We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burgers on Bay Front”

Cronies Bar & Grill
Ranked #19 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Burgers on Bay Front”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Every time I come to town I find myself in Cronies for their burgers and fries. Great value and a great location in downtown Hilo. I always have fast service and tasty food. There is something for everyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    147
    52
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“American diner with views of the front”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Very trendy american dinner, decorated with various football strips. Staff were very friendly and the food good. Had the fish mains and there was plenty of it. Well worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bearair52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not for me!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

On the drive from Volcano to the northern part of Hawaii island we decided to stop in at Hilo for a look and a quick bite to eat. After parking on what we thought was the main part of town, we did a lap of the streets and after not finding any Hawaiian food, we went into Cronies so we could have a beer with our lunch. The beer was good - they had plenty of varierty, but unfortunately the food was not good. My hubby went for the daily special which was a pork belly on rice, and it came out boiled, fatty and squishy!! I think it was a really poor quality cut of pork belly, and if that's all you can get, then don't serve it let alone advertise it as a daily special! I had a chicken burger which was just average. Extra points to our server who was really nice, and the atmosphere in the bar was pretty good too. Shame about the below-par food though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTouchstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food good prices.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Just wanted a heavy snack to hold us over till dinner. Had Hawaiian rolls & shared a mushroom Swiss burger. Also had a couple beers and island iced tea. All was very good and a great value. Good service nice atmosphere & Monday night football.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benizziranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Big Daddy Burger! It's really Big! Great Value”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

If you'e hungry, get this burger. This is what a real Big Mac should be like. If you're a light eater, any of the other burgers are yummy.Nice bar atmosphere. The waitresses are friendly and don't rush you. Keep in mind the kitchen closes about 1 hour before the restaurant/bar actually closes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agent226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cronies Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cronies Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing