We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go anywhere else”

New Saigon Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go anywhere else”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This restaurant doesn't look much from the outside and it's probably not a place you'd go for a romantic date - unless you love good food.
The waitress ignored us for the better part of half an hour and then didn't actually really speak any English, but the food made more than up for it: The green papaya salad as a starter was amazingly fresh and flavoursome and my main (tofu with aubergine) was fantastic. Am still amazed how this little inconspicuous restaurant managed to pull off this fantastic food - do go and try!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
埼玉
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Cheap and good taste”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This resuturant owner is from Saigon, Vietnam.He and his wife are very kind. Prices are cheap and delicious.
But there no alcohool.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank zard2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“best vietnamese food”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

all food here is so good, good price, i come here eat very week, good pho in town, good spring roll, summer roll and beef stew.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good bye empty belly”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I liked the family ran style of the restaurant. The food was tasty and served in generous portions.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vincent83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“We sure liked the food....fresh and good price”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

we really enjoyed the summer rolls, which were freshly made both times we went to the restaurant while on vacation in March 2012. In Toronto (our home town) we've never had rolls as fresh. The bun was also excellent: loads of veggies and fresh again...could barely finish the meal. A great deal, and an excellent fix for Viet food lovers on vacation. Thank you, new saigon!! I wish you were in Toronto!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Saigon Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Keaau, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to New Saigon Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing