aloha and Thank your for your kind words and constructive criticism. We are always fine tuning our procedures to provide our guests with the ultimate experience. The gear you dove in, is brand new and we are proud to offer top rated equipment. We hope to see you in Hilo again, on another of our excursions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

We dived Oahu and Maui, which we’re ok, we snorkeled Big Island which was better than the dives we completed up until we dived with you guys and the legend that is Bobbie!

Out if the 3/4 dive guides/instructors/DMs we had Bobbie was head and shoulders above them all, he has a genuine interest not only in diving but you as a diver and ensuring a good time was had. On the AM of our diving Hilo was a no go as it was too risky to clamber over old lava flow into 4 foot waves so Bobbie happily suggested Mahukona in the other side of big island and 2 hours away! This is an exception not a rule and he clearly went over and above. Mahukona was a phenomenal reef with amazing Coral reef channels and remnants of an old wreck - unfortunately not enough sea life due to over fishing but still plenty to see! Bobbie is a character and cares a lot and his passion shines through his intelligence and knowledge of all things under the water!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank stuart1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie s, Owner at Hilo Ocean Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Aloha and thank you for your thoughtful and kind words. I will forward your comments on to Bobbie and let him know how much you enjoyed your experience. We pride our selves on excellent customer service. Next time you are on the Big Island, come join us on another dive, the Hilo side has a wealth of sea life and do to the cooler water from mountain run off, the coral reefs remain vibrant and healthy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018

Awesome! Was exactly what we were looking for. My wife and I would recommend this dive shop to anyone looking to dive the Hilo side of the island. Aloha!

Date of experience: September 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank nevadatannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hilo Ocean Adventures also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Ocean Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing