We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Hilo Hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Entry gazebo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entry gazebo
Dining in gazebo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Entry gazebo
Dining in gazebo
Mosaic floor tiles in kitchen stove area
Interior door
Exterior
Tropical garden view to gazebo
House veranda view
Front yard access for guests
tropical landscaping
Welcome sign
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Cheryl W
Hagensborg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hilo Hideaway”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Hale Kawehi surprised with very spacious accommodations and lacked nothing in amenities. The property is a delight of Hawaiian charm and that goes for the hostess, Kawehi. Private, comfortable bed, a kitchen with everything and ideally located very close to downtown Hilo or for launching in other directions to go exploring. Biggest challenge will be which special space to claim as your own in this welcoming hale.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canuckgre...
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Second Visit. Excellent.”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We’re just back from our second visit to Hale Kawehi in Hilo. Obviously we wouldn’t have booked it again unless we really liked it, and we were not disappointed. As we said in our previous review: ‘This was a wonderful base for exploring the Hilo area. The house is spacious and very well-equipped. It is very well set up for spending lots of time on the spacious and private lanai, which is just outside the kitchen doors and surrounded by Kawehi’s lovely garden. (There’s also a lovely verendah around the side of the house, with lots of comfie chairs.)We like good places to read at night, and there were several here, including a marvellous chair built for two. It has the feel of what it is, a family home that is full of many interesting historical objects. But as others have noted, the best thing about this rental is Kawehi herself. She is warm, engaging, and very generous.’ Thanks so much, Kawehi; we hope to be back for visit number 3 before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner
Liked least: A bit too much stuff in the house.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STEPHANE...
CARNON
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We spent 4 nights and feeled at home.
Had a wonderful diner with Kawehi with whom we shared a coq-au-vin.
Kawehi is very kind and she gave us a lot of useful information about Big Island.
Nice place to stay and to rest.
Stéphane and Marc

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kindness of Kawehi.
Liked least: I missed a tv channel in French but we had a great choice of programs on the 2 tv sets.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mildred_i...
1 review
“Hale Kawehi is like a home away from home.”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We chose Hale Kawehi because of its location and I used to live in the neighborhood when I lived in Hawaii. The location is excellent--close to restaurants, shopping, airport, etc. Kawehi is an excellent hostess with warm Hawaiian hospitality. The house is comfortable and well furnished with a Hawaiian atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Aloha Mildred. It was a pleasure hosting you. You and Diane were wonderful guests. Hopefully, you will return to Hilo again. Keep healthy and a hui hou!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzieandj...
Corvallis, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect home away from home!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were thrilled with our stay at Kawehi's home! First off, we were scheduled to arrive in Hilo the week after the hurricane. Kawehi kept us totally informed as to what was happening throughout the storm. Forturnately, she and her family were safe, and we were able to stay at her home. Everything you could ask for was furnished in her home. It is a lovely, quaint, and very spacious home, and we were extremely comfortable. It was nice to be able to come home after a day of exploring the island, and be so happy to relax. Kawehi is so very free hearted, kind and gracious. Homemade sweet rolls and juice greeted us when we arrived, and we were treated to a delicious surprise brownie treat during the week. These are things that one does not have to do, but certainly touched our hearts that she did. We would stay there again in a heartbeat, and hope we have the opportunity to do so. Thank you so much Kawehi. Until we meet again!!!!!!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
Mahalo Nui Loa. It was such a pleasure hosting you and I am delighted, Suzie, that you enjoyed Hale Kawehi. It is always gratifying to know my guests are comfortable here. I hope to see you again and, yes, a hui hou....until we meet again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samia H
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Wonderful, Hawaiian home”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Kawehi's Hale is an experience not to be missed. The location makes walking into town an option and on/off to the main roadway driving is also easy. The house has 2 lanai's, a well supplied kitchen, very nice full bathroom and comfortable bedroom. The whole place was very clean with had great air flow. Kawehi greeted us upon our arrival and got us acclimated to where things were, how to secure the place and was a terrific source of information. We had a super time staying at Hale Kawehi and would highly recommend staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and lanai
Liked least: Didn't have a least
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
Mahalo Nui Loa for your visit. You came as a stranger.....and now we are friends. How wonderful is thata. I hope we cross paths again and sip those blue hawaii and maitai cocktails that we are known for. Take care and a hui hou.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollie O
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Charming, eclectic taste of old Hawaiian hospitality”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were overwhelmingly surprised by the charm of both the house and our host, Kawehi. The home has 2 wonderful lanai's (which were great for morning and evening) with rich and wonderful gardens to enjoy. The location was perfect, walking distance to downtown Hilo, and easy access by car to main roads and airport.plenty of plush towels and comfy beds. Laundry service by Kawehi was a definite plus. One day during our visit was my birthday and after dinner we returned home to find a delicate torte platter containing 2 brownies, what a nice surprise! Hale Kawehi provided lovely ambiance as well as a kitchen with everything you might need to prepare any meal. Her recommendations on groceries, eating out and activities were spot on. Kawehi and her home would actually be a big reason for us to return to the Big Island for a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Indoor/outdoor living spaces
Liked least: Didn't have a least
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Aloha Mollie. It was a wonderful having you as a guest. I have made a new friend, indeed. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit here and hope you come again. I would love to see you again. Mahalo, and a hui hou.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;