We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you would expect from a sports bar :)”

Cronies Bar & Grill
Ranked #17 of 239 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“What you would expect from a sports bar :)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I got a 5 oz mushroom and Swiss burger for 775 fries included! That's not bad. 5 oz is enough for one person but not really two. My boyfriend got this months special the pork belly loco moco. That was 1250 and pretty big. In fact, we saved half for home. The flavoring of the rice was good. Overall a great place to try when in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    143
    51
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Cronies is always our "go to" place when my husband wants beer and the rest of us just want to eat. It's a relaxing casual place where you can get good beer on tap and good food. There's a nice variety including BBQ ribs (which is not that easy to find in a Hilo restaurant), fish and chips, burgers, crab cakes, steak, and pizza. The service is always really good too and I appreciate that in a restaurant. It's not the place for a romantic evening, but great for families or groups of friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CM808CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stopped in for lunch on way to airport. Extremely friendly & immediate greeting. Service was fast. Mahi Mahi was catch of day. We tried it prepared 2 ways. Both excellent & prices did not shock our mid- west wallets.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“my monthly get-together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My friends and I were greeted warmly when we entered the restaurant. From the time we sat
down, we were attended with much help. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Comfortable family
atmosphere with various items to choose from.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineRN65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakalau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for watching the game”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Kind of a greasy spoon but great pupus for watching the game. Lines form on weekends because it's a high visibility place

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank karinzart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cronies Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cronies Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing