We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect all-in-one vacation rental!”
other travellers have booked this property
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Balcony table and chairs Country Club front on Banyan Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
41 reviews
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Balcony table and chairs
Country Club front on Banyan Street
Queen bed
Queen hide a bed
Dresser, mirror and floor lamp
Looking toward balcony through living area
Armoir and dining table w 4 chairs
Living room area
Dining table and 4 chairs
Kitchen area
Bathroom and linens
Bathroom sink area
Lilikulani Park walking distance
Coconut Island Park walking distance
Daily maintenance for outdoor pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Japanese first
Any
English first
55Kathie
Malvern, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect all-in-one vacation rental!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This condo was exactly as described to us. The kitchen had all the utensils, dishes and appliances you could need. The bathroom was clean and we had plenty of good towels, washcloths. The pull-out sofa was adequate and the bed was excellent for comfort. There was plenty of nice bedding. This close to the bay and yet, with the lanai door closed, you aren't bothered with any outside noise. And the VIEW! It is right on the bay! Beautiful sunrises! The room is close to the elevator and the elevator comes out right by the first floor laundry. There is a general store next door and a souvenir store one block away. About 4 blocks away is Coconut Island with good fishing and good swimming and beautiful views and lots of community activities. If/when I return, I will definitely contact the owner and hope that this condo is available for my rental again And I will tell anyone I know, who is going to Hilo, to check it out!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: it is a little far from downtown, had to drive
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, California
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private wi-fi; corner condo;full-size refrigerator; ocean view; proximity to parks and beach.
Liked least: Liked it all - no complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom E
McCall, ID
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I was surprised, in a very good way!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
5
people found this review helpful

After reading some of the reviews, I had steeled myself to expect less than what we found. The property was in a wonderful location with gorgeous views of Reeds Bay. Having breakfast on the balcony after watching the sun rise across the bay was a wonderful experience. It's true, the building has seen some weather, but the room was comfortable, nicely appointed and well stocked with the necessary utensils and appliances. I wouldn't plan on preparing gourmet meals there, but for vacation cooking, it met our needs perfectly. The site management folks were helpful and friendly and we felt safe at the property and while walking down the beautiful Banyan-lined street to the nearby shops and Liliuokalani Gardens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: LOCATION! ....and the owner's quick response to our inquiries and the good internet service he made available.
Liked least: Kitchen area could use better lighting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenlynn...
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view of Hilo Harbor from nice-sized lanai.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We so appreciated the wonderful view from the condo, the kitchenette, the local Farmer's Market, and the suggestions of our host who owns the condo. It was wonderful being in Hilo near everything - the Lilioukoulani Park and a nearby restaurant with live Hawaiian music.
Mahalo for sharing this gem. Aloha - Karen and Ken

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the lanai
Liked least: hallway smelled like smoke
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Reviewed 31 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
coupleofs...
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“basic studio for 2-3 with good location but worn out and lacking”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is just a studio with a double bed for 2 and a couch that might sleep a small person. Location is wonderful on Banyan drive in old Hilo. Beautiful Liliuokalani Gardens is just down the road. Great Ocean view from the balcony. And a nice outdoor swimming pool. There are coin op laundry facilities in the building. Wi-fi works in the room. That is the good stuff.

However building is very dilapidated and somewhat musty smelling. The unit is equipped with most of what one would need in the kitchen except there is no coffeepot. There is a pot for heating water but that means only instant coffee.

Linens are lacking - we found 2 bath towels, washcloths, 2 beach towels and only one hand towel. No kitchen towels or paper towels. Stored linens were musty.

Lighting is poor. Had to move a floor lamp around to provide light to cook on the old fashioned 2 electric burners. Tv has limited channels and the remote doesn't work.

Room was musty smelling when we arrived, opened balcony doors but no cross ventilation unless we also opened the door to the hall. A fan would be helpful to provide ventilation as it gets stuffy in the room even with the balcony door open. And we did not feel secure enough to sleep with the hall door open. There appears to be some type of ancient HVAC system but it either doesn't work or has been disabled. The knob to set the temp has been removed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: lack of ventilation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2014
You didn't notice the couch is actually a Hide-a-bed that can sleep two people when opened. You didn't notice the brand new porcelain electric skillet, brand new juicer/smoothie machine, brand new rice maker/vegetable steamer, brand new crockpot, that I bought when I was there in December, along with the brand new hot water maker that you, apparently did find. That was adding to the already existing two burner electric unit, the toaster, toaster oven, and microwave and large refrigerator. You apparently didn't find the LED lights installed under the cabinet to illuminate the sink and counter top. I also bought 4 complete sets of bed linens, 4 expensive down pillows, and 8 sets of towels, that I left with housekeeping. ...I suspect they figure you only need to use one set at a time. I pay for high speed internet and cable TV for the room. I assume it offers the standard "Cable fair" that is available to Cable viewers in " anytown usa". Whereas I used the internet all the time, I admit that I didn't try the cable TV. I don't watch TV while stateside. It didn't occur to me to "submit to the programming" while in that beautiful setting. I'll have maintenance look into the "remote issue". The trade winds first make landfall outside the balcony door, after having traveled 2,000 miles across the ocean, being rinsed by countless cycles of evaporation, rain, evaporation, etc. Scientists come from around the world to the eastern tip to gather samples of what they consider to be among the freshest air on earth. ...You would close it up and turn on the HVAC ? Next visit, you should stay in Kona, where it is hotter, dryer, and enjoys the poisonous fumes and haze from the volcano swirling around so as to possibly replicate the urban environment from whence you came. Then you could surely close up your room and turn on the HVAC.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v_disappo...
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Basic”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Hilo in this condo for 2 nights. The place was very very basic. The room itself was very dated, the bathroom was old and moldy. The condo building was falling apart. I would even o as far as say that the condo was sketchy. Not suitable for single ladies. The internet was only at the front desk but at least it was free and the manager lady up front was very accommodating and friendly. The views from this place was gorgeous, it over looked the Hilo Bay, you could see the cruise ships coming in everyday.

The condo itself was in very poor condition for the price we paid. We had a lovely condo in Kona for the same price (Kona Plaza 303!) If given another chance I would definitely have looked around more for a better bang for my buck.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: the property manager
Liked least: the condition of the unit
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing