We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan's Restaurant and Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Banyan's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #166 of 237 Restaurants in Hilo
Dining options: Breakfast, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Waitstaff
Kissee Mills, Missouri
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were "stuck" at Uncle Billy's hotel next door, so opted to go to Banyan's for a hot breakfast. The menu was limited, and the restaurant was empty on Sunday morning, but we selected the breakfast sandwiches, which were hot and tasty and served with fresh fruit. Our server was chatty and pleasant - and we enjoyed her company.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FlynLass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cooma, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“An interesting lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stopped here for lunch while on tour with Discover Hawaii Tours. It was an early lunch (11.15am) and we were the second of two buses to stop there. The restaurant is nice and airy but basic. There was a guy playing a guitar and singing, he wasn't too bad, although a bit loud. We were seated and orders taken. The menu is quite limited, but my son and I ordered the teriyaki burger each and drinks. It took a while for the orders to come out, and then they only bought out one burger. They realised their mistake, and went off to cook the other burger. The drinks would not have arrived at all if we didn't query their absence. The waitress did apologize for the mix up, saying they were not used to having two buses turn up together. They don't have restrooms, but you are directed over to the nearby hotel to use their restrooms in the lobby. We didn't spend much time in the 'big island' but it definitely is more 'countrified' than Honolulu, so maybe don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RuthS529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We went to this restaurant for breakfast during the week. There were not many people there when we arrived. The waitress took our order relatively quickly. There are only a few choices on the menu. We then waited 40 minutes and no food. This is breakfast... its not complicated. They never checked on us or explained the long wait. When I went over and asked how much longer, she said it was almost done. Another 10 minutes later, our food came out cold. We left and went to Ken's, which is infinitely better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oils1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Malasadas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I regret that I discovered this place the last day we were in Hilo. We went for breakfast. The place was big and airy and comfortable. Our host, Wilson, sat us near the open window. He was so nice and friendly! He recommended we try the malasada, which is baked on the premise fresh everyday. I've never had malasada before so of course we were sold. They are like doughnut, only a bit chewy but soft, square instead of round and can be sweet or savory and very delicious! We tried the strawberry and nutella, apple and cream cheese, and dulce de leche. All were very fresh, soft,tasty and sinful!! Of course we also ordered Hawaiian breakfast...your choice of meat, in my case, Portuguese sausage, 2 eggs over medium and rice. This Hawaiian breakfast is so yummy I know i'll crave them for weeks when we go back to NY!! We ordered to go more malasadas. I ordered more apple filled, apple and cream cheese, jalapeno and cheese and pepperoni and cheese. All yummy! I forgot to order another strawberry and nutella for my son and he was disappointed !
When you go to Hilo, try this place and be sure to try their malasada. It is right next to Castle Hilo Hotel in Banyan drive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banyan's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Banyan's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing